twitter
Search our site
Are You Sleeping by Kathleen Barber Read the opening extract of the brand new Kathleen Barber book before its publication on 27/12/2017

The Lost Boy by Camilla Lackberg
  

The Lost Boy

Crime / Mystery   Books of the Month   Thriller / Suspense   eBook Favourites   eBook Favourites   
Notify me
when in stock

As soon as this book is back in stock we will send you an email.

Download an extract Discuss on Facebook Discuss this book on our Crime/Mystery/Thriller Facebook group Share this book

Lovereading view...

March 2013 Book of the Month and eBook of the Month.

The harrowing subject of domestic violence and its destructive consequences are expertly handled in Camilla Lackberg's new psychological thriller which will be irresistible for fans of Stieg Larsson and Jo Nesbo. Mats Sverin was Fjallbacka’s financial director on a regeneration project worth millions. When he is found murdered, Detective Patrik Hedstrom must find answers. Is it just a coincidence that his high school sweetheart, Nathalie, has returned to the area? What does she know about who Mats really was? As the murder investigation draws a blank, the police have to dig deeper – and before long, everyone’s lives will be dragged into the light ...

With a plot that tightens like a noose throughout the book it is pretty hard to put down.

If you like Camilla Lackberg you might also like to read books by Anne Holt, Stieg Larsson and Jo Nesbo.

Win a Family Break to Salisbury!

Don’t miss out! Enter to win a family break to Salisbury!

Here at Lovereading.co.uk and Lovereading4kids.co.uk we have joined with VisitWiltshire. You could see yourself indulging in the finest food and slumbering comfortably into one of the grand rooms at The Red Lion Salisbury for two nights. The Red Lion Hotel is located in medieval city of Salisbury, which is home to all your favourite stores as well as independent shops, restaurants, cafes and parks and green spaces. Nearby is Stonehenge, Salisbury Plain and numerous sites of historic and archaeological interest.

There are many seasonal events in Salisbury, and you can find out what’s on here. You will also receive a family ticket to Sir Harold Hillier Gardens, the gardens are especially beautiful in the winter, with bold coloured stems, scents, and fabulous foliage, you can be sure to be impressed. For the children there is also a play park, and you can stop off in the Victorian tea room to warm up and treat yourself to a traditional cream tea.

To have a chance of winning this fantastic prize, click the button below. Please note that this draw is open only for UK residents and is free to enter, multiple entries from the same email address will only be counted once. Entries close 31st January 2018.

Good luck!

Terms and Conditions

Red Lion: Two night stay includes breakfast for two adults and up to two children sharing a family room. Subject to availability and cannot be exchanged or redeemed for cash value. Not to be used in combination with any other offer. Valid until 1st Dec 2018 and excludes bank holidays.

Sir Harold Hillier Gardens: Valid for day entry, Not to be used for special events or group entry. Voucher is not transferable or refundable, no Cash Value. Ticket must be redeemed on entry. Valid until 31 Dec 2018. Gardens open daily from 10am – closed Christmas Day and Boxing Day. Prize admits 2 adults and accompanying children Under 17 FREE to Sir Harold Hillier Gardens.

Enter prize draw Draw closes: 31/01/2018

Synopsis

The Lost Boy by Camilla Lackberg

On a late summer's night, a young woman jumps in her car, her hands slippery with blood on the steering wheel. Taking her five-year-old son, Nathalie flees to the only safe haven she knows: the island of Graskar off the coast of Fjallbacka...Meanwhile, Detective Patrik Hedstrom has barely stepped foot inside his office following a lengthy sick leave before he catches a murder investigation. A man has been murdered in his home: the victim, Mats Sverin, was the council's financial director, heading up a regeneration project worth millions. But when Patrik and his team start digging into the dead man's life, all they can uncover is unanswered questions. Why was Mats in such a rush to return to his home town of Fjallbacka after years in Gothenburg? And is it pure coincidence that Mats's childhood sweetheart Nathalie has also suddenly returned to the area? Mats visited Nathalie on Graskar before his death. The locals call the island 'The Ghost Isle' - they say that it's haunted, and that the dead have something to tell the living. But will anyone get close enough to uncover the dark secrets that lurk there?

Reviews

Praise for Camilla Lackberg:

'The hottest female writer in Sweden
Independent

'Heart-stopping and heart-warming ... a masterclass in Scandinavian crime writing'
Val McDermid

'Pacy ... with flashing insight into the dark places of the psyche'
Sunday Times

'Lackberg is an expert at mixing scenes of domestic cosiness with blood-curdling horror'
Guardian

'Both chilling and thrilling'
Sun

About the Author

Camilla Lackberg

Born in 1974, Camilla Lackberg graduated from Gothenburg University of Economics, before moving to Stockholm where she worked for a few years as an economist. However, a course in creative crime writing became the trigger to a drastic change of career. Her first six novels all became Swedish No 1 bestsellers. She lives in a suburb of Stockholm with her three children.

Author photo © Alma Alexander

More books by this author
Author 'Like for Like' recommendations

Loading similar books...
Loading other formats...

Book Info

Publication date

14th March 2013

Author

Camilla Lackberg

More books by Camilla Lackberg
Author 'Like for Like'
    recommendations

Author's Website

//www.camillalackberg.com/

Author's Facebook Latest

Loading facebook updates...

Publisher

HarperCollins Publishers Ltd an imprint of HarperCollins Publishers

Format

Hardback

Categories

Crime / Mystery
Books of the Month
Thriller / Suspense
eBook Favourites
eBook Favourites


ISBN

9780007473212

Lovereading is a world of books. It has everything you need from new to old and much loved classic books. It even give you recommendations!

Kate Thurston

Lovereading helps me decide what real people read.

Kerry Bridges

It is a website dedicated to those who adore reading It really is a one stop shop for book lovers. Love it!

Edel Waugh

Love Reading - it not only does what it says on the tin, it does it with Jam on!!

Maz Tucker

I love the honest opinions, recommendations for every genre and every reader, wish lists and Like for Like.

Amrita Dasgupta

The selections are so varied and the reader reviews are so helpful. A fantastic website for those who love books.

Ann Quintilla

Insightful reader reviews and unbiased recommendations. I don't know how I chose books before Lovereading! An essential for all book lovers.

Sarah Harper

If you love reading, then you'll love Lovereading! Full of tips & info for every discerning reader.

Lynne Rapson

Lovereading4kids

Lovereading4schools