LoveReading

Becoming a member of the LoveReading community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unadulterated book loving, with your favourite books saved to your own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop Plus lots lots more…

Find out more

Christobel Kent - Author

About the Author

Christobel Kent was born in London and educated at Cambridge. She has lived variously in Essex, London and Italy. Her childhood included several years spent on a Thames sailing barge in Maldon, Essex with her father, stepmother, three siblings and four step-siblings. She now lives in both Cambridge and Florence with her husband and five children.

Click here to read a Q&A with this author.

 

Photo credit © Charlie Hopkinson

Featured books by Christobel Kent

The Crooked House

The Crooked House

Author: Christobel Kent Format: Hardback Release Date: 23/04/2015

Alison is as close to anonymous as she can get: with no ties, no home, a backroom job, hers is a life lived under the radar. She's a nobody; she has no-one and that's how she wants it. But once Alison was someone else: once she was Esme Grace, a teenager whose bedroom sat at the top of a remote and dilapidated house on the edge of a bleak estuary. A girl whose family, if not happy, exactly, was no unhappier than anyone else's - or so she thought. Then one night a terrible thing happened in the crooked house, a nightmare of violence out of which Alison emerged the only witness and sole survivor and from which she has been running ever since. Only when she meets academic Paul Bartlett does Alison realise that if she's to have any chance of happiness, she has to return to her old life and confront the darkness that worked its way inside her family and has pursued her ever since.

ebook of the month
The Crooked House

The Crooked House

Author: Christobel Kent Format: Paperback Release Date: 23/04/2015

One fateful night. One unthinkable family tragedy. One survivor. This is Alison's story. Perfect for fans of The Girl on the Train and Apple Tree Yard, this stunning psychological thriller follows one woman's search for the truth about her family history. Alison is as close to anonymous as she can get: with no ties and a backroom job, hers is a life lived under the radar. But once Alison was someone else: once she was Esme, a teenager whose bedroom sat at the top of a remote house on a bleak estuary. A girl whose family, if not happy, exactly, was no unhappier than anyone else's - or so she thought. Then one night violence was unleashed in the crooked house, in a nightmare that only Alison survived and from which she's been running ever since. Only when she falls for the charismatic Paul does Alison realise that to have any chance of happiness, she must return to her old life and face a closed community full of dark secrets. As she seeks to uncover the truth of what happened that terrible night, Alison begins to question everything she thought she knew. Is there anyone she can trust?

ebook of the month
A Darkness Descending - A Mystery in Florence

A Darkness Descending - A Mystery in Florence

Author: Christobel Kent Format: Paperback Release Date: 15/10/2014

The secret world of a murder victim leads detective Sandro Cellini to uncover the hidden life of a woman consumed by a deadly obsessionWhen the driven, charismatic leader of a Florentine political movement collapses at a rally, his young party immediately comes under threat. And when it emerges that his wife, Flavia, has disappeared, leaving behind not only a devastated husband but their newborn son, the political becomes dangerously personal—and Detective Inspector Sandro Cellini is summoned to investigate.The trail leads to a somber seaside town, where Flavia chose to end her life. But Cellini isn’t satisfied—why would one so young and with so much to live for walk away from all she loves?As he digs into Flavia’s secret world, however, Sandro uncovers the hidden life of a woman consumed with private passions and a dark, deadly obsession—a stark reminder that life in modern italy has a perilous edge, fueled as much by rage as desire.

A Darkness Descending

A Darkness Descending

Author: Christobel Kent Format: Paperback Release Date: 07/08/2014

When Niccolo Rosselli, the driven, charismatic leader of a Florentine political movement, collapses at a rally, his young party immediately comes under threat. And when it emerges that his long time partner, Flavia, has disappeared, leaving behind not only a devastated husband but their newborn son, the political becomes dangerously personal - and Sandro Cellini is drafted in to investigate. The trail leads to a tired sea-side town and a modest hotel, where Flavia chose to end her life. But Cellini isn't satisfied - why would one so young and with so much to live for, walk away from all she loves? As he digs into Flavia's secret world, however, Sandro uncovers the hidden life of a woman consumed with private passions and a deadly, dark obsession. And as the private and public realms intersect, he cannot forget that life in modern Italy has a perilous edge - fuelled as much by rage as desire.

ebook of the month
The Killing Room

The Killing Room

Author: Christobel Kent Format: Paperback Release Date: 03/07/2014

When private investigator Sandro Cellini is invited to attend a glamorous launch party for a luxury residence overlooking the glittering expanse of Florence, he has no idea what he's walking into. Behind the ancient and luxurious facade of Palazzo San Giorgio, there lies a series of terrible secrets; an old torture chamber, hidden for centuries in the bowels of the building, and a much more recent malevolence. The former head of security for this elite development has just died under suspicious circumstances and Sandro finds himself - quite literally - stepping into dead man's shoes. He soon discovers that other unsavoury incidents have tainted the prestigious opening. When one of the residents is found murdered in her room, events begin to spiral out of control. Sandro must work to untangle the complex web of relationships that exists between residents and staff to unmask a deadly killer.

ebook of the month

Other books by Christobel Kent

Sandro Cellini Mysteries

Sandro Cellini Mysteries

Author: Christobel Kent Format: eBook Release Date: 02/05/2013

Three sinister crimes in one, set against the backdrop of the the faded decadence and small-town claustrophobia of contemporary Florence'Brooding Italian noir' Independent on Sunday'Suspense, atmosphere, and the architectural beauty of Florence... Fantastic' Irish ExaminerA Time of MourningSandro Cellini - ex-policeman, good husband and newly-minted private detective - is at first unwilling to see any connection between the disappearance of a young English girl from among Florence's hard-drinking community of foreign arts students, and the suicide of an elderly Jewish architect. But as he investigates the circumstances more closely, Sandro's first case turns out to be darker and more complex than he could have imagined...A Fine and Private PlaceJust as Sandro gets to grips with the reality of life as a private detective, an old case comes back to haunt him. As heattempts to uncover the truth of Loni Meadows's violent and lonely death, he finds himself drawn into the lives of the a highly strung arts community and the closed world they inhabit in the Casentino's isolated hillsThe Dead SeasonFlorence's inhabitants have fled to the hills, but Sandro Cellini will not be joining the holidaymakers this year - a man has vanished into thin air, leaving his pregnant wife abandoned. Meanwhile, bankteller Roxana Delfino is trapped in the city heat, worrying for her aging mother and puzzling over the disappearance of one of her regular clients. When the weather finally breaks, it brings with it a shocking revelation.

Dead Season

Dead Season

Author: Christobel Kent Format: eBook Release Date: 20/03/2013

Every August, Florence shimmers in the summer heat, but this year the heat wave is fiercer than usual and the city's inhabitants have fled to the cool of the hills and beaches of the surrounding countryside. So it is no surprise that amid the shrubbery of a normally busy roundabout, a corpse lies unnoticed, bloating in the humid air. Sandro Cellini, meanwhile, will not be joining the crowds of holidaymakers this year. The former policeman turned private detective has a case: a man who seems to have vanished into thin air, leaving his pregnant young wife alone in the city. Bank teller Roxana Delfino is also stuck in the city for the season with nothing to do but worry about her aging mother and puzzle over the disappearance of one of her regular clients. As all Florence sweats it out, Cellini attempts as best he can to grapple with his case and the complications it throws at him. And when the weather finally breaks, it brings with it a shocking revelation.

Dead Season

Dead Season

Author: Christobel Kent Format: eBook Release Date: 04/09/2012

';Combines rich atmospherics and fully realized characters in her outstanding mysteries featuring Italian PI Sandro Cellini.' Publishers WeeklyEvery August, Florence shimmers in the summer heat. Butthis year the heatwave is fiercer than usual, and the city'sinhabitants have fled to the cool of the hills and beaches ofthe surrounding countryside. So it is no surprise that amidstthe shrubbery of a normally busy roundabout, a corpse liesunnoticed, bloating in the humid air.Sandro Cellini will not be joining the crowds of holidaymakersthis year. The former policeman turned private detectivehas a case: a man who seems to have vanished into thinairleaving his pregnant young wife alone in the city.As all Florence sweats it out, Cellini attempts as best hecan to grapple with his case and the complications it throwsup. And when the weather finally breaks, it brings with it ashocking revelation . . .

Author Info

Facebook Updates

If this is your author page then you can share your Facebook updates with your readers right here on LoveReading

Find out more