twitter newgen books for YA readers likeyoulove
Search our site
Moonlight Over Manhattan by Sarah Morgan Read the opening extract of the brand new Sarah Morgan book before its publication on 05/10/2017

Lie Still by Julia Heaberlin
  

Lie Still

Thriller / Suspense   Crime / Mystery   Relationship Stories   eBook Favourites   eBook Favourites   

RRP £7.99

Download an extract Discuss on Facebook Discuss this book on our Crime/Mystery/Thriller Facebook group Share this book

Selected by Sarah Broadhurst

Secrets, lies, rape and a secretive band of crazy, super rich Texan wives make this murder mystery cum family drama a pretty riveting read.

Pregnant with their longed for first child Emily and Mike leave New York for the promise of more space and less stress in the small Texan town of Clairmont.... But hidden secrets from Emily’s past and dangerous secrets from the present collide with deadly consequences.

This follow-up to Playing Dead is great for fans of Sophie Hannah or Nicci French.

If you like Julia Heaberlin you might also like to read books by Cath Staincliffe, Sophie Hannah and Harlan Coben.

Who is Sarah Broadhurst

Win a signed copy of stunning debut Blue Light Yokohama

We have 10 signed copies (using signed book plates) of Blue Light Yokohama, a stunning debut novel. It is a beautifully plotted police procedural set in Japan by Nicolas Obregon, a new British author. Evocative and serpentine, this marks the debut of a fresh new voice and a remarkable maverick detective with a difference.

To have a chance of winning this fantastic prize, click the button below. Please note that this draw is open only for UK residents and is free to enter, multiple entries from the same email address will only be counted once.

The draw closes on 6 November 2017. The winners will be notified by 12th November 2017.

Good luck!

Enter prize draw Draw closes: 06/11/2017

Synopsis

Lie Still by Julia Heaberlin

A New Town - Clairmont, Texas is home to some of the South's most wealthy and established families. When Emily Page and her husband Mike move there from New York City, so Mike can become the new sheriff, they believe that it's a place where they can build a new life for themselves. A New Start - Pregnant Emily is soon invited to a prestigious lunch hosted by local doyenne Caroline Warwick. There she meets Clairmont's rich housewives, but soon discovers that under the veneer of respectability lies shifting loyalties and dangerous secrets. When Caroline Warwick disappears, Emily wonders if any of the well-bred Southern ladies in Caroline's circle could have wanted her harmed. What was the hold that Caroline had over them and what was Caroline herself trying to hide? As Emily begins to search for clues about Caroline's disappearance, secrets from her own troubled past start to come to light. Have her problems followed her to Clairmont, or is there something more sinister going on closer to home?

Reviews

'There's an underlying tension running through this psychological thriller that I found addictive. It was well set up, beautifully written and full of atmosphere ... She knows how to plot and how to keep the reader guessing.'
Mari Hannah

'Lie Still is a potent blast of 21st-century Southern Gothic. Julia Heaberlin brings a poet's craft and conviction to her storytelling ... She has captured the raw and dangerous Texan sunshine and sprinkled it liberally across the pages of her highly accomplished second thriller.'
Kate Rhodes

'Heaberlin expertly spins out a tale of lies and deceit that will keep the reader guessing.'
Publisher

's Weekly 'Heaberlin's depiction of one tight-knit Texas community is both culturally savvy and politically astute. Her group of rich white women desperate to climb the social ladder is funny as well as sad ... a carefully wrapped package of Texas soap opera, social and political expose, and well-paced thriller.'
Booklist

About the Author

Julia Heaberlin

Julia Heaberlin is an award-winning journalist who has worked for such newspapers as the Fort Worth Star-Telegram,The Detroit News and The Dallas Morning News. She was inspired to write her first thriller, Playing Dead, after receiving a letter from a stranger who wondered if she was her daughter, who had been kidnapped years before. Julia lives in Texas near Dallas/Fort Worth with her journalist husband and a son.

Author photo © Jill Johnson

More books by this author
Author 'Like for Like' recommendations

Loading similar books...
Loading other formats...

Book Info

Publication date

1st August 2013

Author

Julia Heaberlin

More books by Julia Heaberlin
Author 'Like for Like'
    recommendations

Author's Website

juliaheaberlin.com/

Author's Facebook Latest

Loading facebook updates...
Loading twitter updates...

Publisher

Faber and Faber Crime an imprint of Faber and Faber

Format

Paperback
384 pages
Interest Age: From 0 to 0 years

Categories

Thriller / Suspense
Crime / Mystery
Relationship Stories
eBook Favourites
eBook Favourites

Crime & mystery
Thriller / suspense

ISBN

9780571299027

For me, to read is to learn, to reflect, to escape, to think, to contemplate and my time for space and calm.

Sally Ellsmore

Lovereading tells me about new books before they hit the shelves, lets me find other authors I may like and has great prize draws!

Sheila Dale

The best new books on the market, reviewed honestly, to give your readers the best choices.

Julie Cook

Lovereading are lovely people who send me lovely books. What's not to love?

Gavin Dimmock

Lovereading is pitched at just the right level for all the various types of people who enjoy reading in its many forms.

Pam Woodburn

My horizons have been broadened by some of the books I have been lucky to review and I expect it to be no different in the future.

Daran Bellingham

Lovereading is a world of books. It has everything you need from new to old and much loved classic books. It even give you recommendations!

Kate Thurston

My favourite thing about is the 'like for like' page this has really introduced me to some good reads! That and lots of honest reviews.

Sam Lewis

Lovereading4kids

Lovereading4schools