The Ranger

by Ace Atkins

Part of the Quinn Colson Series

Action / Adventure / Spy / Espionage eBooks of the Month Thriller and Suspense

LoveReading View on The Ranger

The Ranger, first in a new series featuring Quinn Colson an ex-army Ranger adjusting to life in a rugged and corrupt Mississippi town, is a contemporary book with a dash of classic western and noir. This exciting thriller was shortlisted for the prestigious Edgar Best Novel Award in 2012 and is highly recommended.
The author, Ace Atkins, is much admired by other crime authors such as Michael Connelly and Elmore Leonard and it is easy to see why once you start reading.


Click here to view Ace Atkins' new book, The Lost Ones.

The Ranger Synopsis

Northeast Mississippi is hill country, rugged and notorious for outlaws since the Civil War, where killings are as commonplace as they were in the Old West. To Quinn Colson, just back from a tour of Afghanistan, it's home. But home has changed. Quinn returns to a place overrun by corruption. His uncle, the county sheriff, is dead - officially it was suicide, but others whisper murder. In the days that follow, it will be up to Colson, now an Army Ranger, to discover the truth - not only about his uncle, but also about his family, friends, hometown and himself. But once the truth is uncovered, there is no turning back.

The Ranger Press Reviews

'I have always been impressed with (jealous of) how easy Ace Atkins makes it look. The Ranger is by far his best work...I hope Quinn Colson and Lillie Virgil stick around for a good long time.' -- Michael Connelly


'This exciting thriller leaves you looking forward to the ranger's return.' Sunday Telegraph


'Atkins is one of the finest crime and thriller writers working today, admired by none other than Elmore Leonard and Michael Connelly, and this, his ninth thriller, proves his talent...Superbly told, in whip-crack prose that echoes Leonard, you never want it to end.' Daily Mail


'Atkins can run rings around most of the names in the crime field. -- Elmore Leonard Atkins has written a bunch of great thrillers, but this one sets up a series that should push him to the top of the bestseller list.' -- John Sandford

If you loved this, you might like these...

The Midnight Line (Jack Reacher 22)
No Middle Name The Complete Collected Jack Reacher Stories
The Midnight Line (Jack Reacher 22)
No Middle Name: Jack Reacher Story Collection The Complete Collected Jack Reacher Stories

All versions of this book

ISBN: 9781472109750
Publication date: 05/09/2013
Publisher: Corsair an imprint of Constable and Robinson
Format: Paperback

Book Information

ISBN: 9781472109750
Publication date: 5th September 2013
Author: Ace Atkins
Publisher: Corsair an imprint of Constable and Robinson
Format: Paperback
Pagination: 368 pages
Genres: Action Adventure / Spy, eBook Favourites, Thriller / Suspense,
Categories: Crime & mystery,

About Ace Atkins

A former journalist who cut his teeth as a crime reporter in the newsroom of The Tampa Tribune, Ace Atkins published his first novel, Crossroad Blues, at 27 and became a full-time novelist at 30. While at the Tribune, Ace earned a Pulitzer Prize nomination for a feature series based on his investigation into a forgotten murder of the 1950s. The story became the core of his critically acclaimed novel, White Shadow, which earned raves from noted authors and critics. In his next novels, Wicked City, Devil's Garden, and Infamous, blended first-hand interviews and original research into police and court records with ...

More About Ace Atkins

More Books By Ace Atkins

Cover for The Broken Places by Ace Atkins
Cover for The Lost Ones by Ace Atkins
Cover for The Lost Ones by Ace Atkins
View All Books By Ace Atkins

Share this book