LoveReading

Becoming a member of the LoveReading community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unadulterated book loving, with your favourite books saved to your own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop Plus lots lots more…

Find out more

Eeny Meeny

by M. J. Arlidge

Part of the Detective Inspector Helen Grace Series

Books with reviews by our Reader Review Panel Crime / Mystery Debut Books of the Month eBooks of the Month Thriller and Suspense

LoveReading View on Eeny Meeny

Introducing DI Helen Grace of the Southampton Constabulary, a woman with a past and a strange fetish which is interesting. The cases presented to her are psychologically terrifying.  Couples romantically involved, related or work colleagues, it seems to matter not which, are kidnapped, dumped in an isolated place, given a mobile phone with a message on it, no credit and a gun. To escape one must kill the other. This is ingenious stuff, truly frightening, compulsive and very good indeed. Highly recommended.  My only criticism is that this impressive DI bears the same surname as another famous detective, Roy Grace of the Brighton Police and a brilliant creation of Peter James. I think the publishers should have alerted Mr Arlidge to this fact.

Books in The Detective Inspector Helen Grace Series:

1. Eeny Meeny

2. Pop Goes the Weasel

3. The Doll's House

4. Liar Liar

5. Little Boy Blue

6. Hide and Seek

7. Love Me Not

8. Down to the Woods

Serial Reader? Check out our 'Fall in Love With a Book Series' collection to find amazing book series to dive in to.

Sarah Broadhurst

Eeny Meeny Synopsis

Eeny Meeny is the rocket-paced serial-killer thriller debut from M. J. Arlidge.

The girl emerged from the woods, barely alive. Her story was beyond belief. But it was true. Every dreadful word of it.

Days later, another desperate escapee is found - and a pattern is emerging. Pairs of victims are being abducted, imprisoned then faced with a terrible choice: kill or be killed.

Would you rather lose your life or lose your mind?

Detective Inspector Helen Grace has faced down her own demons on her rise to the top. As she leads the investigation to hunt down this unseen monster, she learns that it may be the survivors - living calling cards - who hold the key to the case.

And unless she succeeds, more innocents will die...

Introducing M. J. Arlidge's Detective Inspector Helen Grace. Eeny Meeny is an electrifying debut, with the nerve-shredding intensity of Saw and Along Came a Spider. Fans of James Patterson and Mo Hayder should pay attention.

Win an Epic Crime Fiction Bundle from Orenda!

Win an Epic Crime Fiction Bundle from Orenda!

Closing date: 30/11/2020

We have a brilliant selection of crime fiction books up for grabs from Orenda! This brilliant prize includes some of their latest releases over the next 3 months and would be the perfect head start on the holiday shopping or an early Christmas present to yourself! Books included in the bundle will be: A Song of Isolation by Michael J. Malone - published 17/09/2020 The Seven Doors by Agnes Ravatn - Published 17/09/2020 The Creak on the Stairs by Eva Bjoerg AEgisdottir - published 01/10/2020 Betrayal by Lilja Sigurdardottir - published 01/10/2020 The Coral Bride by Roxanne Bouchard- published 12/11/2020 Fallen Angels by Gunnar Staalesen - published 12/11/2020 This draw is open only for UK residents currently in the UK and is free to enter, multiple entries from the same email address will only be counted once. The draw closes on 30th November 2020. The winners will be notified as soon as possible.

Enter Now

Eeny Meeny Reader Reviews

  • Linda Birt - 'This book held my attention from the very start and as the plot twisted and turned, I was completely captivated.' Read full review >
  • Gavin Dimmock - 'Two victims; one choice. Kill or die.A gripping, thrilling chase to find a devious and deadly serial killer.' Read full review >
  • Phyllis Avery - 'Fast paced, loads of action and a range of dysfunctional characters - I loved this book! The plot was well thought out and the reader subtly manipulated - what's not to love?' Read full review >
  • Magdalena Vidgen - 'It has a mystery, suspense and... a truly sick serial killer!' Read full review >
  • Ray Orgill - 'A very fast moving serial murder investigation with a most unusual twist.' Read full review >
  • Suzanne Marsh - 'Eeny Meeny is a heart pulsing cracking crime thriller.' Read full review >
  • Sue Burton - 'The book is a fast paced and very interesting read with lots of twists and turns along the way.' Read full review >
  • Barbara Goldie - 'So many twists and turns, just when you thought you knew what was happening...' Read full review >
  • Susan Wallace - 'An entertaining and at times gripping read. Pairs of people are abducted and given a choice - live by making the other one die.' Read full review >
  • Phylippa Smithson - 'Took me a while to warm up to Eeny Meeny and then I could not put it down...Eeny Meeny is a full on and absorbing book. BRILLIANT.' Read full review >
  • Emma Barton - 'This is an enthralling book that you will hate putting down until the end.' Read full review >
  • Kerry Bridges - 'It rockets along at breakneck speed...which added to the pace of it I think, and helped with the enjoyment.' Read full review >
  • Carol Peace - 'A great fast paced read, make time to read the whole book as you will not want to put it down.' Read full review >
  • Daran Bellingham - 'Move over DCI Jane Tennison, DI Helen Grace wants your job...This novel is a fast paced thriller that's well written and believable.' Read full review >
  • Joy Bosworth - 'This is well written and pacey but wasn't something I actually enjoyed.' Read full review >
  • Bethany Dimmock - 'A captivating thriller; fuelled by a sharp writing style and intense plot which kept me absorbed until the final page.' Read full review >
  • Sharon Matthews - 'A well written, punchy, serial killer tale with a twist...Brilliant, can’t wait for the next one.' Read full review >
  • Clair Chaytors - 'Wow! This book sent a shiver down my spine from the very first page.' Read full review >
  • Jennifer Moville - 'This is one of those books that I'd say if you love a good mystery with a bit of gore and murder involved then go for it.' Read full review >
  • Alison Greenacre - 'A dark gritty thriller, investigating the very worst aspects of human nature.'  Read full review >

Eeny Meeny Press Reviews

'This is going to be as big as Jo Nesbo' Judy Finnigan

Praise for M.J. Arlidge and the DI Helen Grace series:

'M. J. Arlidge has created a genuinely fresh heroine in DI Helen Grace' Daily Mail

'Taut, fast-paced, truly excellent' Sun

'Detective Inspector Helen Grace is one of the greatest heroes to come along in years' Jeffery Deaver, New York Times bestselling author of The Skin Collector and Solitude Creek

'Gruesomely realistic, intriguing and relentless' Sunday Sport

'Eeny Meeny debuts one of the best new series detectives, Helen Grace. Determined, tough and damaged, she must unravel a terrifying riddle of a killer kidnapping victims in pairs. Mesmerizing!' Lisa Gardner

'A gripping debut ... D.I. Helen Grace is a flawed but winning heroine ... and, boy, the pages fly by' USA Today

'A fast-paced, twisting police procedural and thriller that's sure to become another bestseller' Huffington Post

If you loved this, you might like these...

City of Margins
Murder, Forgotten
A Song of Isolation
Troubled Blood

All versions of this book

ISBN: 9781405914871
Publication date: 08/05/2014
Publisher: Penguin Books Ltd
Format: Paperback

Book Information

ISBN: 9781405914871
Publication date: 8th May 2014
Author: M. J. Arlidge
Publisher: Penguin Books Ltd
Format: Paperback
Pagination: 448 pages
Genres: Reader Reviewed Books, Crime / Mystery, Debuts of the Month, eBook Favourites, Thriller / Suspense,
Categories: Crime & mystery, Thriller / suspense,

About M. J. Arlidge

M.J. Arlidge has worked in television for the last fifteen years specializing in high-end drama production, including prime-time crime serials Torn, The Little House and, most recently, Undeniable. Currently writing for the hit BBC series Silent Witness, Arlidge is also piloting original crime series for both UK and US networks. In 2015 his audio exclusive Six Degrees of Assassination was a number one bestseller. His debut thriller, Eeny Meeny was the UK's bestselling crime debut of 2014. It was followed by the bestselling Pop Goes the Weasel and The Doll's House. Liar Liar is the fourth DI Helen Grace thriller. Author ...

More About M. J. Arlidge

More Books By M. J. Arlidge

Cover for Down to the Woods by M. J. Arlidge
Cover for Love Me Not by M. J. Arlidge
Cover for Hide and Seek by M. J. Arlidge
View All Books By M. J. Arlidge

Share this book