Of Things Gone Astray

by Janina Matthewson

Modern and Classic Literary Fiction

LoveReading View on Of Things Gone Astray

October 2014 Guest Editor Cecelia Ahern on Of Things Gone Astray...

This is one of my favourite books of 2014. One morning in London, a group of people all lose something precious to them, these things are precious but extremely unusual, such as the front of their house, their piano keys, their sense of direction, their place of work. I wanted to read this novel so quickly but it kept making me pause to think, it is so unique and special, the writing is wonderful. It is witty and wise and completely original. I suppose it is a magical fable about real life and it kept making me wonder, which is a real treat for me.

Of Things Gone Astray Synopsis

Mrs Featherby had been having pleasant dreams until she woke to discover the front of her house had vanished overnight ...On a seemingly normal morning in London, a group of people all lose something dear to them, something dear but peculiar: the front of their house, their piano keys, their sense of direction, their place of work. Meanwhile, Jake, a young boy whose father brings him to London following his mother's sudden death in an earthquake, finds himself strangely attracted to other people's lost things. But little does he realise that his most valuable possession is slipping away from him. Of Things Gone Astray is a magical fable about modern life and values. Perfect for fans of Andrew Kaufman and Cecelia Ahern.

Of Things Gone Astray Press Reviews

'This book reveals the world as it really is: fantastic. A rare inspiring feat.'
ANDREW KAUFMAN

'Of Things Gone Astray may be Janina Matthewson's first novel, but it marks her out as a writer to follow ... Reality, fantasy and imagery intermingle to create a beautiful whole.'
WE LOVE THIS BOOK

If you loved this, you might like these...

Before Her Eyes
Symposium
My Absolute Darling
Bad Blood

All versions of this book

ISBN: 9780007562473
Publication date: 28/08/2014
Publisher: The Friday Project Limited an imprint of HarperCollins Publishers
Format: Hardback

Book Information

ISBN: 9780007562473
Publication date: 28th August 2014
Author: Janina Matthewson
Publisher: The Friday Project Limited an imprint of HarperCollins Publishers
Format: Hardback
Pagination: 288 pages
Genres: Literary Fiction,
Categories: Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945),

About Janina Matthewson

Janina Matthewson is a writer and trained actress from Christchurch, New Zealand. She now lives in London. Of Things Gone Astray is her first full-length novel.

More About Janina Matthewson

Share this book