Are you between 5 and 25? If so, enter the Wicked Young Writer Awards NOW - click here for details...

win prizes
Search our site
Last Letter from Istanbul by Lucy Foley Read the opening extract of the brand new Lucy Foley book before its publication on 19/03/2018

Natural Causes Inspector McLean Novel 1 by James Oswald
  

Natural Causes Inspector McLean Novel 1

Part of the Inspector McLean Series
Crime / Mystery   Thriller / Suspense   eBook Favourites   
Download an extract Discuss on Facebook Discuss this book on our Crime/Mystery/Thriller Facebook group Share this book

Lovereading view...

A young girl's mutilated body is discovered in a sealed room. Her remains are carefully arranged, in what seems to have been a cruel and macabre ritual, which appears to have taken place over 60 years ago. For newly appointed Edinburgh Detective Inspector Tony McLean this baffling cold case ought to be a low priority - but he is haunted by the young victim and her grisly death...

A 'Piece of Passion' from the Publisher...

'If you are a fan of seriously good crime fiction, then you will love James Oswald’s Inspector McLean series. The first novel of the series, Natural Causes, introduces one of the most compelling detective lead characters in contemporary crime fiction, Tony McLean. McLean is defined by his ineffable humanity – his quiet and dogged determination to seek justice for the victims of the crimes he investigates. Oswald’s writing is reminiscent of Ian Rankin or Stuart McBride’s Scottish noir, but is also tinged with a slight trace of the supernatural – which adds an intriguing nuance to the stories. I guarantee that once you start this excellent series – you will race through James’s novels, and be left hungry for more.' - Alex Clarke, Editor, Penguin Books

If you like James Oswald you might also like to read books by Chris Ewan, Alex Gray and Michael Robotham.

Synopsis

Natural Causes Inspector McLean Novel 1 by James Oswald

Meanwhile, the city is horrified by a series of bloody killings. Deaths for which there appears to be neither rhyme nor reason, and which leave Edinburgh's police at a loss. McLean is convinced that these deaths are somehow connected to the terrible ceremonial killing of the girl, all those years ago. It is an irrational, almost supernatural theory. And one which will lead McLean closer to the heart of a terrifying and ancient evil...James Oswald's Detective Inspector McLean appears here for the first time. Natural Causes is the opening to an electrifying new series. Fans of Ian Rankin, Peter James and Stuart McBride will love James Oswald's work.

The Inspector McLean series:
1. Natural Causes
2. The Book of Souls
3. The Hangman's Song
4. Dead Men's Bones
5. Prayer for the Dead

Reviews

Praise for James Oswald:

'A star of Scotland's burgeoning crime fiction scene.' Daily Record

'Crime fiction's next big thing.' The Sunday Telegraph

'Literary sensation...James' overnight success has drawn comparisons with the meteoric rise of EL James and her Fifty Shades of Grey series.' Daily Mail

'Fifty Shades of Hay.' The Times

'Oswald is among the leaders in the new batch of excellent Scottish crime writers.' Daily Mail

'The new Ian Rankin.' Daily Record

'The hallmarks of Val McDermid or Ian Rankin: it's dark, violent, noirish.' The Herald

'A good read.' The Times

'An excellent start to what promises to be a fine series.' Guardian

About the Author

James Oswald

James Oswald is the author of the Inspector McLean series of crime novels, respectively Natural Causes, The Book of Souls, The Hangman's Song, Dead Men's Bones and Prayer for the Dead. He has written an epic fantasy series, The Ballad of Sir Benfro, published by Penguin, as well as comic scripts and short stories.

In his spare time he runs a 350-acre livestock farm in north-east Fife, where he raises pedigree Highland Cattle and New Zealand Romney sheep.

Author photo © Bill Waters

More books by this author
Author 'Like for Like' recommendations

Loading similar books...
Loading other formats...

Book Info

Publication date

9th May 2013

Author

James Oswald

More books by James Oswald
Author 'Like for Like'
    recommendations

Author's Website

jamesoswald.co.uk/

Author's Facebook Latest

Loading facebook updates...
Loading twitter updates...

Publisher

Penguin Books Ltd

Format

Paperback
464 pages

Categories

Crime / Mystery
Thriller / Suspense
eBook Favourites

Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945)

ISBN

9781405913140

I love the newsletter with reviews of all the new books coming out. Can't wait to open it when it arrives in my inbox.

Rachel Aygin

Insightful reader reviews and unbiased recommendations. I don't know how I chose books before Lovereading! An essential for all book lovers.

Sarah Harper

Hooked on books? Give Lovereading a go - for the chance to discover brilliant books, and to see why our members love it so.

Claire Hill

It has enriched my leisure time by introducing me to a world of books which I would not have previously considered.

Val Rowe

The books for review are always great reads, brilliantly written, and introduces me to a huge variety of, established and new, authors.

Lesley Hart

Ever purchased a book, read a few pages & thought I'm not going to enjoy this? Honest book reviews mean you'll never have that problem again

Jill Peters

I love Lovereading for the wonderful like for like author recommendations and for highlighting new books, it's a great resource for readers!

Lindsay

Lovereading takes the guesswork out of finding your next read with "if you like you'll love" and extracts to help with your decision.

Sarah Bruch

Lovereading4kids

Lovereading4schools