Dead Men's Bones

by James Oswald

Part of the Inspector McLean Series

Crime / Mystery eBooks of the Month Thriller and Suspense

LoveReading View on Dead Men's Bones

A Maxim Jakubowski selected title.

In quick succession, affable full-time farmer and writer James Oswald's Inspector Tony Mclean mysteries have captured a large audience and we've already reached his fourth case in Dead Men's Bones in just over a year or so. Often macabre but always gripping and set in Edinburgh, Mclean's popularity will at this rate eclipse Rankin's Rebus in the affection of readers. Asked to cleanly wrap up a case of family murder and/or suicide, Mclean soon uncovers instances of deceit and senior level corruption and the cat is set loose among the flapping pigeons of the establishment. Oswald has a rare talent for parading galleries of grotesques and balancing often conflicting elements while racing through to a pacey and satisfactory conclusion. A rare talent to entertain.

 

A 'Piece of Passion' from the Publisher...

'If you are a fan of seriously good crime fiction,  then you will love James Oswald’s Inspector McLean series. The first novel of the series, Natural Causes, introduces one of the most compelling detective lead characters in contemporary crime fiction, Tony McLean. McLean is defined by his ineffable humanity – his quiet and dogged determination to seek justice for the victims of the crimes he investigates. Oswald’s writing is reminiscent of Ian Rankin or Stuart McBride’s Scottish noir, but is also tinged with a slight trace of the supernatural – which adds an intriguing nuance to the stories. I guarantee that once you start this excellent series – you will race through James’s novels, and be left hungry for more.' - Alex Clarke, Editor, Penguin Books

Maxim Jakubowski

Dead Men's Bones Synopsis

Dead Men's Bones is the fourth novel in James Oswald's phenomenal Inspector Mclean series set in Edinburgh. For Inspector Tony McLean, an apparently simple but high-profile case leads him into a world of power and privilege. And the deeper he digs, the more he realises he's being manipulated by shadowy factions. Under pressure to wrap up the case, McLean instead seeks to uncover layers of truth - putting the lives of everyone he cares about at risk...The first three titles in the bestselling Inspector McLean series - Natural Causes, The Book of Souls, and The Hangman's Song, are all available as Penguin paperbacks and ebooks. Fans of Ian Rankin and Stuart MacBride will love James Oswald's writing.

 

The Inspector McLean series:
1. Natural Causes
2. The Book of Souls
3. The Hangman's Song
4. Dead Men's Bones
5. Prayer for the Dead

The Good Book Guide Review

It would appear that we are living in something of a golden age for crime fiction in England, Scotland and Ireland, with remarkable new talents flourishing by the week. In that stellar number may be included James Oswald, one of the new batch of highly talented Scottish crime writers who may work within the orbit of godfather Ian Rankin but who carve out a distinctive path of their own. In Dead Men’s Bones, Inspector Tony Maclean is investigating the death of a woman and her daughters shot by her politician husband who then killed himself. But why?

Dead Men's Bones Press Reviews

The hallmarks of Val McDermid or Ian Rankin: it's dark, violent, noirish -  The Herald

 

Crime fiction's next big thing -  The Sunday Telegraph

If you loved this, you might like these...

I'll Keep You Safe
Cast Iron Enzo Macleod 6
Coffin Road
Dark Tides

All versions of this book

ISBN: 9781405917094
Publication date: 03/07/2014
Publisher: Penguin Books Ltd
Format: Paperback

Book Information

ISBN: 9781405917094
Publication date: 3rd July 2014
Author: James Oswald
Publisher: Penguin Books Ltd
Format: Paperback
Pagination: 480 pages
Genres: Crime / Mystery, eBook Favourites, Thriller / Suspense,
Categories: Thriller / suspense,

About James Oswald

James Oswald is the author of the Inspector McLean series of crime novels, respectively Natural Causes, The Book of Souls, The Hangman's Song, Dead Men's Bones and Prayer for the Dead. He has written an epic fantasy series, The Ballad of Sir Benfro, published by Penguin, as well as comic scripts and short stories. In his spare time he runs a 350-acre livestock farm in north-east Fife, where he raises pedigree Highland Cattle and New Zealand Romney sheep. Author photo © Bill Waters

More About James Oswald

More Books By James Oswald

Cover for Written in Bones by James Oswald
Cover for The Damage Done Inspector Mclean 6 by James Oswald
Cover for The Damage Done by James Oswald
View All Books By James Oswald

Share this book