LoveReading

Becoming a member of the LoveReading community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unadulterated book loving, with your favourite books saved to your own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop Plus lots lots more…

Find out more

Camilla Lackberg - Author

About the Author

Born in 1974, Camilla Lackberg graduated from Gothenburg University of Economics, before moving to Stockholm where she worked for a few years as an economist. However, a course in creative crime writing became the trigger to a drastic change of career. Her first six novels all became Swedish No 1 bestsellers. She lives in a suburb of Stockholm with her three children.

 

Author photo © Alma Alexander

Featured books by Camilla Lackberg

The Scent of Almonds and other stories

The Scent of Almonds and other stories

Author: Camilla Lackberg Format: Paperback Release Date: 26/02/2015

THE SCENT OF ALMONDS AND OTHER STORIES is a collection of short stories from the No.1 international bestseller Camilla Lackberg. Perfect for fans of Stieg Larsson and Jo Nesbo. THE SCENT OF ALMONDS - It's less than a week until Christmas and policeman Martin Mohlin is begrudgingly accompanying his girlfriend to a family reunion on the tiny island of Valon outside of Fjallbacka. The connection to the mainland is cut off by a snowstorm and when the domineering patriarch Ruben collapses during Christmas dinner, Martin is forced to intervene. He soon establishes that Ruben was murdered and since they are completely isolated on the island, one of the family members must be murderer...A charming novella in the style of Agatha Christie, closely linked to the Fjallbacka-series.

eBooks of the Month
Buried Angels

Buried Angels

Author: Camilla Lackberg Format: Paperback Release Date: 11/09/2014

One of our Books of the Year 2014. This is a huge, complex, dark Swedish psychological thriller which you need to pay attention to in order to sort out the names if nothing else! It gives you a back story over the generations from 1908 to today but the heart of the mystery is a strange disappearance of a family from a boarding school in the Easter holidays of 1974 leaving a one-year old baby behind – and five sons of rich parents. The boys were out fishing when whatever happened occurred. This mystery is the glue that keeps the five together into a successful adulthood, for there is something very disturbing about the old school, something that lingers on into the present. A reunion reveals all … this is thrilling stuff.

eBooks of the Month
The Lost Boy

The Lost Boy

Author: Camilla Lackberg Format: Paperback Release Date: 01/08/2013

One of our Books of the Year 2013. The harrowing subject of domestic violence and its destructive consequences are expertly handled in Camilla Lackberg's new psychological thriller which will be irresistible for fans of Stieg Larsson and Jo Nesbo. Mats Sverin was Fjallbacka’s financial director on a regeneration project worth millions. When he is found murdered, Detective Patrik Hedstrom must find answers. Is it just a coincidence that his high school sweetheart, Nathalie, has returned to the area? What does she know about who Mats really was? As the murder investigation draws a blank, the police have to dig deeper – and before long, everyone’s lives will be dragged into the light ...  With a plot that tightens like a noose throughout the book it is pretty hard to put down.   August 2013 Book of the Month.   In addition to our Lovereading expert opinion for The Lost Boy a small number of Lovereading members were lucky enough to be invited to review this title - 'The Lost Boy is a delight from start to finish, in the course of which Ms Lackberg weaves together a seemingly disparate series of plot lines with her customary skill.' - Chris Nolan. Scroll down to read more reviews.

eBooks of the Month
The Drowning

The Drowning

Author: Camilla Lackberg Format: Paperback Release Date: 19/07/2012

Camilla Lackberg continues to write top-notch, chilling crime fiction and she is especially good at capturing the effects of violent crime on small communities where on the surface everyone is friends.  This is the fifth in the series featuring crime writing wife Erica Falck and doggedly determined detective and husband Patrik Hedstrom as they jointly track a killer who seems to have a grudge against authors… If you have read Stieg Larsson or Jo Nesbo then you should try Camilla Lackberg.

eBooks of the Month
The Stranger

The Stranger

Author: Camilla Lackberg Format: Paperback Release Date: 15/03/2012

March 2012 Book of the Month. It’s ironic that Sweden always comes near the top of the best places to live yet also is increasingly the place to raise the current crop of dark and compelling thriller writers. Billed as Sweden's Agatha Christie this is Camilla Lackberg's fourth, rather disturbing, psychological thriller – again featuring the doughty detective Patrik Hedstrom. Complex atmospheric plots are her hallmark and if you have read Stieg Larsson or Jo Nesbo then you should try Camilla Lackberg.   Click here to view The Drowning, which is out in hardback. 

eBooks of the Month
The Hidden Child

The Hidden Child

Author: Camilla Lackberg Format: Paperback Release Date: 20/06/2011

August 2011 Book of the Month. Featured on The TV Book Club on More4 on 31 Jul 2011. Worldwide bestseller Camilla Lackberg weaves together another brilliant contemporary psychological thriller with the chilling struggle of Erica, a young woman who discovers within the pages of her mother's diary a painful revelation about her own past. Could what little knowledge she has be enough to endanger her husband and newborn baby? As the dark past comes to light, no one can escape the truth.This is chilling to the bone and yet by turns almost cosy.

eBooks of the Month
The Gallows Bird

The Gallows Bird

Author: Camilla Lackberg Format: Paperback Release Date: 03/03/2011

Billed as Sweden's Agatha Christie, Lackberg is resolutely modern, with a brooding sense of icy atmosphere as her doughty cop Patrik Hedstrom gets to grips with often bizarre deaths and unthreads most devious plots with guts and acute psychological insights. A great series in the making. Also see The Hidden Child by the same author, published in June 2011.   If you like Camilla Lackberg try Stieg LarssonMaxim Jakubowski recommends: The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo by Stieg Larsson

eBooks of the Month
The Stonecutter

The Stonecutter

Author: Camilla Lackberg Format: Paperback Release Date: 01/03/2011

March 2011 Book of the Month. A psychological thriller 'par excellence' from the critically acclaimed and no. 1 bestselling Swedish crime sensation Camilla Lackberg. The remote resort of Fjallbacka has seen its share of tragedy, though perhaps none worse than that of the little girl found in a fisherman's net. But the post-mortem reveals that this is no case of accidental drowning!

eBooks of the Month
The Preacher

The Preacher

Author: Camilla Lackberg Format: Paperback Release Date: 01/03/2011

The second psychological thriller from No 1 bestselling Swedish crime sensation Camilla Lackberg. In the fishing community of Fjallbacka, life is remote, peaceful - and for some, tragically short...

eBooks of the Month
The Ice Princess

The Ice Princess

Author: Camilla Lackberg Format: Paperback Release Date: 19/10/2017

The gripping psychological thriller debut of No 1 bestselling Swedish crime sensation Camilla Lackberg. 'Heart-stopping and heart-warming, The Ice Princess is a masterclass in Scandinavian crime writing' Val McDermid A small town can hide many secrets Returning to her hometown after the funeral of her parents, writer Erica Falck finds a community on the brink of tragedy. The death of her childhood friend, Alex, is just the beginning. Her wrists slashed, her body frozen in an ice-cold bath, it seems like she's taken her own life. Meanwhile, local detective Patrik Hedstroem is following his own suspicions about the case. It's only when they start working together that the truth begins to emerge about a small town with a deeply disturbing past...

eBooks of the Month
The Ice Child

The Ice Child

Author: Camilla Lackberg Format: Paperback Release Date: 20/10/2016

No. 1 international bestseller and Swedish crime sensation Camilla Lackberg's new psychological thriller featuring Detective Patrick Hedstrom and Erica Falck - irresistible for fans of Stieg Larsson and Jo Nesbo. SEE NO EVIL It's January in the peaceful seaside resort of Fjallbacka. A semi-naked girl wanders through the woods in freezing cold weather. When she finally reaches the road, a car comes out of nowhere. It doesn't manage to stop. HEAR NO EVIL The victim, a girl who went missing four months ago, has been subjected to unimaginably brutal treatment - and Detective Patrik Hedstroem suspects this is just the start. SPEAK NO EVIL The police soon discover that three other girls are missing from nearby towns, but there are no fresh leads. And when Patrik's wife stumbles across a link to an old murder case, the detective is forced to see his investigation in a whole new light.

eBooks of the Month

Author: Camilla Lackberg Format: Release Date: 01/01/1970

A gripping new psychological thriller from No. 1 international bestseller and Swedish crime sensation Camilla Lackberg All that glitters... People would kill to have Faye Adelheim's life. She lives in an ultra-swanky apartment in the most exclusive area of Stockholm, she has a gorgeous husband who gives her everything she's ever wanted, and she has an adorable daughter who lights up her world. Faye's life is perfect. So how is it, then, that she now finds herself in a police station? The truth is that Faye's life is far from what it seems. The truth is that Faye isn't even her real name. And now she's been caught out. There's no way she's going to go down without a fight. The only question is - who will escape with their life?

Audiobooks of the Month

Author Info

Author's Website

https:////www.camillalackberg.com/

Author's Facebook

Find Camilla Lackberg on Facebook

Twitter Updates

If this is your author page then you can share your Twitter updates with your readers right here on LoveReading

Find out more