win prizes
Search our site
Are You Sleeping by Kathleen Barber Read the opening extract of the brand new Kathleen Barber book before its publication on 27/12/2017

Lie Still by Julia Heaberlin
  

Lie Still

Thriller / Suspense   Crime / Mystery   Relationship Stories   eBook Favourites   eBook Favourites   
Download an extract Discuss on Facebook Discuss this book on our Crime/Mystery/Thriller Facebook group Share this book

Selected by Sarah Broadhurst

Secrets, lies, rape and a secretive band of crazy, super rich Texan wives make this murder mystery cum family drama a pretty riveting read.

Pregnant with their longed for first child Emily and Mike leave New York for the promise of more space and less stress in the small Texan town of Clairmont.... But hidden secrets from Emily’s past and dangerous secrets from the present collide with deadly consequences.

This follow-up to Playing Dead is great for fans of Sophie Hannah or Nicci French.

If you like Julia Heaberlin you might also like to read books by Julie Corbin, Cath Staincliffe and Sophie Hannah.

Who is Sarah Broadhurst

Win a Family Break to Salisbury!

Don’t miss out! Enter to win a family break to Salisbury!

Here at Lovereading.co.uk and Lovereading4kids.co.uk we are delighted to be giving you a chance to win a wonderful family break. You could see yourself indulging in the finest food and slumbering comfortably into one of the grand rooms at The Red Lion Salisbury for two nights. The Red Lion Hotel is located in medieval city of Salisbury, which is home to all your favourite stores as well as independent shops, restaurants, cafes and parks and green spaces. Nearby is Stonehenge, Salisbury Plain and numerous sites of historic and archaeological interest.

There are many seasonal events in Salisbury, and you can find out what’s on here. You will also receive a family ticket to Sir Harold Hillier Gardens, the gardens are especially beautiful in the winter, with bold coloured stems, scents, and fabulous foliage, you can be sure to be impressed. For the children there is also a play park, and you can stop off in the Victorian tea room to warm up and treat yourself to a traditional cream tea.

To have a chance of winning this fantastic prize, click the button below. Please note that this draw is open only for UK residents and is free to enter, multiple entries from the same email address will only be counted once. Entries close 31st January 2018.

Good luck!

Terms and Conditions

Red Lion: Two night stay includes breakfast for two adults and up to two children sharing a family room. Subject to availability and cannot be exchanged or redeemed for cash value. Not to be used in combination with any other offer. Valid until 1st Dec 2018 and excludes bank holidays.

Sir Harold Hillier Gardens: Valid for day entry, Not to be used for special events or group entry. Voucher is not transferable or refundable, no Cash Value. Ticket must be redeemed on entry. Valid until 31 Dec 2018. Gardens open daily from 10am – closed Christmas Day and Boxing Day. Prize admits 2 adults and accompanying children Under 17 FREE to Sir Harold Hillier Gardens.

Enter prize draw Draw closes: 31/01/2018

Synopsis

Lie Still by Julia Heaberlin

A New Town - Clairmont, Texas is home to some of the South's most wealthy and established families. When Emily Page and her husband Mike move there from New York City, so Mike can become the new sheriff, they believe that it's a place where they can build a new life for themselves. A New Start - Pregnant Emily is soon invited to a prestigious lunch hosted by local doyenne Caroline Warwick. There she meets Clairmont's rich housewives, but soon discovers that under the veneer of respectability lies shifting loyalties and dangerous secrets. When Caroline Warwick disappears, Emily wonders if any of the well-bred Southern ladies in Caroline's circle could have wanted her harmed. What was the hold that Caroline had over them and what was Caroline herself trying to hide? As Emily begins to search for clues about Caroline's disappearance, secrets from her own troubled past start to come to light. Have her problems followed her to Clairmont, or is there something more sinister going on closer to home?

Reviews

'There's an underlying tension running through this psychological thriller that I found addictive. It was well set up, beautifully written and full of atmosphere ... She knows how to plot and how to keep the reader guessing.'
Mari Hannah

'Lie Still is a potent blast of 21st-century Southern Gothic. Julia Heaberlin brings a poet's craft and conviction to her storytelling ... She has captured the raw and dangerous Texan sunshine and sprinkled it liberally across the pages of her highly accomplished second thriller.'
Kate Rhodes

'Heaberlin expertly spins out a tale of lies and deceit that will keep the reader guessing.'
Publisher

's Weekly 'Heaberlin's depiction of one tight-knit Texas community is both culturally savvy and politically astute. Her group of rich white women desperate to climb the social ladder is funny as well as sad ... a carefully wrapped package of Texas soap opera, social and political expose, and well-paced thriller.'
Booklist

About the Author

Julia Heaberlin

Julia Heaberlin is an award-winning journalist who has worked for such newspapers as the Fort Worth Star-Telegram,The Detroit News and The Dallas Morning News. She was inspired to write her first thriller, Playing Dead, after receiving a letter from a stranger who wondered if she was her daughter, who had been kidnapped years before. Julia lives in Texas near Dallas/Fort Worth with her journalist husband and a son.

Author photo © Jill Johnson

More books by this author
Author 'Like for Like' recommendations

Loading similar books...
Loading other formats...

Book Info

Publication date

1st August 2013

Author

Julia Heaberlin

More books by Julia Heaberlin
Author 'Like for Like'
    recommendations

Author's Website

juliaheaberlin.com/

Author's Facebook Latest

Loading facebook updates...
Loading twitter updates...

Publisher

Faber and Faber Crime an imprint of Faber and Faber

Format

Paperback
384 pages

Categories

Thriller / Suspense
Crime / Mystery
Relationship Stories
eBook Favourites
eBook Favourites

Crime & mystery
Thriller / suspense

ISBN

9780571299027

Lovereading is a wonderful way to expand my literary horizons, discover inspiring authors & get the chance to read new novels first. #loveit

Zarina de Ruiter

The selections are so varied and the reader reviews are so helpful. A fantastic website for those who love books.

Ann Quintilla

Love Reading - it not only does what it says on the tin, it does it with Jam on!!

Maz Tucker

As for why I'd recommend Lovereading, it's simple - it's a great place to get information and reviews about new books!

Margaret Freeman

I love Lovereading because I get to read great books and then get to tell everybody how good they are.

Sally Doel

I love 'try before you buy' extracts. I love the wide range of authors & genres. I love the author info. I love books!

Judi Davies

My favourite thing about is the 'like for like' page this has really introduced me to some good reads! That and lots of honest reviews.

Sam Lewis

I love that Lovereading handpicks very special debut reads.

Magda North

Lovereading4kids

Lovereading4schools