LoveReading

Becoming a member of the LoveReading community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unadulterated book loving, with your favourite books saved to your own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop Plus lots lots more…

Find out more

Sometimes I Lie

Paperback edition released 23/03/2017

by Alice Feeney

Thriller and Suspense Books with reviews by our Reader Review Panel Crime and Mystery Debut Books of the Month Family Drama eBooks of the Month

LoveReading Expert Review of Sometimes I Lie

A novel to meddle with your reasoning and taunt your gut instincts… Amber is in hospital in a coma, her thoughts are knocking at the door of her awareness as she attempts to remember what has happened to her. The story switches between Alice’s thoughts in the present, revisiting the week prior to her admittance to hospital, and diary entries from the early nineties. Alice Feeney has the ability to see inside the hidden sections of the human soul and express our innermost fears. At times I felt disorientated, as the lies and truths warp and twisted around each other, the ending had me revisiting my conclusions and feelings. ‘Sometimes I Lie’, on occasion uncomfortable and challenging, walks a razor sharp edge of belief and understanding, will you discover the truth? ~ Liz Robinson

Liz Robinson

Sometimes I Lie Synopsis

A bold and original voice - I loved this book. Clare Mackintosh, author of I Let You Go My name is Amber Reynolds. There are three things you should know about me: 1. I'm in a coma. 2. My husband doesn't love me anymore. 3. Sometimes I lie. Unnerving, twisted and utterly compelling, you won't be able to put this new thriller down. Set to be the most talked about book in 2017, it's perfect for fans of Behind Closed Doors, The Girl on the Train and The Widow.

About This Edition

ISBN: 9780008225353
Publication date: 23rd March 2017
Author: Alice Feeney
Publisher: HQ an imprint of Harlequin (UK)
Format: Paperback
Pagination: 384 pages
Collections: 100+ Female Led Crime Fiction,
Primary Genre Thriller and Suspense
Other Genres:
Recommendations:
Win a Brilliant Orenda Book Bundle!

Win a Brilliant Orenda Book Bundle!

Closing date: 30/06/2021

We're teaming up once again with Orenda to offer another brilliant book giveaway! Not only is a bundle of Orenda Books up for grabs, we also have a £15 voucher for the winner to use on Orenda's new look website! This book bundle will include some of their latest releases from April to June. A fantastic opportunity to stock your bookshelves. The titles up for grabs are: The Source be Sarah Sultoon - Published 15th April Facets of Death by Michael Stanley - Published 29th April The Assistant by Kjell Ola Dahl - Published 13th May This is How We Are Human by Louise Beech - Published 10th June Everything Happens for a Reason by Katie Allen - Published 10th June One Last Time by Helga Flatland - Published 24th June This draw is open only for UK residents currently in the UK and is free to enter, multiple entries from the same email address will only be counted once. The draw closes on 30th June 2021. Please ensure that the details you use to enter the competition will be correct at the time the competition ends. The winners will be notified as soon as possible.

Enter Now

Like For Like Featured Books

The Castaways
The Child
Come a Little Closer
Don't You Cry

Sometimes I Lie Reader Reviews

In addition to our Lovereading expert opinion some of our Reader Review Panel were also lucky enough to read and review this title. You can click here to read the full reviews.

  • Helen Appleby - 'the best book I have read in a long time, thrilling, gripping and enticing at every page turn.'
  • Caz Barnett - 'It is an extraordinary book and you will exhale slowly once you have finished it, vowing to live life to the full.'
  • Phylippa Smithson - 'a must for lovers of The Girl On The Train – totally compelling, a real page turner and an ending totally not anticipated.'
  • Janet Gilliard - 'Wow! This debut novel is a must read.'
  • Jaine Ellis - 'Sometimes I Lie has to be THE BEST novel I have read, it is clever, unsettling, intriguing and utterly convincing.'
  • Nikki Whitmore - 'Very twisty-turny, lots of unexpected developments and the ending was a masterpiece where threads I hadn't even realised were threads were woven together to form one shocking big picture.'
  • Sophia - 'Wow!! I loved this story...really put me on edge in a good way!'
  • Nicki Southwell - 'With psychological twists and turns, the characters are manipulative, evil and very clever.  You won't sleep until you have finished!'
  • Tasha Potter - 'Absolutely fantastic!! Just when you thought you may have figured it out something else was thrown into the mix making you re-evaluate everything once again.'
  • Carol - 'Beware this book will mess with your mind! But that's ok, it's brilliant!'
  • Lorraine Blencoe - 'This is exactly what a thriller should look like.'
  • Tanera Simons - 'I loved how gripping and brilliantly deceptive this book is. There were so many twists – and lies – that I was kept guessing throughout.'
  • Adrienne Kinsella - 'Sometimes I Lie is a gripping thriller that is impossible to put down. The shocking surprises keep on coming and there are multiple twists to keep the reader in suspense.'
  • Liz Bloomer - 'A gripping novel which, once you start it, you can't possibly put down! If this is her first novel then bring on the next!'
  • Sarah Harper - 'With more twists and turns than you can shake a stick at, this fantastic psychological thriller is a real roller coaster of a read.'
  • Teresa O'Halloran - 'Just when you thought the psychological thriller had been done to death along comes Alice Feeney with a plot so wild it will shock you!'
  • Humaira Kauser - 'It was a good book that kept me on the edge of my seat but I can't say that it was a favourite.'

Alice Feeney Press Reviews

“For fans of twisty, dark thrillers, this is the one. Fabulously written voices and a plot that keeps you guessing until the very end.” Kate Hamer, Author of THE GIRL IN THE RED COAT

“Fiendishly clever – an absolute masterclass in plotting and narrative design.” Richard Skinner, Author and Director of Fiction at Faber Academy

“Exceptional plotting. Expect perfectly imbedded twists and sharply drawn characters. A brilliant thriller.” Ali Land, Author of GOOD ME BAD ME

"Boldly plotted, tightly knotted -- a provocative true-or-false thriller that deepens and darkens to its ink-black finale. Marvellous." AJ Finn, Author of THE WOMAN IN THE WINDOW

“An utterly compelling, twisted, shocking psychological thriller that made me gasp out loud.” Sophie Raworth, BBC Presenter

“You wish there were more books like Sometimes I Lie: unusually, it’s both a compelling psychological thriller and beautifully written. There’s also a parade of more or less monstrous characters, a narrator as unreliable as they come and a late twist you’re most unlikely to see coming. Tremendously satisfying.” Nick Higham, BBC Meet The Author Presenter

Other editions of this book

ISBN: 9780008249724
Publication date: 15/04/2017
Format: Paperback

ISBN: 9780008225353
Publication date: 23/03/2017
Format: Paperback

ISBN: 9780008228866
Publication date: 23/03/2017
Format: Ebook

View All Editions

About Alice Feeney

Alice Feeney is a writer and journalist. She has spent 15 years with BBC News where she worked as a Reporter, News Editor, Arts and Entertainment Producer and One O'Clock News Producer. Alice is a recent graduate of the Faber Academy Writing a Novel course. Alice has lived in London and Sydney and has now settled in the Surrey countryside, where she lives with her husband and dog.

More About Alice Feeney

More Books By Alice Feeney

Sometimes I Lie
Sometimes I Lie
Sometimes I Lie
View All Books By Alice Feeney

Share this book