Are you between 5 and 25? If so, enter the Wicked Young Writer Awards NOW - click here for details...

make the most of Lovereading
Search our site
A Country Escape by Katie Fforde Read the opening extract of the brand new Katie Fforde book before its publication on 22/02/2018

Ava's Gift by Jason Mott
  

Ava's Gift

Family Drama   Literary Fiction   eBook Favourites   
Download an extract Discuss on Facebook Discuss this book on our Literary Contemporary Facebook group Share this book

Sarah Broadhurst's view...

A sad tale of the extraordinary power of a 13-year old girl who in an unguarded moment saves her dear friend’s life after an accident. News spreads of a miracle worker and the press bombard her home. We get fascinating glimpses of her early childhood and that of the friend she saved, but the community want answers so a controlled experiment involving healing a dog is set up. How she fares and how she copes with her powers is bewitchingly told.

If you like Jason Mott you might also like to read books by Guillermo del Toro, M R Carey and Claire North.

Who is Sarah Broadhurst

Synopsis

Ava's Gift by Jason Mott

On the heels of his critically acclaimed and New York Times bestselling debut novel, The Returned, Jason Mott delivers a spellbinding tale of love and sacrifice, perfect for fans of Louisa Douglas, Daniela Sacerdoti and Jodi Picoult. A freak accident reveals a secret that 13-year-old Ava has been terrified to share. Ava has a unique gift: she can heal others of their physical ailments. Now, the whole world knows, and people from all over the globe want to glimpse the wonder of a miracle. But Ava's ability comes at a cost, and as she grows weaker with each healing, she finds herself having to decide just how much she's willing to sacrifice in order to save the ones she loves most. Full of intrigue and suspense, Ava's Gift captures the imagination and will have readers enchanted until the very last page. Praise for Jason Mott's The Returned: 'Fantastically readable.' The Times 'It will...make you question what it means to be human and what you'd do in a similar situation' The Sun 'Get in early before the hype begins' - Star Magazine

About the Author

Jason Mott

Jason Mott holds a BA in fiction and an MFA in poetry and is the author of two poetry collections. His writing has appeared in numerous literary journals, and he was nominated for the 2009 Pushcart Prize. Jason lives in North Carolina.

Author photo © Randy Skidmore

More books by this author
Author 'Like for Like' recommendations

Loading similar books...
Loading other formats...

Book Info

Publication date

26th March 2015

Author

Jason Mott

More books by Jason Mott
Author 'Like for Like'
    recommendations

Author's Website

jasonmottauthor.com/

Author's Facebook Latest

Loading facebook updates...
Loading twitter updates...

Publisher

Mira an imprint of Harlequin (UK)

Format

Paperback
352 pages

Categories

Family Drama
Literary Fiction
eBook Favourites

Thriller / suspense

ISBN

9781848453616

Love Reading - it not only does what it says on the tin, it does it with Jam on!!

Maz Tucker

Lovereading is like booking a holiday, you don't know what it will be like and it is a whole new experience.

Sue Burton

Love books. Love reading. Love reading books. And, here's the trick. Here's a website which caters for people like me.

Ian Harvey-brown

Its jam packed with fantastic titles, informative descriptions & fantastic reviews and has a vast array of great features & competitions.

Linda Rollins

Lovereading takes the guesswork out of finding your next read with "if you like you'll love" and extracts to help with your decision.

Sarah Bruch

I love reading because my cares & woes vanish for an hour or two whilst I read of the joys, adventures, lives of the characters in the book.

Jennifer Moville

You can trust Lovereading to show unbiased reviews by actual, ordinary readers that help likeminded booklovers choose their next great read.

Linda Hill

Why I love @lovereadinguk? It's in the name - as dedicated lovers of reading, they are perfect matchmakers for helping me find my next read!

Catherine Jenkins

Lovereading4kids

Lovereading4schools