likeyoulove books of the month
Search our site
Are You Sleeping by Kathleen Barber Read the opening extract of the brand new Kathleen Barber book before its publication on 27/12/2017

Reader Reviewed
Sometimes I Lie by Alice Feeney
  

Sometimes I Lie

Thriller / Suspense   Crime / Mystery   Debuts of the Month   Family Drama   eBook Favourites   eBook Favourites   
Download an extract Discuss on Facebook Discuss this book on our Crime/Mystery/Thriller Facebook group Share this book

Lovereading view...

A novel to meddle with your reasoning and taunt your gut instincts… Amber is in hospital in a coma, her thoughts are knocking at the door of her awareness as she attempts to remember what has happened to her. The story switches between Alice’s thoughts in the present, revisiting the week prior to her admittance to hospital, and diary entries from the early nineties. Alice Feeney has the ability to see inside the hidden sections of the human soul and express our innermost fears. At times I felt disorientated, as the lies and truths warp and twisted around each other, the ending had me revisiting my conclusions and feelings. ‘Sometimes I Lie’, on occasion uncomfortable and challenging, walks a razor sharp edge of belief and understanding, will you discover the truth? ~ Liz Robinson

Reader Reviews

In addition to our Lovereading expert opinion some of our Reader Review Panel were also lucky enough to read and review this title. You can click here to read the full reviews.

  • Helen Appleby - 'the best book I have read in a long time, thrilling, gripping and enticing at every page turn.'
  • Caz Barnett - 'It is an extraordinary book and you will exhale slowly once you have finished it, vowing to live life to the full.'
  • Phylippa Smithson - 'a must for lovers of The Girl On The Train – totally compelling, a real page turner and an ending totally not anticipated.'
  • Janet Gilliard - 'Wow! This debut novel is a must read.'
  • Jaine Ellis - 'Sometimes I Lie has to be THE BEST novel I have read, it is clever, unsettling, intriguing and utterly convincing.'
  • Nikki Whitmore - 'Very twisty-turny, lots of unexpected developments and the ending was a masterpiece where threads I hadn't even realised were threads were woven together to form one shocking big picture.'
  • Sophia - 'Wow!! I loved this story...really put me on edge in a good way!'
  • Nicki Southwell - 'With psychological twists and turns, the characters are manipulative, evil and very clever.  You won't sleep until you have finished!'
  • Tasha Potter - 'Absolutely fantastic!! Just when you thought you may have figured it out something else was thrown into the mix making you re-evaluate everything once again.'
  • Carol - 'Beware this book will mess with your mind! But that's ok, it's brilliant!'
  • Lorraine Blencoe - 'This is exactly what a thriller should look like.'
  • Tanera Simons - 'I loved how gripping and brilliantly deceptive this book is. There were so many twists – and lies – that I was kept guessing throughout.'
  • Adrienne Kinsella - 'Sometimes I Lie is a gripping thriller that is impossible to put down. The shocking surprises keep on coming and there are multiple twists to keep the reader in suspense.'
  • Liz Bloomer - 'A gripping novel which, once you start it, you can't possibly put down! If this is her first novel then bring on the next!'
  • Sarah Harper - 'With more twists and turns than you can shake a stick at, this fantastic psychological thriller is a real roller coaster of a read.'
  • Teresa O'Halloran - 'Just when you thought the psychological thriller had been done to death along comes Alice Feeney with a plot so wild it will shock you!'
  • Humaira Kauser - 'It was a good book that kept me on the edge of my seat but I can't say that it was a favourite.'

Win a Family Break to Salisbury!

Don’t miss out! Enter to win a family break to Salisbury!

Here at Lovereading.co.uk and Lovereading4kids.co.uk we have joined with VisitWiltshire. You could see yourself indulging in the finest food and slumbering comfortably into one of the grand rooms at The Red Lion Salisbury for two nights. The Red Lion Hotel is located in medieval city of Salisbury, which is home to all your favourite stores as well as independent shops, restaurants, cafes and parks and green spaces. Nearby is Stonehenge, Salisbury Plain and numerous sites of historic and archaeological interest.

There are many seasonal events in Salisbury, and you can find out what’s on here. You will also receive a family ticket to Sir Harold Hillier Gardens, the gardens are especially beautiful in the winter, with bold coloured stems, scents, and fabulous foliage, you can be sure to be impressed. For the children there is also a play park, and you can stop off in the Victorian tea room to warm up and treat yourself to a traditional cream tea.

To have a chance of winning this fantastic prize, click the button below. Please note that this draw is open only for UK residents and is free to enter, multiple entries from the same email address will only be counted once. Entries close 31st January 2018.

Good luck!

Terms and Conditions

Red Lion: Two night stay includes breakfast for two adults and up to two children sharing a family room. Subject to availability and cannot be exchanged or redeemed for cash value. Not to be used in combination with any other offer. Valid until 1st Dec 2018 and excludes bank holidays.

Sir Harold Hillier Gardens: Valid for day entry, Not to be used for special events or group entry. Voucher is not transferable or refundable, no Cash Value. Ticket must be redeemed on entry. Valid until 31 Dec 2018. Gardens open daily from 10am – closed Christmas Day and Boxing Day. Prize admits 2 adults and accompanying children Under 17 FREE to Sir Harold Hillier Gardens.

Enter prize draw Draw closes: 31/01/2018

Synopsis

Sometimes I Lie by Alice Feeney

A bold and original voice - I loved this book. Clare Mackintosh, author of I Let You Go My name is Amber Reynolds. There are three things you should know about me: 1. I'm in a coma. 2. My husband doesn't love me anymore. 3. Sometimes I lie. Unnerving, twisted and utterly compelling, you won't be able to put this new thriller down. Set to be the most talked about book in 2017, it's perfect for fans of Behind Closed Doors, The Girl on the Train and The Widow.

Reviews

“For fans of twisty, dark thrillers, this is the one. Fabulously written voices and a plot that keeps you guessing until the very end.” Kate Hamer, Author of THE GIRL IN THE RED COAT

“Fiendishly clever – an absolute masterclass in plotting and narrative design.” Richard Skinner, Author and Director of Fiction at Faber Academy

“Exceptional plotting. Expect perfectly imbedded twists and sharply drawn characters. A brilliant thriller.” Ali Land, Author of GOOD ME BAD ME

"Boldly plotted, tightly knotted -- a provocative true-or-false thriller that deepens and darkens to its ink-black finale. Marvellous." AJ Finn, Author of THE WOMAN IN THE WINDOW

“An utterly compelling, twisted, shocking psychological thriller that made me gasp out loud.” Sophie Raworth, BBC Presenter

“You wish there were more books like Sometimes I Lie: unusually, it’s both a compelling psychological thriller and beautifully written. There’s also a parade of more or less monstrous characters, a narrator as unreliable as they come and a late twist you’re most unlikely to see coming. Tremendously satisfying.” Nick Higham, BBC Meet The Author Presenter

About the Author

Alice Feeney

Alice Feeney is a writer and journalist. She has spent 15 years with BBC News where she worked as a Reporter, News Editor, Arts and Entertainment Producer and One O'Clock News Producer. Alice is a recent graduate of the Faber Academy Writing a Novel course. Alice has lived in London and Sydney and has now settled in the Surrey countryside, where she lives with her husband and dog.

More books by this author
Author 'Like for Like' recommendations

Loading similar books...
Loading other formats...

Book Info

Publication date

23rd March 2017

Author

Alice Feeney

More books by Alice Feeney
Author 'Like for Like'
    recommendations

Author's Website

www.alicefeeney.com/

Author's Facebook Latest

Loading facebook updates...
Loading twitter updates...

Publisher

HQ an imprint of Harlequin (UK)

Format

Paperback
384 pages

Categories

Thriller / Suspense
Crime / Mystery
Debuts of the Month
Family Drama
eBook Favourites
eBook Favourites

Thriller / suspense

ISBN

9780008225353

Lovereading takes the guesswork out of finding your next read with "if you like you'll love" and extracts to help with your decision.

Sarah Bruch

Because of Lovereading I have broadened my reading horizons with some really great books that I probably would never have chosen myself.

Susan Walsh

With literary excellence, humour and drama, Lovereading's got value and is a real stress-calmer!

Siobhan McDowell

Lovereading helps me decide what real people read.

Kerry Bridges

Lovereading - a community of people passionate about reading and sharing their views. An incomparable website for book lovers.

Helen Clark

I love the honest opinions, recommendations for every genre and every reader, wish lists and Like for Like.

Amrita Dasgupta

Love books. Love reading. Love reading books. And, here's the trick. Here's a website which caters for people like me.

Ian Harvey-brown

Love Reading - it not only does what it says on the tin, it does it with Jam on!!

Maz Tucker

Lovereading4kids

Lovereading4schools