when i was invisible lyrebird Harry Potter House Eds
Search our site
Fools and Mortals by Bernard Cornwell Read the opening extract of the brand new Bernard Cornwell book before its publication on 19/10/2017

The Lost Boy by Camilla Lackberg
  

The Lost Boy

Part of the Patrick Hedstrom and Erica Falck Series
Crime / Mystery   Books of the Month   Thriller / Suspense   eBook Favourites   eBook Favourites   

RRP £12.99

Notify me
when in stock

As soon as this book is back in stock we will send you an email.

Download an extract Discuss on Facebook Discuss this book on our Crime/Mystery/Thriller Facebook group Share this book

Lovereading view...

March 2013 Book of the Month and eBook of the Month.

The harrowing subject of domestic violence and its destructive consequences are expertly handled in Camilla Lackberg's new psychological thriller which will be irresistible for fans of Stieg Larsson and Jo Nesbo. Mats Sverin was Fjallbacka’s financial director on a regeneration project worth millions. When he is found murdered, Detective Patrik Hedstrom must find answers. Is it just a coincidence that his high school sweetheart, Nathalie, has returned to the area? What does she know about who Mats really was? As the murder investigation draws a blank, the police have to dig deeper – and before long, everyone’s lives will be dragged into the light ...

With a plot that tightens like a noose throughout the book it is pretty hard to put down.

If you like Camilla Lackberg you might also like to read books by Stieg Larsson, Jo Nesbo and Henning Mankell.

Win a Limited Edition book proof of a Karin Slaughter thriller

We have 50 Limited Edition book proofs to give away of The Good Daughter, the stunning new standalone thriller, with a chilling edge of psychological suspense, from the No. 1 bestselling author Karin Slaughter. This is what our editorial expert said about it - ‘The Good Daughter’ is a breathtaking whammy of a read, pure escapism at its best, and I can highly recommend it! ~ Liz Robinson

To have a chance of winning this fantastic prize, click the button below. Please note that this draw is open only for UK residents and is free to enter, multiple entries from the same email address will only be counted once.

The draw closes on 31 October 2017. The winners will be notified by 9 November 2017.

Good luck!

Enter prize draw Draw closes: 31/10/2017

Synopsis

The Lost Boy by Camilla Lackberg

On a late summer's night, a young woman jumps in her car, her hands slippery with blood on the steering wheel. Taking her five-year-old son, Nathalie flees to the only safe haven she knows: the island of Graskar off the coast of Fjallbacka...Meanwhile, Detective Patrik Hedstrom has barely stepped foot inside his office following a lengthy sick leave before he catches a murder investigation. A man has been murdered in his home: the victim, Mats Sverin, was the council's financial director, heading up a regeneration project worth millions. But when Patrik and his team start digging into the dead man's life, all they can uncover is unanswered questions. Why was Mats in such a rush to return to his home town of Fjallbacka after years in Gothenburg? And is it pure coincidence that Mats's childhood sweetheart Nathalie has also suddenly returned to the area? Mats visited Nathalie on Graskar before his death. The locals call the island 'The Ghost Isle' - they say that it's haunted, and that the dead have something to tell the living. But will anyone get close enough to uncover the dark secrets that lurk there?

Reviews

Praise for Camilla Lackberg:

'The hottest female writer in Sweden
Independent

'Heart-stopping and heart-warming ... a masterclass in Scandinavian crime writing'
Val McDermid

'Pacy ... with flashing insight into the dark places of the psyche'
Sunday Times

'Lackberg is an expert at mixing scenes of domestic cosiness with blood-curdling horror'
Guardian

'Both chilling and thrilling'
Sun

About the Author

Camilla Lackberg

Born in 1974, Camilla Lackberg graduated from Gothenburg University of Economics, before moving to Stockholm where she worked for a few years as an economist. However, a course in creative crime writing became the trigger to a drastic change of career. Her first six novels all became Swedish No 1 bestsellers. She lives in a suburb of Stockholm with her three children.

Author photo © Alma Alexander

More books by this author
Author 'Like for Like' recommendations

Loading similar books...
Loading other formats...

Book Info

Publication date

14th March 2013

Author

Camilla Lackberg

More books by Camilla Lackberg
Author 'Like for Like'
    recommendations

Author's Website

//www.camillalackberg.com/

Author's Facebook Latest

Loading facebook updates...

Publisher

HarperCollins Publishers Ltd an imprint of HarperCollins Publishers

Format

Hardback
400 pages

Categories

Crime / Mystery
Books of the Month
Thriller / Suspense
eBook Favourites
eBook Favourites

Crime & mystery

ISBN

9780007473212

Lovereading helps me decide what real people read.

Kerry Bridges

A well laid out site, I love the fact that is separates paranormal fiction from fantasy and horror, which other sites don't.

Jen Rainbow

Their sending me my first book to review 18 months ago re-awakened my fondness for reading, since then I have purchased some real gems.

Barry Griffiths

You'll always find what you never knew you were looking for and you're always spoilt for choice.

Helen Jones

I love 'try before you buy' extracts. I love the wide range of authors & genres. I love the author info. I love books!

Judi Davies

I love that Lovereading handpicks very special debut reads.

Magda North

As for why I'd recommend Lovereading, it's simple - it's a great place to get information and reviews about new books!

Margaret Freeman

It has enriched my leisure time by introducing me to a world of books which I would not have previously considered.

Val Rowe

Lovereading4kids

Lovereading4schools