debuts of the month
Search our site
Persons Unknown by Susie Steiner Read the opening extract of the brand new Susie Steiner book before its publication on 05/04/2018

Reader Reviewed
Sometimes I Lie by Alice Feeney

Sometimes I Lie

Thriller / Suspense   Crime / Mystery   Debuts of the Month   Family Drama   eBook Favourites   
Download an extract Discuss on Facebook Discuss this book on our Crime/Mystery/Thriller Facebook group Share this book

Lovereading view...

A novel to meddle with your reasoning and taunt your gut instincts… Amber is in hospital in a coma, her thoughts are knocking at the door of her awareness as she attempts to remember what has happened to her. The story switches between Alice’s thoughts in the present, revisiting the week prior to her admittance to hospital, and diary entries from the early nineties. Alice Feeney has the ability to see inside the hidden sections of the human soul and express our innermost fears. At times I felt disorientated, as the lies and truths warp and twisted around each other, the ending had me revisiting my conclusions and feelings. ‘Sometimes I Lie’, on occasion uncomfortable and challenging, walks a razor sharp edge of belief and understanding, will you discover the truth? ~ Liz Robinson

Reader Reviews

In addition to our Lovereading expert opinion some of our Reader Review Panel were also lucky enough to read and review this title. You can click here to read the full reviews.

  • Helen Appleby - 'the best book I have read in a long time, thrilling, gripping and enticing at every page turn.'
  • Caz Barnett - 'It is an extraordinary book and you will exhale slowly once you have finished it, vowing to live life to the full.'
  • Phylippa Smithson - 'a must for lovers of The Girl On The Train – totally compelling, a real page turner and an ending totally not anticipated.'
  • Janet Gilliard - 'Wow! This debut novel is a must read.'
  • Jaine Ellis - 'Sometimes I Lie has to be THE BEST novel I have read, it is clever, unsettling, intriguing and utterly convincing.'
  • Nikki Whitmore - 'Very twisty-turny, lots of unexpected developments and the ending was a masterpiece where threads I hadn't even realised were threads were woven together to form one shocking big picture.'
  • Sophia - 'Wow!! I loved this story...really put me on edge in a good way!'
  • Nicki Southwell - 'With psychological twists and turns, the characters are manipulative, evil and very clever.  You won't sleep until you have finished!'
  • Tasha Potter - 'Absolutely fantastic!! Just when you thought you may have figured it out something else was thrown into the mix making you re-evaluate everything once again.'
  • Carol - 'Beware this book will mess with your mind! But that's ok, it's brilliant!'
  • Lorraine Blencoe - 'This is exactly what a thriller should look like.'
  • Tanera Simons - 'I loved how gripping and brilliantly deceptive this book is. There were so many twists – and lies – that I was kept guessing throughout.'
  • Adrienne Kinsella - 'Sometimes I Lie is a gripping thriller that is impossible to put down. The shocking surprises keep on coming and there are multiple twists to keep the reader in suspense.'
  • Liz Bloomer - 'A gripping novel which, once you start it, you can't possibly put down! If this is her first novel then bring on the next!'
  • Sarah Harper - 'With more twists and turns than you can shake a stick at, this fantastic psychological thriller is a real roller coaster of a read.'
  • Teresa O'Halloran - 'Just when you thought the psychological thriller had been done to death along comes Alice Feeney with a plot so wild it will shock you!'
  • Humaira Kauser - 'It was a good book that kept me on the edge of my seat but I can't say that it was a favourite.'

Win Books from the Manon Bradshaw Thriller Series!

Persons Unknown, the second book in Susie Steiner's crime thriller series, is now out in paperback and to mark the publication we are giving away paperback copies of both Missing, Presumed and Persons Unknown to THREE lucky winners!

To have a chance of winning one of these fantastic prizes, click the button below. Please note that this draw is open only for UK residents and is free to enter, multiple entries from the same email address will only be counted once.

The draw closes on 30 April 2018. The winners will be notified by 14 May 2018,

Good luck!

Enter prize draw Draw closes: 30/04/2018


Sometimes I Lie by Alice Feeney

A bold and original voice - I loved this book. Clare Mackintosh, author of I Let You Go My name is Amber Reynolds. There are three things you should know about me: 1. I'm in a coma. 2. My husband doesn't love me anymore. 3. Sometimes I lie. Unnerving, twisted and utterly compelling, you won't be able to put this new thriller down. Set to be the most talked about book in 2017, it's perfect for fans of Behind Closed Doors, The Girl on the Train and The Widow.


“For fans of twisty, dark thrillers, this is the one. Fabulously written voices and a plot that keeps you guessing until the very end.” Kate Hamer, Author of THE GIRL IN THE RED COAT

“Fiendishly clever – an absolute masterclass in plotting and narrative design.” Richard Skinner, Author and Director of Fiction at Faber Academy

“Exceptional plotting. Expect perfectly imbedded twists and sharply drawn characters. A brilliant thriller.” Ali Land, Author of GOOD ME BAD ME

"Boldly plotted, tightly knotted -- a provocative true-or-false thriller that deepens and darkens to its ink-black finale. Marvellous." AJ Finn, Author of THE WOMAN IN THE WINDOW

“An utterly compelling, twisted, shocking psychological thriller that made me gasp out loud.” Sophie Raworth, BBC Presenter

“You wish there were more books like Sometimes I Lie: unusually, it’s both a compelling psychological thriller and beautifully written. There’s also a parade of more or less monstrous characters, a narrator as unreliable as they come and a late twist you’re most unlikely to see coming. Tremendously satisfying.” Nick Higham, BBC Meet The Author Presenter

About the Author

Alice Feeney

Alice Feeney is a writer and journalist. She has spent 15 years with BBC News where she worked as a Reporter, News Editor, Arts and Entertainment Producer and One O'Clock News Producer. Alice is a recent graduate of the Faber Academy Writing a Novel course. Alice has lived in London and Sydney and has now settled in the Surrey countryside, where she lives with her husband and dog.

More books by this author
Author 'Like for Like' recommendations

Loading similar books...
Loading other formats...

Book Info

Publication date

23rd March 2017


Alice Feeney

More books by Alice Feeney
Author 'Like for Like'

Author's Website

Author's Facebook Latest

Loading facebook updates...
Loading twitter updates...


HQ an imprint of Harlequin (UK)


384 pages


Thriller / Suspense
Crime / Mystery
Debuts of the Month
Family Drama
eBook Favourites

Thriller / suspense



You'll always find what you never knew you were looking for and you're always spoilt for choice.

Helen Jones

They are bright, breezy and eager to offer a great book, then genuinely listen/respect the review one writes.

Maggie Crane

I love 'try before you buy' extracts. I love the wide range of authors & genres. I love the author info. I love books!

Judi Davies

The best new books on the market, reviewed honestly, to give your readers the best choices.

Julie Cook

Lovereading helps me decide what real people read.

Kerry Bridges

What can I say, the clue is in the title Lovereading - and awesome books.

Sarah Davis

I love Lovereading for the wonderful like for like author recommendations and for highlighting new books, it's a great resource for readers!


If you LOVE reading then you will love LOVEREADING! It's a 'novel' idea. Seriously though I could not recommend them enough.

Rebecca Whymark