likeyoulove debuts of the month
Search our site
Persons Unknown by Susie Steiner Read the opening extract of the brand new Susie Steiner book before its publication on 05/04/2018

Reader Reviewed
Eeny Meeny by M. J. Arlidge

Eeny Meeny

Part of the Detective Inspector Helen Grace Series
Crime / Mystery   Thriller / Suspense   Debuts of the Month   eBook Favourites   
Download an extract Discuss on Facebook Discuss this book on our Crime/Mystery/Thriller Facebook group Share this book

Sarah Broadhurst's view...

May 2014 Debut of the Month.

Introducing DI Helen Grace of the Southampton Constabulary, a woman with a past and a strange fetish which is interesting. The cases presented to her are psychologically terrifying. Couples romantically involved, related or work colleagues, it seems to matter not which, are kidnapped, dumped in an isolated place, given a mobile phone with a message on it, no credit and a gun. To escape one must kill the other. This is ingenious stuff, truly frightening, compulsive and very good indeed. Highly recommended. My only criticism is that this impressive DI bears the same surname as another famous detective, Roy Grace of the Brighton Police and a brilliant creation of Peter James. I think the publishers should have alerted Mr Arlidge to this fact.

In addition to our Lovereading expert opinion some of our Reader Review Panel were also lucky enough to read and review this title.

If you like M. J. Arlidge you might also like to read books by Peter James, John Harvey and M. R. Hall.

Who is Sarah Broadhurst

Reader Reviews

  • Linda Birt - 'This book held my attention from the very start and as the plot twisted and turned, I was completely captivated.' Read full review >
  • Gavin Dimmock - 'Two victims; one choice. Kill or die.A gripping, thrilling chase to find a devious and deadly serial killer.' Read full review >
  • Phyllis Avery - 'Fast paced, loads of action and a range of dysfunctional characters - I loved this book! The plot was well thought out and the reader subtly manipulated - what's not to love?' Read full review >
  • Magdalena Vidgen - 'It has a mystery, suspense and... a truly sick serial killer!' Read full review >
  • Ray Orgill - 'A very fast moving serial murder investigation with a most unusual twist.' Read full review >
  • Suzanne Marsh - 'Eeny Meeny is a heart pulsing cracking crime thriller.' Read full review >
  • Sue Burton - 'The book is a fast paced and very interesting read with lots of twists and turns along the way.' Read full review >
  • Barbara Goldie - 'So many twists and turns, just when you thought you knew what was happening...' Read full review >
  • Susan Wallace - 'An entertaining and at times gripping read. Pairs of people are abducted and given a choice - live by making the other one die.' Read full review >
  • Phylippa Smithson - 'Took me a while to warm up to Eeny Meeny and then I could not put it down...Eeny Meeny is a full on and absorbing book. BRILLIANT.' Read full review >
  • Emma Barton - 'This is an enthralling book that you will hate putting down until the end.' Read full review >
  • Kerry Bridges - 'It rockets along at breakneck speed...which added to the pace of it I think, and helped with the enjoyment.' Read full review >
  • Carol Peace - 'A great fast paced read, make time to read the whole book as you will not want to put it down.' Read full review >
  • Daran Bellingham - 'Move over DCI Jane Tennison, DI Helen Grace wants your job...This novel is a fast paced thriller that's well written and believable.' Read full review >
  • Joy Bosworth - 'This is well written and pacey but wasn't something I actually enjoyed.' Read full review >
  • Bethany Dimmock - 'A captivating thriller; fuelled by a sharp writing style and intense plot which kept me absorbed until the final page.' Read full review >
  • Sharon Matthews - 'A well written, punchy, serial killer tale with a twist...Brilliant, can’t wait for the next one.' Read full review >
  • Clair Chaytors - 'Wow! This book sent a shiver down my spine from the very first page.' Read full review >
  • Jennifer Moville - 'This is one of those books that I'd say if you love a good mystery with a bit of gore and murder involved then go for it.' Read full review >
  • Alison Greenacre - 'A dark gritty thriller, investigating the very worst aspects of human nature.'  Read full review >

Win Books from the Manon Bradshaw Thriller Series!

Persons Unknown, the second book in Susie Steiner's crime thriller series, is now out in paperback and to mark the publication we are giving away paperback copies of both Missing, Presumed and Persons Unknown to THREE lucky winners!

To have a chance of winning one of these fantastic prizes, click the button below. Please note that this draw is open only for UK residents and is free to enter, multiple entries from the same email address will only be counted once.

The draw closes on 30 April 2018. The winners will be notified by 14 May 2018,

Good luck!

Enter prize draw Draw closes: 30/04/2018


Eeny Meeny by M. J. Arlidge

Eeny Meeny is the rocket-paced serial-killer thriller debut from M. J. Arlidge. The girl emerged from the woods, barely alive. Her story was beyond belief. But it was true. Every dreadful word of it. Days later, another desperate escapee is found - and a pattern is emerging. Pairs of victims are being abducted, imprisoned then faced with a terrible choice: kill or be killed. Would you rather lose your life or lose your mind? Detective Inspector Helen Grace has faced down her own demons on her rise to the top. As she leads the investigation to hunt down this unseen monster, she learns that it may be the survivors - living calling cards - who hold the key to the case. And unless she succeeds, more innocents will die...Introducing M. J. Arlidge's Detective Inspector Helen Grace. Eeny Meeny is an electrifying debut, with the nerve-shredding intensity of Saw and Along Came a Spider. Fans of James Patterson and Mo Hayder should pay attention. M. J. Arlidge has worked in television for the last fifteen years, specialising in high end drama production. In the last five years Arlidge has produced a number of prime-time crime serials for ITV, including Torn, The Little House and most recently Undeniable, broadcast in spring 2014. Currently writing for Silent Witness, Arlidge is also piloting original crime series for both UK and US networks. Debut thriller Eeny Meeny, which introduces Detective Inspector Helen Grace, has sold to publishers around the world. The follow up, Pop Goes the Weasel, is published by Penguin Books in September 2014.


M. J. Arlidge has created a genuinely fresh heroine in DI Helen Grace . . . he spares us none of the dark details, weaving them together into a tapestry that chills to the bone * Daily Mail * With an orchestration of tension that is always sharp and cinematic, M. J. Arlidge's debut novel grabs the reader by the throat -- Barry Forshaw * Crimetime * Eeny Meeny is going to be as big as Jo Nesbo -- Judy Finnigan It's amazing -- Richard Madeley This taut, fast-paced debut is truly excellent * The Sun * A macabre, theatrical thriller that gripped me with every twist * Woman and Home * Eeny Meeny debuts one of the best new series detectives, Helen Grace. Determined, tough and damaged, she must unravel a terrifying riddle of a killer kidnapping victims in pairs. Mesmerizing! -- Lisa Gardner Expertly pulled off. It has a devious premise. DI Helen Grace is fiendishly awesome. It's scary as all hell. And it has a full cast of realistically drawn, interesting characters that make the thing read like a bullet -- Will Lavender What a great premise!...EENY MEENY is a fresh and brilliant departure from the stock serial killer tale. And Detective Inspector Helen Grace is one of the greatest heroes to come along in years -- Jeffery Deaver, New York Times bestselling author of The Skin Collector and Solitude Creek A gripping debut ... D.I. Helen Grace is a flawed but winning heroine ... and, boy, the pages fly by * USA Today * A fast-paced, twisting police procedural and thriller that's sure to become another bestseller * Huffington Post *

About the Author

M. J. Arlidge

M.J. Arlidge has worked in television for the last fifteen years specializing in high-end drama production, including prime-time crime serials Torn, The Little House and, most recently, Undeniable. Currently writing for the hit BBC series Silent Witness, Arlidge is also piloting original crime series for both UK and US networks. In 2015 his audio exclusive Six Degrees of Assassination was a number one bestseller.

His debut thriller, Eeny Meeny was the UK's bestselling crime debut of 2014. It was followed by the bestselling Pop Goes the Weasel and The Doll's House. Liar Liar is the fourth DI Helen Grace thriller.

Author photo © Bill Waters 2014

More books by this author
Author 'Like for Like' recommendations

Loading similar books...
Loading other formats...

Book Info

Publication date

8th May 2014


M. J. Arlidge

More books by M. J. Arlidge
Author 'Like for Like'

Author's Facebook Latest

Loading facebook updates...
Loading twitter updates...


Penguin Books Ltd


448 pages


Crime / Mystery
Thriller / Suspense
Debuts of the Month
eBook Favourites

Crime & mystery
Thriller / suspense



I love the 'like for like' author recommendations, it's like an old friend whispering in your ear.

Emma Caddick

Lovereading has all the new books and also suggestions for 'similar' authors whilst waiting for your favourites new books.

Carol Peace

I read new, exciting writers and established authors before publication and there is a great website full of brilliant books and opinions.


They are bright, breezy and eager to offer a great book, then genuinely listen/respect the review one writes.

Maggie Crane

Thanks to Lovereading I have discovered new writers and read books I would never had looked twice at - and enjoyed them.

Angela Rhodes

I love 'try before you buy' extracts. I love the wide range of authors & genres. I love the author info. I love books!

Judi Davies

As for why I'd recommend Lovereading, it's simple - it's a great place to get information and reviews about new books!

Margaret Freeman

Insightful reader reviews and unbiased recommendations. I don't know how I chose books before Lovereading! An essential for all book lovers.

Sarah Harper