Harry Potter House Eds books of the month
Search our site
Are You Sleeping by Kathleen Barber Read the opening extract of the brand new Kathleen Barber book before its publication on 27/12/2017

Natural Causes Inspector McLean Novel 1 by James Oswald
  

Natural Causes Inspector McLean Novel 1

Part of the Inspector McLean Series
Crime / Mystery   Thriller / Suspense   eBook Favourites   eBook Favourites   
Download an extract Discuss on Facebook Discuss this book on our Crime/Mystery/Thriller Facebook group Share this book

Lovereading view...

A young girl's mutilated body is discovered in a sealed room. Her remains are carefully arranged, in what seems to have been a cruel and macabre ritual, which appears to have taken place over 60 years ago. For newly appointed Edinburgh Detective Inspector Tony McLean this baffling cold case ought to be a low priority - but he is haunted by the young victim and her grisly death...

A 'Piece of Passion' from the Publisher...

'If you are a fan of seriously good crime fiction, then you will love James Oswald’s Inspector McLean series. The first novel of the series, Natural Causes, introduces one of the most compelling detective lead characters in contemporary crime fiction, Tony McLean. McLean is defined by his ineffable humanity – his quiet and dogged determination to seek justice for the victims of the crimes he investigates. Oswald’s writing is reminiscent of Ian Rankin or Stuart McBride’s Scottish noir, but is also tinged with a slight trace of the supernatural – which adds an intriguing nuance to the stories. I guarantee that once you start this excellent series – you will race through James’s novels, and be left hungry for more.' - Alex Clarke, Editor, Penguin Books

If you like James Oswald you might also like to read books by Chris Ewan, Alex Gray and Michael Robotham.

Win a Family Break to Salisbury!

Don’t miss out! Enter to win a family break to Salisbury!

Here at Lovereading.co.uk and Lovereading4kids.co.uk we have joined with VisitWiltshire. You could see yourself indulging in the finest food and slumbering comfortably into one of the grand rooms at The Red Lion Salisbury for two nights. The Red Lion Hotel is located in medieval city of Salisbury, which is home to all your favourite stores as well as independent shops, restaurants, cafes and parks and green spaces. Nearby is Stonehenge, Salisbury Plain and numerous sites of historic and archaeological interest.

There are many seasonal events in Salisbury, and you can find out what’s on here. You will also receive a family ticket to Sir Harold Hillier Gardens, the gardens are especially beautiful in the winter, with bold coloured stems, scents, and fabulous foliage, you can be sure to be impressed. For the children there is also a play park, and you can stop off in the Victorian tea room to warm up and treat yourself to a traditional cream tea.

To have a chance of winning this fantastic prize, click the button below. Please note that this draw is open only for UK residents and is free to enter, multiple entries from the same email address will only be counted once. Entries close 31st January 2018.

Good luck!

Terms and Conditions

Red Lion: Two night stay includes breakfast for two adults and up to two children sharing a family room. Subject to availability and cannot be exchanged or redeemed for cash value. Not to be used in combination with any other offer. Valid until 1st Dec 2018 and excludes bank holidays.

Sir Harold Hillier Gardens: Valid for day entry, Not to be used for special events or group entry. Voucher is not transferable or refundable, no Cash Value. Ticket must be redeemed on entry. Valid until 31 Dec 2018. Gardens open daily from 10am – closed Christmas Day and Boxing Day. Prize admits 2 adults and accompanying children Under 17 FREE to Sir Harold Hillier Gardens.

Enter prize draw Draw closes: 31/01/2018

Synopsis

Natural Causes Inspector McLean Novel 1 by James Oswald

Meanwhile, the city is horrified by a series of bloody killings. Deaths for which there appears to be neither rhyme nor reason, and which leave Edinburgh's police at a loss. McLean is convinced that these deaths are somehow connected to the terrible ceremonial killing of the girl, all those years ago. It is an irrational, almost supernatural theory. And one which will lead McLean closer to the heart of a terrifying and ancient evil...James Oswald's Detective Inspector McLean appears here for the first time. Natural Causes is the opening to an electrifying new series. Fans of Ian Rankin, Peter James and Stuart McBride will love James Oswald's work.

The Inspector McLean series:
1. Natural Causes
2. The Book of Souls
3. The Hangman's Song
4. Dead Men's Bones
5. Prayer for the Dead

Reviews

Praise for James Oswald:

'A star of Scotland's burgeoning crime fiction scene.' Daily Record

'Crime fiction's next big thing.' The Sunday Telegraph

'Literary sensation...James' overnight success has drawn comparisons with the meteoric rise of EL James and her Fifty Shades of Grey series.' Daily Mail

'Fifty Shades of Hay.' The Times

'Oswald is among the leaders in the new batch of excellent Scottish crime writers.' Daily Mail

'The new Ian Rankin.' Daily Record

'The hallmarks of Val McDermid or Ian Rankin: it's dark, violent, noirish.' The Herald

'A good read.' The Times

'An excellent start to what promises to be a fine series.' Guardian

About the Author

James Oswald

James Oswald is the author of the Inspector McLean series of crime novels, respectively Natural Causes, The Book of Souls, The Hangman's Song, Dead Men's Bones and Prayer for the Dead. He has written an epic fantasy series, The Ballad of Sir Benfro, published by Penguin, as well as comic scripts and short stories.

In his spare time he runs a 350-acre livestock farm in north-east Fife, where he raises pedigree Highland Cattle and New Zealand Romney sheep.

Author photo © Bill Waters

More books by this author
Author 'Like for Like' recommendations

Loading similar books...
Loading other formats...

Book Info

Publication date

9th May 2013

Author

James Oswald

More books by James Oswald
Author 'Like for Like'
    recommendations

Author's Website

jamesoswald.co.uk/

Author's Facebook Latest

Loading facebook updates...
Loading twitter updates...

Publisher

Penguin Books Ltd

Format

Paperback
464 pages

Categories

Crime / Mystery
Thriller / Suspense
eBook Favourites
eBook Favourites

Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945)

ISBN

9781405913140

Lovereading has all the new books and also suggestions for 'similar' authors whilst waiting for your favourites new books.

Carol Peace

A great place to go to find your next literary escape, and where you don't have to judge a book by its cover!

Suzanne Beney

Ever purchased a book, read a few pages & thought I'm not going to enjoy this? Honest book reviews mean you'll never have that problem again

Jill Peters

Lovereading is not only an amazing site, but it's one of my very favourites. It's like visiting a fascinating bookstore, but better.

Rebecca Jayne Barrett

The books for review are always great reads, brilliantly written, and introduces me to a huge variety of, established and new, authors.

Lesley Hart

For me, to read is to learn, to reflect, to escape, to think, to contemplate and my time for space and calm.

Sally Ellsmore

It has enriched my leisure time by introducing me to a world of books which I would not have previously considered.

Val Rowe

I love Lovereading because I get to read great books and then get to tell everybody how good they are.

Sally Doel

Lovereading4kids

Lovereading4schools