Becoming a member of the LoveReading community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unadulterated book loving, with your favourite books saved to your own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop Plus lots lots more…

Find out more


by J.D. Oswald

Part of the The Ballad of Sir Benfro Series

Books of the Month eBooks of the Month Sci-Fi and Fantasy

LoveReading View on Dreamwalker

The first in a new fantasy series. Our hero Sir Benfro is a dragon and this is a world where dragons walk upright but have also been hunted nearly to extinction by the men who fear them. A difficult concept to struggle with at first, but once you get your head round it this is a hugely enjoyable fantasy adventure that will have you desperate to read the next in the series and discover what happens next to Sir Benfro and Errol, the human boy with whom his life is inextricably tied. J. D. Oswald also writes a crime series as James Oswald so if you’ve enjoyed his writing then there’s lots more to keep you entertained.

Books in The Ballad of Sir Benfro Series:

1. Dreamwalker

2. The Rose Cord

3. The Golden Cage

4. The Broken World

Serial Reader? Check out our 'Fall in Love With a Book Series' collection to find amazing book series to dive in to.

Sarah Broadhurst

Dreamwalker Synopsis

Dreamwalker is the first extraordinary novel in the new epic fantasy series from J. D. Oswald - The Ballad of Sir Benfro.

In a small village, miles from the great cities of the Twin Kingdoms, a young boy called Errol tries to find his way in the world. He's an outsider - he looks different from other children and has never known his father. No one, not himself even has any knowledge of his true lineage.

Deep in the forest, Benfro, the young male dragon begins his training in the subtle arts. Like his mother, Morgwm the Green, he is destined to be a great Mage.

Not for one minute would these two unlikely heroes imagine that the balance of all life in the Twin Kingdoms will be in their hands. But at this moment, all that has changed...

And so begins The Ballad of Sir Benfro - the most extraordinary tale of the great dragons returning to the kingdom of men.

If you loved this, you might like these...

The Children God Forgot
Space Hopper
Bear Head

All versions of this book

ISBN: 9781405917650
Publication date: 14/08/2014
Publisher: Penguin Books Ltd
Format: Paperback

Book Information

ISBN: 9781405917650
Publication date: 14th August 2014
Author: J.D. Oswald
Publisher: Penguin Books Ltd
Format: Paperback
Pagination: 432 pages
Genres: Books of the Month, eBook Favourites, Sci-Fi and Fantasy,
Collections: 80 Book Series and Trilogies to Fall in Love With ,
Categories: Fantasy,

About J.D. Oswald

J. D. Oswald is the author of the epic fantasy series, The Ballad of Sir Benfro. Currently, Dreamwalker, The Rose Cord and The Golden Cage are all available as Penguin ebooks. He is also the author of the Detective Inspector McLean series of crime novels under the name James Oswald. In his spare time James runs a 350-acre livestock farm in North East Fife, where he raises pedigree Highland Cattle and New Zealand Romney Sheep.

More About J.D. Oswald

More Books By J.D. Oswald

Cover for The Golden Cage by J.D. Oswald
Cover for The Rose Cord by J.D. Oswald
Cover for The Obsidian Throne by J.D. Oswald
View All Books By J.D. Oswald

Share this book