Are you between 5 and 25? If so, enter the Wicked Young Writer Awards NOW - click here for details...

join us on facebook win prizes books of the month
Search our site
Last Letter from Istanbul by Lucy Foley Read the opening extract of the brand new Lucy Foley book before its publication on 19/03/2018

Dead Men's Bones by James Oswald
  

Dead Men's Bones

Part of the Inspector McLean Series
Thriller / Suspense   Crime / Mystery   Maxim Jakubowski's Selection   eBook Favourites   
Download an extract Discuss on Facebook Discuss this book on our Crime/Mystery/Thriller Facebook group Share this book

Maxim Jakubowski's view...

A Maxim Jakubowski selected title.

In quick succession, affable full-time farmer and writer James Oswald's Inspector Tony Mclean mysteries have captured a large audience and we've already reached his fourth case in Dead Men's Bones in just over a year or so. Often macabre but always gripping and set in Edinburgh, Mclean's popularity will at this rate eclipse Rankin's Rebus in the affection of readers. Asked to cleanly wrap up a case of family murder and/or suicide, Mclean soon uncovers instances of deceit and senior level corruption and the cat is set loose among the flapping pigeons of the establishment. Oswald has a rare talent for parading galleries of grotesques and balancing often conflicting elements while racing through to a pacey and satisfactory conclusion. A rare talent to entertain.

A 'Piece of Passion' from the Publisher...

'If you are a fan of seriously good crime fiction, then you will love James Oswald’s Inspector McLean series. The first novel of the series, Natural Causes, introduces one of the most compelling detective lead characters in contemporary crime fiction, Tony McLean. McLean is defined by his ineffable humanity – his quiet and dogged determination to seek justice for the victims of the crimes he investigates. Oswald’s writing is reminiscent of Ian Rankin or Stuart McBride’s Scottish noir, but is also tinged with a slight trace of the supernatural – which adds an intriguing nuance to the stories. I guarantee that once you start this excellent series – you will race through James’s novels, and be left hungry for more.' - Alex Clarke, Editor, Penguin Books

If you like James Oswald you might also like to read books by Peter May, Michael Robotham and Chris Ewan.

Who is Maxim Jakubowski

The Good Book Guide logo The Good Book Guide Review. It would appear that we are living in something of a golden age for crime fiction in England, Scotland and Ireland, with remarkable new talents flourishing by the week. In that stellar number may be included James Oswald, one of the new batch of highly talented Scottish crime writers who may work within the orbit of godfather Ian Rankin but who carve out a distinctive path of their own. In Dead Men’s Bones, Inspector Tony Maclean is investigating the death of a woman and her daughters shot by her politician husband who then killed himself. But why?
~ Barry Forshaw

Synopsis

Dead Men's Bones by James Oswald

Dead Men's Bones is the fourth novel in James Oswald's phenomenal Inspector Mclean series set in Edinburgh. For Inspector Tony McLean, an apparently simple but high-profile case leads him into a world of power and privilege. And the deeper he digs, the more he realises he's being manipulated by shadowy factions. Under pressure to wrap up the case, McLean instead seeks to uncover layers of truth - putting the lives of everyone he cares about at risk...The first three titles in the bestselling Inspector McLean series - Natural Causes, The Book of Souls, and The Hangman's Song, are all available as Penguin paperbacks and ebooks. Fans of Ian Rankin and Stuart MacBride will love James Oswald's writing.

The Inspector McLean series:
1. Natural Causes
2. The Book of Souls
3. The Hangman's Song
4. Dead Men's Bones
5. Prayer for the Dead

Reviews

The hallmarks of Val McDermid or Ian Rankin: it's dark, violent, noirish - The Herald

Crime fiction's next big thing - The Sunday Telegraph

About the Author

James Oswald

James Oswald is the author of the Inspector McLean series of crime novels, respectively Natural Causes, The Book of Souls, The Hangman's Song, Dead Men's Bones and Prayer for the Dead. He has written an epic fantasy series, The Ballad of Sir Benfro, published by Penguin, as well as comic scripts and short stories.

In his spare time he runs a 350-acre livestock farm in north-east Fife, where he raises pedigree Highland Cattle and New Zealand Romney sheep.

Author photo © Bill Waters

More books by this author
Author 'Like for Like' recommendations

Loading similar books...
Loading other formats...

Book Info

Publication date

3rd July 2014

Author

James Oswald

More books by James Oswald
Author 'Like for Like'
    recommendations

Author's Website

jamesoswald.co.uk/

Author's Facebook Latest

Loading facebook updates...
Loading twitter updates...

Publisher

Penguin Books Ltd

Format

Paperback
480 pages

Categories

Thriller / Suspense
Crime / Mystery
Maxim Jakubowski's Selection
eBook Favourites

Thriller / suspense

ISBN

9781405917094

Lovereading does a stella job in promoting both new and established authors.

Iris Clements

If you LOVE reading then you will love LOVEREADING! It's a 'novel' idea. Seriously though I could not recommend them enough.

Rebecca Whymark

I love Lovereading for the wonderful like for like author recommendations and for highlighting new books, it's a great resource for readers!

Lindsay

My favourite thing about is the 'like for like' page this has really introduced me to some good reads! That and lots of honest reviews.

Sam Lewis

My horizons have been broadened by some of the books I have been lucky to review and I expect it to be no different in the future.

Daran Bellingham

Lovereading always comes up with great suggestions and has introduced me to enjoyable books and new authors to discover.

Gaynor Passmore

You'll always find what you never knew you were looking for and you're always spoilt for choice.

Helen Jones

I love the newsletter with reviews of all the new books coming out. Can't wait to open it when it arrives in my inbox.

Rachel Aygin

Lovereading4kids

Lovereading4schools