make the most of Lovereading
Search our site
Letters to Iris by Elizabeth Noble Read the opening extract of the brand new Elizabeth Noble book before its publication on 05/04/2018

Of Things Gone Astray by Janina Matthewson
  

Of Things Gone Astray

Literary Fiction   eBook Favourites   
Download an extract Discuss on Facebook Discuss this book on our Literary Contemporary Facebook group Share this book

Lovereading view...

October 2014 Guest Editor Cecelia Ahern on Of Things Gone Astray...

This is one of my favourite books of 2014. One morning in London, a group of people all lose something precious to them, these things are precious but extremely unusual, such as the front of their house, their piano keys, their sense of direction, their place of work. I wanted to read this novel so quickly but it kept making me pause to think, it is so unique and special, the writing is wonderful. It is witty and wise and completely original. I suppose it is a magical fable about real life and it kept making me wonder, which is a real treat for me.

Synopsis

Of Things Gone Astray by Janina Matthewson

Mrs Featherby had been having pleasant dreams until she woke to discover the front of her house had vanished overnight ...On a seemingly normal morning in London, a group of people all lose something dear to them, something dear but peculiar: the front of their house, their piano keys, their sense of direction, their place of work. Meanwhile, Jake, a young boy whose father brings him to London following his mother's sudden death in an earthquake, finds himself strangely attracted to other people's lost things. But little does he realise that his most valuable possession is slipping away from him. Of Things Gone Astray is a magical fable about modern life and values. Perfect for fans of Andrew Kaufman and Cecelia Ahern.

Reviews

'This book reveals the world as it really is: fantastic. A rare inspiring feat.'
ANDREW KAUFMAN

'Of Things Gone Astray may be Janina Matthewson's first novel, but it marks her out as a writer to follow ... Reality, fantasy and imagery intermingle to create a beautiful whole.'
WE LOVE THIS BOOK

About the Author

Janina Matthewson

Janina Matthewson is a writer and trained actress from Christchurch, New Zealand. She now lives in London. Of Things Gone Astray is her first full-length novel.

More books by this author
Author 'Like for Like' recommendations

Loading similar books...
Loading other formats...

Book Info

Publication date

28th August 2014

Author

Janina Matthewson

More books by Janina Matthewson
Author 'Like for Like'
    recommendations

Author's Website

myrednotebook.com/
Loading twitter updates...

Publisher

The Friday Project Limited an imprint of HarperCollins Publishers

Format

Hardback
288 pages

Categories

Literary Fiction
eBook Favourites

Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945)

ISBN

9780007562473

I recommend Lovereading because you get honest reviews on a whole range of genres-there's something for everyone. It's the only site I need.

Sian Spinney

It has enriched my leisure time by introducing me to a world of books which I would not have previously considered.

Val Rowe

Hooked on books? Give Lovereading a go - for the chance to discover brilliant books, and to see why our members love it so.

Claire Hill

At Lovereading there are fabulous books available in every genre, with great reviews to help you pick the right book for you.

Teresa O'Halloran

Lovereading has all the new books and also suggestions for 'similar' authors whilst waiting for your favourites new books.

Carol Peace

Ever purchased a book, read a few pages & thought I'm not going to enjoy this? Honest book reviews mean you'll never have that problem again

Jill Peters

It's information about new books so, for a book lover like me, what's not to like!

Joan Hill

Lovereading recommends, honestly reviews and promotes books-what more can I say?!

Rachel Bridgeman

Lovereading4kids

Lovereading4schools