books of the month
Search our site
Are You Sleeping by Kathleen Barber Read the opening extract of the brand new Kathleen Barber book before its publication on 27/12/2017

Reader Reviewed
The Lost Boy by Camilla Lackberg
  

The Lost Boy

Part of the Patrik Hedstrom and Erica Falck Series
Crime / Mystery   Books of the Month   Thriller / Suspense   eBook Favourites   eBook Favourites   
Download an extract Discuss on Facebook Discuss this book on our Crime/Mystery/Thriller Facebook group Share this book

Selected by Sarah Broadhurst

One of our Books of the Year 2013.

The harrowing subject of domestic violence and its destructive consequences are expertly handled in Camilla Lackberg's new psychological thriller which will be irresistible for fans of Stieg Larsson and Jo Nesbo. Mats Sverin was Fjallbacka’s financial director on a regeneration project worth millions. When he is found murdered, Detective Patrik Hedstrom must find answers. Is it just a coincidence that his high school sweetheart, Nathalie, has returned to the area? What does she know about who Mats really was? As the murder investigation draws a blank, the police have to dig deeper – and before long, everyone’s lives will be dragged into the light ...

With a plot that tightens like a noose throughout the book it is pretty hard to put down.

August 2013 Book of the Month.

reader reviews

In addition to our Lovereading expert opinion for The Lost Boy a small number of Lovereading members were lucky enough to be invited to review this title - 'The Lost Boy is a delight from start to finish, in the course of which Ms Lackberg weaves together a seemingly disparate series of plot lines with her customary skill.' - Chris Nolan. Scroll down to read more reviews.

If you like Camilla Lackberg you might also like to read books by Anne Holt, Stieg Larsson and Jo Nesbo.

Who is Sarah Broadhurst

Win a Family Break to Salisbury!

Don’t miss out! Enter to win a family break to Salisbury!

Here at Lovereading.co.uk and Lovereading4kids.co.uk we have joined with VisitWiltshire. You could see yourself indulging in the finest food and slumbering comfortably into one of the grand rooms at The Red Lion Salisbury for two nights. The Red Lion Hotel is located in medieval city of Salisbury, which is home to all your favourite stores as well as independent shops, restaurants, cafes and parks and green spaces. Nearby is Stonehenge, Salisbury Plain and numerous sites of historic and archaeological interest.

There are many seasonal events in Salisbury, and you can find out what’s on here. You will also receive a family ticket to Sir Harold Hillier Gardens, the gardens are especially beautiful in the winter, with bold coloured stems, scents, and fabulous foliage, you can be sure to be impressed. For the children there is also a play park, and you can stop off in the Victorian tea room to warm up and treat yourself to a traditional cream tea.

To have a chance of winning this fantastic prize, click the button below. Please note that this draw is open only for UK residents and is free to enter, multiple entries from the same email address will only be counted once. Entries close 31st January 2018.

Good luck!

Terms and Conditions

Red Lion: Two night stay includes breakfast for two adults and up to two children sharing a family room. Subject to availability and cannot be exchanged or redeemed for cash value. Not to be used in combination with any other offer. Valid until 1st Dec 2018 and excludes bank holidays.

Sir Harold Hillier Gardens: Valid for day entry, Not to be used for special events or group entry. Voucher is not transferable or refundable, no Cash Value. Ticket must be redeemed on entry. Valid until 31 Dec 2018. Gardens open daily from 10am – closed Christmas Day and Boxing Day. Prize admits 2 adults and accompanying children Under 17 FREE to Sir Harold Hillier Gardens.

Enter prize draw Draw closes: 31/01/2018

Synopsis

The Lost Boy by Camilla Lackberg

No. 1 international bestseller and Swedish crime sensation Camilla Lackberg's new psychological thriller - irresistible for fans of Stieg Larsson and Jo Nesbo. Mats Sverin was Fjallbacka's financial director on a regeneration project worth millions. When he is found murdered, Detective Patrik Hedstrom must find answers. It seems Mats was a man who everybody liked yet nobody really knew - a man with something to hide...Is it just a coincidence that his high school sweetheart, Nathalie, has returned to the area? What does she know about who Mats really was? However, Nathalie has her own secret. Something has made her and her five-year-old son flee to their remote family home on the 'Ghost Isle'. And that is where she'll stay and shield her son from the evils of the world. But, as the murder investigation draws a blank, the police have to dig deeper - and before long, everyone's lives will be dragged into the light ...

Reviews

We have asked a select number of members and browsers to review The lost Boy. You can read their reviews below.

Jillian McFrederick - 'It’s not just a Scandinavian psychological thriller but the continuing story of a community and a lifestyle with a few crimes ancient and modern thrown in...Highly recommended to all those who love Wallander and all things Scandinavian! Click here to read the full review.

Barbara Goldie - 'Hooked from the first page “it was only when she placed her hands on the steering wheel that she saw they were bloody”. This is such a strong opening sentence that really pulls you in.' Click here to read the full review.

Reba Khatun - 'The Lost Boy left me with shivers down my spine...I felt incredible sadness and it's an understatement to say this book will be one I will remember for a very long, long time.' Click here to read the full review.

Kathy Howell - 'I enjoy reading detective novels...The story is well told and has ghosts as well to add to the atmosphere. I will certainly be looking for more by this author.' Click here to read the full review.

Ray Orgill - 'Here Camilla Lackberg demonstrates her skills with an investigation set in Sweden and which keeps the reader wondering through to the last chapter.' Click here to read the full review.

Magda North - 'Camilla Lackberg is surely the yummy mummy of Scandi crime... A good holiday read.' Click here to read the full review.

Nicola Crisp - 'This book throws you in at the deep end; with bloody hands in the opening sentence, rapidly followed by a funeral. You will be pulled in straight away, wanting to know more.' Click here to read the full review.

Angela Hunt - 'It is an absorbing story, with true to life characters. The story line is strong, and they take the reader along with them. I HIGHLY recommend this book. It’s an absolute cracker.' Click here to read the full review.

Chris Nolan - 'The Lost Boy is a delight from start to finish, in the course of which Ms Lackberg weaves together a seemingly disparate series of plot lines with her customary skill.' Click here to read the full review.

Maggie Crane - 'This book is well written, flowing from one scene to the next, carrying the reader along until the final chapter culminates in a truly brilliant ending.' Click here to read the full review.

Phylippa Smithson - 'A compelling and absorbing story from yet another very competent writer from the Nordics region; The Lost Boy encapsulates a number of modern day themes whilst unraveling a murder in a small community.' Click here to read the full review.

Suzanne Marsh - 'I am a fan of Camilla Lackberg books. Having previously read The Drowning, which I enjoyed very much, I found The Lost Boy to be the very best novel by Camilla to date.' Click here to read the full review.

Carol Peace - 'Will a family secret lead to the murderer? I would recommend The Lost Boy, but be aware that this is one book that does need quite a bit of thoughtfulness. It is worth the read.' Click here to read the full review.

Caroline Mathews - 'Not for me, I'm afraid - very hard to have any idea what's going on unless you've read her previous novels.' Click here to read the full review.


__________________________________

Praise for Camilla Lackberg:

'The hottest female writer in Sweden
Independent

'Heart-stopping and heart-warming ... a masterclass in Scandinavian crime writing'
Val McDermid

'Pacy ... with flashing insight into the dark places of the psyche'
Sunday Times

'Lackberg is an expert at mixing scenes of domestic cosiness with blood-curdling horror'
Guardian

'Both chilling and thrilling'
Sun

About the Author

Camilla Lackberg

Born in 1974, Camilla Lackberg graduated from Gothenburg University of Economics, before moving to Stockholm where she worked for a few years as an economist. However, a course in creative crime writing became the trigger to a drastic change of career. Her first six novels all became Swedish No 1 bestsellers. She lives in a suburb of Stockholm with her three children.

Author photo © Alma Alexander

More books by this author
Author 'Like for Like' recommendations

Loading similar books...
Loading other formats...

Book Info

Publication date

1st August 2013

Author

Camilla Lackberg

More books by Camilla Lackberg
Author 'Like for Like'
    recommendations

Author's Website

//www.camillalackberg.com/

Author's Facebook Latest

Loading facebook updates...

Publisher

Harper an imprint of HarperCollins Publishers

Format

Paperback
512 pages

Categories

Crime / Mystery
Books of the Month
Thriller / Suspense
eBook Favourites
eBook Favourites

Crime & mystery

ISBN

9780007419579

They are bright, breezy and eager to offer a great book, then genuinely listen/respect the review one writes.

Maggie Crane

Lovereading tells me about new books before they hit the shelves, lets me find other authors I may like and has great prize draws!

Sheila Dale

My horizons have been broadened by some of the books I have been lucky to review and I expect it to be no different in the future.

Daran Bellingham

It is a website dedicated to those who adore reading It really is a one stop shop for book lovers. Love it!

Edel Waugh

Discover new authors and enjoy old favourites; oodles of literary gems to uncover at Lovereading with candid reviews from real reviewers.

Emily Wright

If you love reading, then you'll love Lovereading! Full of tips & info for every discerning reader.

Lynne Rapson

It's a lively, independent website with reviews, recommendations and more - with a huge range of books available to buy in all formats.

Alison Layland

Lovereading is pitched at just the right level for all the various types of people who enjoy reading in its many forms.

Pam Woodburn

Lovereading4kids

Lovereading4schools