debuts of the month join us on facebook book price comparison
Search our site
The Course of History Ten Meals That Changed the World by Struan Stevenson, Tony Singh Read the opening extract of the brand new Struan Stevenson, Tony Singh book before its publication on 24/10/2017

Of Things Gone Astray by Janina Matthewson
  

Of Things Gone Astray

Literary Fiction   eBook Favourites   eBook Favourites   

RRP £12.99

Notify me
when in stock

As soon as this book is back in stock we will send you an email.

Download an extract Discuss on Facebook Discuss this book on our Literary Contemporary Facebook group Share this book

Lovereading view...

October 2014 Guest Editor Cecelia Ahern on Of Things Gone Astray...

This is one of my favourite books of 2014. One morning in London, a group of people all lose something precious to them, these things are precious but extremely unusual, such as the front of their house, their piano keys, their sense of direction, their place of work. I wanted to read this novel so quickly but it kept making me pause to think, it is so unique and special, the writing is wonderful. It is witty and wise and completely original. I suppose it is a magical fable about real life and it kept making me wonder, which is a real treat for me.

Win a Set of 10 Bloomsbury Modern Classics!

This month Bloomsbury has launched a series of ten modern classics chosen from highlights of the publisher's last thiry years, each with an eye-catching, iconic illustrated cover - and we have a full set to give away!

The ten titles are Restless by William Boyd, Jonathan Strange & Mr Norrell by Susanna Clarke, Eat Pray Love by Elizabeth Gilbert, Snow Falling on Cedars by David Guterson, The Kite Runner by Khaled Hosseini, Fugitive Pieces by Anne Michaels, The Song of Achilles by Madeline Miller, The English Patient by Michael Ondaatje, The Suspicions of Mr Whicher by Kate Summerscale and The Little Friend by Donna Tartt.

To have a chance of winning this fantastic prize, click the button below. Please note that this draw is open only for UK residents and is free to enter, multiple entries from the same email address will only be counted once.

The draw closes on 6 November 2017. The winners will be notified by 20 November 2017.

Good luck!

Enter prize draw Draw closes: 06/11/2017

Synopsis

Of Things Gone Astray by Janina Matthewson

Mrs Featherby had been having pleasant dreams until she woke to discover the front of her house had vanished overnight ...On a seemingly normal morning in London, a group of people all lose something dear to them, something dear but peculiar: the front of their house, their piano keys, their sense of direction, their place of work. Meanwhile, Jake, a young boy whose father brings him to London following his mother's sudden death in an earthquake, finds himself strangely attracted to other people's lost things. But little does he realise that his most valuable possession is slipping away from him. Of Things Gone Astray is a magical fable about modern life and values. Perfect for fans of Andrew Kaufman and Cecelia Ahern.

Reviews

'This book reveals the world as it really is: fantastic. A rare inspiring feat.'
ANDREW KAUFMAN

'Of Things Gone Astray may be Janina Matthewson's first novel, but it marks her out as a writer to follow ... Reality, fantasy and imagery intermingle to create a beautiful whole.'
WE LOVE THIS BOOK

About the Author

Janina Matthewson

Janina Matthewson is a writer and trained actress from Christchurch, New Zealand. She now lives in London. Of Things Gone Astray is her first full-length novel.

More books by this author
Author 'Like for Like' recommendations

Loading similar books...
Loading other formats...

Book Info

Publication date

28th August 2014

Author

Janina Matthewson

More books by Janina Matthewson
Author 'Like for Like'
    recommendations

Author's Website

myrednotebook.com/
Loading twitter updates...

Publisher

The Friday Project Limited an imprint of HarperCollins Publishers

Format

Hardback
288 pages

Categories

Literary Fiction
eBook Favourites
eBook Favourites

Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945)

ISBN

9780007562473

I love Lovereading because of its ability to connect people that love books & unite them in a friendly, stimulating & interesting community.

Megan Olwen William

Lovereading helps me decide what real people read.

Kerry Bridges

What can I say, the clue is in the title Lovereading - and awesome books.

Sarah Davis

I love the newsletter with reviews of all the new books coming out. Can't wait to open it when it arrives in my inbox.

Rachel Aygin

Its jam packed with fantastic titles, informative descriptions & fantastic reviews and has a vast array of great features & competitions.

Linda Rollins

The selections are so varied and the reader reviews are so helpful. A fantastic website for those who love books.

Ann Quintilla

My favourite thing about is the 'like for like' page this has really introduced me to some good reads! That and lots of honest reviews.

Sam Lewis

A well laid out site, I love the fact that is separates paranormal fiction from fantasy and horror, which other sites don't.

Jen Rainbow

Lovereading4kids

Lovereading4schools