Tell us a story

LoveReading is thrilled to announce the launch of The Very Short Story Award 2019! If you think you have a story we'll love, click here to find out more and how to enter:

Find out more

Natural Causes Inspector McLean Novel 1

by James Oswald

Part of the Inspector McLean Series

Crime / Mystery eBooks of the Month Thriller and Suspense

LoveReading View on Natural Causes Inspector McLean Novel 1

A young girl's mutilated body is discovered in a sealed room. Her remains are carefully arranged, in what seems to have been a cruel and macabre ritual, which appears to have taken place over 60 years ago. For newly appointed Edinburgh Detective Inspector Tony McLean this baffling cold case ought to be a low priority - but he is haunted by the young victim and her grisly death...

 

A 'Piece of Passion' from the Publisher...

'If you are a fan of seriously good crime fiction,  then you will love James Oswald’s Inspector McLean series. The first novel of the series, Natural Causes, introduces one of the most compelling detective lead characters in contemporary crime fiction, Tony McLean. McLean is defined by his ineffable humanity – his quiet and dogged determination to seek justice for the victims of the crimes he investigates. Oswald’s writing is reminiscent of Ian Rankin or Stuart McBride’s Scottish noir, but is also tinged with a slight trace of the supernatural – which adds an intriguing nuance to the stories. I guarantee that once you start this excellent series – you will race through James’s novels, and be left hungry for more.' - Alex Clarke, Editor, Penguin Books

Natural Causes Inspector McLean Novel 1 Synopsis

Meanwhile, the city is horrified by a series of bloody killings. Deaths for which there appears to be neither rhyme nor reason, and which leave Edinburgh's police at a loss. McLean is convinced that these deaths are somehow connected to the terrible ceremonial killing of the girl, all those years ago. It is an irrational, almost supernatural theory. And one which will lead McLean closer to the heart of a terrifying and ancient evil...James Oswald's Detective Inspector McLean appears here for the first time. Natural Causes is the opening to an electrifying new series. Fans of Ian Rankin, Peter James and Stuart McBride will love James Oswald's work.

 

The Inspector McLean series:
1. Natural Causes
2. The Book of Souls
3. The Hangman's Song
4. Dead Men's Bones
5. Prayer for the Dead

Win Don't You Cry

Win Don't You Cry

Closing date: 11/10/2018

To celebrate the September release of Cass Green's "dynamic, powerfully expressive novel" Don't You Cry, we are giving away FIVE copies of the latest psychological thriller AND a 'Most Stressful Night of Your Life package' of luxury Hot Chocolate and a MINI Bottle of Whiskey!!! She saved your life. Now she'll make you pay - One stolen baby. Two desperate strangers. One night of terror. The competition closes on the 11th October 2018. The winner will be informed by the 17th October 2018. To have a chance of winning this fantastic prize, click the button below. Please note that this draw is open only for UK residents and is free to enter and you must be 18 or over to enter this competition. Multiple entries from the same email address will only be counted once. By entering this competition you are agreeing to the conditions mentioned above and to adhere to the LoveReading Terms and Conditions. 

Enter Now

Natural Causes Inspector McLean Novel 1 Press Reviews

Praise for James Oswald:

 

'A star of Scotland's burgeoning crime fiction scene.' Daily Record

 

'Crime fiction's next big thing.' The Sunday Telegraph

 

'Literary sensation...James' overnight success has drawn comparisons with the meteoric rise of EL James and her Fifty Shades of Grey series.' Daily Mail

 

'Fifty Shades of Hay.' The Times

 

'Oswald is among the leaders in the new batch of excellent Scottish crime writers.' Daily Mail

 

'The new Ian Rankin.' Daily Record

 

'The hallmarks of Val McDermid or Ian Rankin: it's dark, violent, noirish.' The Herald

 

'A good read.' The Times

 

'An excellent start to what promises to be a fine series.' Guardian

If you loved this, you might like these...

I'll Keep You Safe
Cast Iron Enzo Macleod 6
Coffin Road
Dark Tides

All versions of this book

ISBN: 9781405913140
Publication date: 09/05/2013
Publisher: Penguin Books Ltd
Format: Paperback

Book Information

ISBN: 9781405913140
Publication date: 9th May 2013
Author: James Oswald
Publisher: Penguin Books Ltd
Format: Paperback
Pagination: 464 pages
Genres: Crime / Mystery, eBook Favourites, Thriller / Suspense,
Categories: Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945),

About James Oswald

James Oswald is the author of the Inspector McLean series of crime novels, respectively Natural Causes, The Book of Souls, The Hangman's Song, Dead Men's Bones and Prayer for the Dead. He has written an epic fantasy series, The Ballad of Sir Benfro, published by Penguin, as well as comic scripts and short stories. In his spare time he runs a 350-acre livestock farm in north-east Fife, where he raises pedigree Highland Cattle and New Zealand Romney sheep. Author photo © Bill Waters

More About James Oswald

More Books By James Oswald

Cover for Written in Bones by James Oswald
Cover for The Damage Done Inspector Mclean 6 by James Oswald
Cover for The Damage Done by James Oswald
View All Books By James Oswald

Share this book