Are you between 5 and 25? If so, enter the Wicked Young Writer Awards NOW - click here for details...

likeyoulove
Search our site
Last Letter from Istanbul by Lucy Foley Read the opening extract of the brand new Lucy Foley book before its publication on 19/03/2018

Lie Still by Julia Heaberlin
  

Lie Still

Thriller / Suspense   Crime / Mystery   Relationship Stories   eBook Favourites   
Download an extract Discuss on Facebook Discuss this book on our Crime/Mystery/Thriller Facebook group Share this book

Selected by Sarah Broadhurst

Secrets, lies, rape and a secretive band of crazy, super rich Texan wives make this murder mystery cum family drama a pretty riveting read.

Pregnant with their longed for first child Emily and Mike leave New York for the promise of more space and less stress in the small Texan town of Clairmont.... But hidden secrets from Emily’s past and dangerous secrets from the present collide with deadly consequences.

This follow-up to Playing Dead is great for fans of Sophie Hannah or Nicci French.

If you like Julia Heaberlin you might also like to read books by Cath Staincliffe, Sophie Hannah and Harlan Coben.

Who is Sarah Broadhurst

Synopsis

Lie Still by Julia Heaberlin

A New Town - Clairmont, Texas is home to some of the South's most wealthy and established families. When Emily Page and her husband Mike move there from New York City, so Mike can become the new sheriff, they believe that it's a place where they can build a new life for themselves. A New Start - Pregnant Emily is soon invited to a prestigious lunch hosted by local doyenne Caroline Warwick. There she meets Clairmont's rich housewives, but soon discovers that under the veneer of respectability lies shifting loyalties and dangerous secrets. When Caroline Warwick disappears, Emily wonders if any of the well-bred Southern ladies in Caroline's circle could have wanted her harmed. What was the hold that Caroline had over them and what was Caroline herself trying to hide? As Emily begins to search for clues about Caroline's disappearance, secrets from her own troubled past start to come to light. Have her problems followed her to Clairmont, or is there something more sinister going on closer to home?

Reviews

'There's an underlying tension running through this psychological thriller that I found addictive. It was well set up, beautifully written and full of atmosphere ... She knows how to plot and how to keep the reader guessing.'
Mari Hannah

'Lie Still is a potent blast of 21st-century Southern Gothic. Julia Heaberlin brings a poet's craft and conviction to her storytelling ... She has captured the raw and dangerous Texan sunshine and sprinkled it liberally across the pages of her highly accomplished second thriller.'
Kate Rhodes

'Heaberlin expertly spins out a tale of lies and deceit that will keep the reader guessing.'
Publisher

's Weekly 'Heaberlin's depiction of one tight-knit Texas community is both culturally savvy and politically astute. Her group of rich white women desperate to climb the social ladder is funny as well as sad ... a carefully wrapped package of Texas soap opera, social and political expose, and well-paced thriller.'
Booklist

About the Author

Julia Heaberlin

Julia Heaberlin is an award-winning journalist who has worked for such newspapers as the Fort Worth Star-Telegram,The Detroit News and The Dallas Morning News. She was inspired to write her first thriller, Playing Dead, after receiving a letter from a stranger who wondered if she was her daughter, who had been kidnapped years before. Julia lives in Texas near Dallas/Fort Worth with her journalist husband and a son.

Author photo © Jill Johnson

More books by this author
Author 'Like for Like' recommendations

Loading similar books...
Loading other formats...

Book Info

Publication date

1st August 2013

Author

Julia Heaberlin

More books by Julia Heaberlin
Author 'Like for Like'
    recommendations

Author's Website

juliaheaberlin.com/

Author's Facebook Latest

Loading facebook updates...
Loading twitter updates...

Publisher

Faber and Faber Crime an imprint of Faber and Faber

Format

Paperback
384 pages

Categories

Thriller / Suspense
Crime / Mystery
Relationship Stories
eBook Favourites

Crime & mystery
Thriller / suspense

ISBN

9780571299027

My favourite thing about is the 'like for like' page this has really introduced me to some good reads! That and lots of honest reviews.

Sam Lewis

I love 'try before you buy' extracts. I love the wide range of authors & genres. I love the author info. I love books!

Judi Davies

The books for review are always great reads, brilliantly written, and introduces me to a huge variety of, established and new, authors.

Lesley Hart

With literary excellence, humour and drama, Lovereading's got value and is a real stress-calmer!

Siobhan McDowell

What can I say, the clue is in the title Lovereading - and awesome books.

Sarah Davis

It's a lively, independent website with reviews, recommendations and more - with a huge range of books available to buy in all formats.

Alison Layland

It has opened my eyes to different authors and genres. Just log on and try, you will be surprised and not want for reading material again.

Jocelyn Garvey

A well laid out site, I love the fact that is separates paranormal fiction from fantasy and horror, which other sites don't.

Jen Rainbow

Lovereading4kids

Lovereading4schools