LoveReading

Becoming a member of the LoveReading community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unadulterated book loving, with your favourite books saved to your own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop Plus lots lots more…

Find out more

The Unexpected Inheritance of Inspector Chopra

by Vaseem Khan

Part of the Baby Ganesh series Series

The Unexpected Inheritance of Inspector Chopra Synopsis

Selected by the Sunday Times as one of the 40 best crime novels published 2015-2020 Mumbai, murder and a baby elephant combine in a charming, joyful mystery for fans of Alexander McCall Smith and Rachel Joyce. On the day he retires, Inspector Ashwin Chopra discovers that he has inherited an elephant: an unlikely gift that could not be more inconvenient. For Chopra has one last case to solve... But as his murder investigation leads him across Mumbai - from its richest mansions to its murky underworld - he quickly discovers that a baby elephant may be exactly what an honest man needs. So begins the start of a quite unexpected partnership, and an utterly delightful new series.

The Unexpected Inheritance of Inspector Chopra Press Reviews

A debut Mumbai-based cosy - complete with baby elephant - that keeps things heartwarming while tackling corruption at the highest levels and violent crime at the lowest. Endearing, exotic and gripping, it sets up Inspector Chopra's detective agency - and the elephant - for a successful series. * The Sunday Times * A quirky murder mystery... full of colourful characters and insightful details about human motivation * Irish Examiner * A sparkling debut with a zippy plot and an endearing set of characters * The Lady * A cast of intriguing characters that it will be a joy to see develop. But the greatest strength is the setting in the teeming city of Mumbai, from which the colour and atmosphere flows out of every page in this enjoyable, whimsical tale * Daily Express * Delightful and uplifting * The Bookseller * Chopra, diligent, incorruptible and not entirely at ease with shiny new India, is a delight, as is his redoubtable wife, Poppy - and Ganesha the elephant, once he has cheered up a bit, proves a very useful ally indeed. Utterly charming * Guardian * Enchanting * Woman & Home * Keeps things heart-warming while tackling corruption at the highest levels and violent crime at the lowest. Endearing and gripping, it sets up Inspector Chopra - and the elephant - for a long series. * Sunday Times *

Book Information

ISBN: 9781473612280
Publication date: 31st December 2015
Author: Vaseem Khan
Publisher: Mulholland Books an imprint of Hodder & Stoughton
Format: Paperback / softback
Pagination: 320 pages
Categories: Crime & mystery,

About Vaseem Khan

Vaseem Khan is the author of two crime series set in India: the Baby Ganesh Agency series, and the Malabar House historical crime novels. His first book, The Unexpected Inheritance of Inspector Chopra, was a Times bestseller and has been translated into 15 languages. In 2018, he was awarded the Eastern Eye Arts, Culture and Theatre Award for Literature. Vaseem was born in Newham, but spent a decade working in India as a management consultant.

More About Vaseem Khan

More Books By Vaseem Khan

Cover for The Unexpected Inheritance of Inspector Chopra by Vaseem Khan
Cover for Midnight at Malabar House (The Malabar House Series) by Vaseem Khan
Cover for Midnight at Malabar House by Vaseem Khan
View All Books By Vaseem Khan

Share this book