Tell us a story

LoveReading is thrilled to announce the launch of The Very Short Story Award 2019! If you think you have a story we'll love, click here to find out more and how to enter:

Find out more

Samantha King - Author

About the Author

Samantha King is a former editor and also a qualified psychotherapist. After her childhood in the south-west of England, teenage years spent in the north-east and student days somewhere in between, she finally settled in west London where she enjoyed a career publishing other people's books, before going freelance and surrendering to a long-time urge to write her own. She lives with her husband and two young children, who inspired her to write The Choice, her debut novel. An English graduate and lifelong bookworm, Samantha is always fascinated to hear readers' opinions.

Featured books by Samantha King

The Choice

The Choice

Author: Samantha King Format: Hardback Release Date: 20/04/2017

Then: Madeleine lived for her children. She'd always believed she'd die for them, too. But on the morning of her twins' tenth birthday her love was put to the test when a killer knocked on their door and forced her to make a devastating choice: which child should live, and which should die - her son, or her daughter? Now: Madeleine stands silent on the periphery of her now fractured family, trying desperately to unravel why her world was so suddenly blown apart. But while everyday life continues around her, memories of everything leading up to that tragic day return in agonising flashes. And that's when she realises her family's life still hangs terrifyingly in the balance...

Other books by Samantha King

The Choice The most astonishing thriller you'll read this summer

The Choice The most astonishing thriller you'll read this summer

Author: Samantha King Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 01/05/2017

***THE TOP-TEN EBOOK BESTSELLER*** 'Beautifully written, taunt, tense and very clever. Definitely one to watch out for in 2017' Claire Douglas, Sunday Times bestselling author of Last Seen Alive. For fans of The Couple Next Door, I See You and He Said/She Said, The Choice is a hypnotic suspense debut from a remarkable new talent and explores the terrifying Sophie's Choice scenario: What if you had to choose between your children? Then: Madeleine lived for her children. She'd always believed she'd die for them too. But on the morning of her twins' tenth birthday her love was put to the test when a killer knocked on their door and forced her to make a devastating choice: which child should live, and which should die - her son, or her daughter? Now: Madeleine stands silent on the periphery of her fractured family, trying desperately to unravel why her world was so suddenly blown apart. But as memories of everything leading up to that tragic day return in agonising flashes, she begins to realise her family's life still hangs terrifyingly in the balance... 'Astonishing' Karen Dionne 'Nail-biting' Saskia Sarginson 'Brilliant' Lisa Hall 'Mind-twisting' Alex Caan 'Exceptional' Claire Allan 'Enthralling' Liz Loves Books 'Devastating' Eleanor Moran 'Addictive' Netgalley reviewer

The Choice

The Choice

Author: Samantha King Format: Hardback Release Date: 20/04/2017

Then: Madeleine lived for her children. She'd always believed she'd die for them, too. But on the morning of her twins' tenth birthday her love was put to the test when a killer knocked on their door and forced her to make a devastating choice: which child should live, and which should die - her son, or her daughter? Now: Madeleine stands silent on the periphery of her now fractured family, trying desperately to unravel why her world was so suddenly blown apart. But while everyday life continues around her, memories of everything leading up to that tragic day return in agonising flashes. And that's when she realises her family's life still hangs terrifyingly in the balance...

Born to Love, Cursed to Feel

Born to Love, Cursed to Feel

Author: Samantha King Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 20/10/2016

For fans of r.h. Sin comes a new voice, Samantha King's raw, relatable poetry both celebrates love and mourns the human curse to feel. Her verse transports readers to the most private reaches of love and longing. Born to Love, Cursed to Feel is about love-the good, the bad, and the confusing. It touches on morals and how when emotions are involved it's not as black and white. The poetry is frequently written in a narrative manner that evocatively pulls you in and makes you feel. This book is about falling in love, bad decisions, and ultimately growth. The essence of it all is to show that no matter how far one falls all the mistakes don't have to be what defines them. * Samantha King has 83,000 Instagram followers * Samantha King is the girlfriend of R.H. Sin whose Twitter account has 635,000 followers, including Jim Gaffigan and Calvin Reid of PW; Her Instagram has 350,000 followers, including Rhonda Rousey * R.H. Sin will use his social media following by promoting this book and Samantha King's poetry * A book you can give to a friend or loved one to help them through the tumultuous trials of life and love

Pink Ribbons, Inc. Breast Cancer and the Politics of Philanthropy

Pink Ribbons, Inc. Breast Cancer and the Politics of Philanthropy

Author: Samantha King Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 19/05/2008

\u201cSamantha King explains how, beyond being an all-too-frequent and still-too-lethal disease for many women, breast cancer is a corporate dream come true.\u201d -Herizons \u201cFascinating. King\u2019s deft and thoughtful interpretation of the pink ribbon phenomenon is an important wake-up call. Going against the grain, she takes a clear-eyed look at a trend that often seems to outshine the disease that put it on the map.\u201d -Women\u2019s Review of Books \u201cKing\u2019s criticisms of breast-cancer philanthropy provide a new means of looking at one of our culture\u2019s most celebrated causes. For anyone who has ever squirreled away yogurt lids for the cause, Pink Ribbons, Inc. is food for thought.\u201d -Bitch \u201cA fascinating read for anyone whose life has been touched by breast cancer.\u201d -Curve \u201cBreast cancer advocacy is being transformed from meaningful civic participation into purchasing products. To understand the personal, social, and political costs, read this book.\u201d -Barbara Brenner, Executive Director of Breast Cancer Action In Pink Ribbons, Inc., Samantha King traces how breast cancer has been transformed from a stigmatized disease and individual tragedy to a market-driven industry of survivorship. Here, for the first time, King questions the effectiveness and legitimacy of privately funded efforts to stop the epidemic among American women. Highly revelatory-at times shocking-Pink Ribbons, Inc. challenges the commercialization of the breast cancer movement. Samantha King is associate professor of physical and health education and women\u2019s studies at Queen\u2019s University, in Kingston, Ontario