The Unexpected Inheritance of Inspector Chopra

by Vaseem Khan

Books with reviews by our Reader Review Panel Crime / Mystery Debut Books of the Month eBooks of the Month Modern and Classic Literary Fiction

LoveReading View on The Unexpected Inheritance of Inspector Chopra

One of our Books of the Year 2015.

August 2015 Debut of the Month.

Prepare to be completely and utterly charmed in this whimsical and touching tale that enfolds you in the mystery of India. Inspector Chopra (retired), is likable, dependable and steadfast; in his case, once a policeman, always a policeman rings very true. Vaseem Khan writes with an undeniably light touch, yet he doesn't shy away from the more sinister side of life in the city of Mumbai. A vibrantly colourful India sings and on occasion bellows from the pages. While a suspicious death leads Chopra to begin an investigation, it’s the descriptions of everyday life that really bring this fascinating novel to life. The baby elephant Ganesha is a star in the making and ‘The Unexpected Inheritance of Inspector Chopra’ is a delightfully engaging start to a new series. ~ Liz Robinson

Liz Robinson

The Unexpected Inheritance of Inspector Chopra Synopsis

Mumbai, murder and a baby elephant combine in a charming, joyful mystery for fans of Alexander McCall Smith and Rachel Joyce. On the day he retires, Inspector Ashwin Chopra inherits two unexpected mysteries. The first is the case of a drowned boy, whose suspicious death no one seems to want solved. And the second is a baby elephant. As his search for clues takes him across the teeming city of Mumbai, from its grand high rises to its sprawling slums and deep into its murky underworld, Chopra begins to suspect that there may be a great deal more to both his last case and his new ward than he thought. And he soon learns that when the going gets tough, a determined elephant may be exactly what an honest man needs...

The Unexpected Inheritance of Inspector Chopra Reader Reviews

In addition to our Lovereading expert opinion some of our Reader Review Panel were also lucky enough to read and review this title. You can click here to read the full reviews.

  • Disha Gulati - 'Khan's debut novel is an entertaining and penetrating read. A page turner, it presents modern India in an accurate light: open, warm, family orientated but with a cruel and unforgiving underbelly. I eagerly await my next instalment.'
  • Kelly Silcox - 'With wonderful descriptions of Mumbai life and a storyline that drags you in, this is a perfect introduction to what I hope will be a long series of books. A fantastic book that I could not put down.'
  • Judith Sharp - 'Lovely book about present day India which fans of Alexander McCall Smith will enjoy. Gives a flavour of what day to day life is like in Mumbai & also how western life is encroaching on the old India.'
  • Les Wood - 'It was a gentle read where not a huge amount happened and was a novel idea in itself, however I cannot see it progressing in a manner similar to The Ladies Detective Agency.'
  • David - 'An interesting and enjoyable read; travelogue and detective novel in equal measures with the novel twist of using an elephant to sniff out the baddies. One for fans of the The No.1 Ladies’ Detective Agency.'
  • Phylippa Smithson - 'This is a gentle and warming tale that is a wonderful insight to the Indian culture, the way of life living in Mumbai, and oh yes, a murder and an elephant.'
  • Alan Brown - 'A cosy mystery in Beaton or Christie genre but with an insight into human life as well.'
  • Catherine Bryce - 'An excellent book from a new author, a definite first read so don't delay, order your copy today you will not be disappointed!'
  • Pam Kennedy - 'This book was an absolute pleasure to read,  I loved everything about it. Vaseem must be a very nice man to create a character like Inspector Chopra, or he knows someone like him.'
  • Robin Little - 'A delightful insight into Mumbai life & death. A gentle meandering murder mystery which brings to life one of the most vibrant cities in the world.  I look forward to future stories.'
  • Glenda Worth - 'A light hearted look at life in India cleverly told by Vaseem Khan with humour and great descriptions.'
  • Janette Skinner - 'If this is the start of a series, I would be delighted to read the next book.'
  • Kerry Bridges - 'A different and clever description of life in India, seen through the eyes of one reluctant elephant owner!'
  • Kathy Howell - 'This is a really good read and I look forward to reading more in the series.'
  • Jennifer Moville - 'it lifted my spirits with intrigue and some humour whilst all the while leaving me wanting more to find out about the murder.'
  • Angela Rhodes - 'For everyone who loves Alexander McCall Smith, this will win your heart…  A fantastic debut. You will, as I did, fall in love with Gabesha.'
  • Clare Turner - 'a delightful book. Inspector Chopra is a most engaging character, as indeed is his baby elephant.'
  • Linda Rollins - 'This book is the beginning of what promises to be a charming and quirky series.'
  • Gill Wilmott - 'I wasn’t disappointed; it has the same clear descriptive writing style, evoking the atmosphere of Mumbai very effectively.'
  • Siobhan McDowell - 'is a trip into a world where by solid detection, hard work and charm the Inspector always gets his man!'
  • Ed Robson - 'Vaseem Khan’s debut is a by-the-numbers detective novel that has an interesting setting but suffers from a predictable plot and a lack of dramatic tension.'
  • Rachael Anderson - 'The first book in a new, quirky detective series. Well worth reading.'
  • Dana Captainino - 'a wonderful book - charming and engaging throughout.'
  • Julie - 'A great read for fans of Alexander McCall Smith.  Inspector Chopra's retirement begins with a baby elephant arriving at his apartment and an unsolved murder to investigate.'
  • Helen Clark - 'A quirky and engaging thriller, mixing suspense and humour in such a way that one minute the reader is frightened forChopra's life, and the next, laughing out loud at Ganesha's exploits.'
  • Alison Burns - 'I will read the next instalment of the series...but on reading this first instalment I'm not sure there is enough to hold my interest in a series.'
  • Carol Tuckett - 'I really enjoyed the book. It took me to a country I have never visited.'
  • Sharon - 'I loved this book!  Vivid atmosphere of Mumbai mixed with humour and crime...I'm really looking forward to reading others in the series.'

The Unexpected Inheritance of Inspector Chopra Press Reviews

Praise for THE ATLAS OF US by Tracy Buchanan:

'An ambitious and deeply poignant story that will take you into another world'
HEAT

'I was left absolutely traumatised in a totally brilliant way ... Beautiful, heartbreaking, uplifting ... Really worth a read'
HELLO

'I could see it playing out like a movie as I was reading ... I loved it'
NOVELKICKS

If you loved this, you might like these...

The Adventure of the Christmas Pudding
Come, Tell Me How You Live Memories from Archaeological Expeditions in the Mysterious Middle East
Poirot - After the Funeral
Curtain Poirot's Last Case

All versions of this book

ISBN: 9781473612266
Publication date: 13/08/2015
Publisher: Mulholland Books an imprint of Hodder & Stoughton General Division
Format: Hardback

Book Information

ISBN: 9781473612266
Publication date: 13th August 2015
Author: Vaseem Khan
Publisher: Mulholland Books an imprint of Hodder & Stoughton General Division
Format: Hardback
Genres: Reader Reviewed Books, Crime / Mystery, Debuts of the Month, eBook Favourites, Literary Fiction,
Categories:

About Vaseem Khan

Vaseem Khan first saw an elephant lumbering down the middle of the road in 1997 when he arrived in India to work as a management consultant. It was the most unusual thing he had ever encountered and served as the inspiration behind his series of crime novels. He returned to the UK in 2006 and now works at University College London for the Department of Security and Crime Science where he is astonished on a daily basis by the way modern science is being employed to tackle crime. Elephants are third on his list of passions, first and second being great literature ...

More About Vaseem Khan

Share this book