Tell us a story

LoveReading is thrilled to announce the launch of The Very Short Story Award 2019! If you think you have a story we'll love, click here to find out more and how to enter:

Find out more

The Night Itself

by Zoe Marriott

Part of the The Name of the Blade Series

'new gen' - Great Fiction for Young Adults Books with reviews by our Reader Review Panel eBooks of the Month

LoveReading View on The Night Itself

Ancient Japanese gods and monsters are unleashed on modern-day London in this epic trilogy from an acclaimed fantasy writer.  Great for fans of Tamora Pierce, Maggie Stiefvater and Cassandra Clare.

reader reviews

In addition to our Lovereading expert opinion for The Night Itself a small number of teenagers were lucky enough to be invited to review this title. Here's a taster....'I really enjoyed this book, found the characters fun and interesting and liked the cultural aspect of the book. I enjoyed learning a bit about Japanese life and history.!'

Scroll down to read more reviews...

The Night Itself Synopsis

When Mio steals the family's katana - a priceless ancestral sword - from her parents' attic, she just wants to spice up a fancy-dress costume. But the katana is much more than some dusty antique and her actions unleash a terrible, ancient evil onto the streets of unsuspecting London. Soon Shinobu, a fearless warrior boy, appears to protect Mio - and threatens to steal her heart. With the gods and monsters of Japanese myth stalking her and her friends, Mio realizes that if she cannot keep the sword safe, and learn to control its legendary powers, she will lose not only her own life...but the love of a lifetime. 

The Night Itself Reader Reviews

Molly Hudson  I really enjoyed this book, found the characters fun and interesting and liked the cultural aspect of the book. I enjoyed learning a bit about Japanese life and history. Click here to read the full review

Carla McGuigan, age 13   I found this novel to be one of the most amazing books ever. It was romantic, adventurous, mysterious, interesting and it was just absolutely brilliant. I would strongly recommend this book to girls my age.  Click here to read the full review

James Smart  an amazing book with a slow beginning with a sharp incline in the plot toward the end. Click here to read the full review

Ciara Gallagher  I really thoroughly enjoyed this book it had piles of action in it and that is what I enjoy.  I would strongly recommend this book to ages 12-15 there is really only one word that can some this book up which is AMAZING! Click here to read the full review

The Night Itself Press Reviews

Molly Hudson  I really enjoyed this book, found the characters fun and interesting and liked the cultural aspect of the book. I enjoyed learning a bit about Japanese life and history. Click here to read the full review

Carla McGuigan, age 13   I found this novel to be one of the most amazing books ever. It was romantic, adventurous, mysterious, interesting and it was just absolutely brilliant. I would strongly recommend this book to girls my age.  Click here to read the full review

James Smart  an amazing book with a slow beginning with a sharp incline in the plot toward the end. Click here to read the full review

Ciara Gallagher  I really thoroughly enjoyed this book it had piles of action in it and that is what I enjoy.  I would strongly recommend this book to ages 12-15 there is really only one word that can some this book up which is AMAZING! Click here to read the full review

If you loved this, you might like these...

The Last Summer of Us
The Belles
City of Ghosts
KILLER T

All versions of this book

ISBN: 9781406357950
Publication date: 04/07/2013
Publisher: Walker Books Ltd
Format: Paperback

Book Information

ISBN: 9781406357950
Publication date: 4th July 2013
Author: Zoe Marriott
Publisher: Walker Books Ltd
Format: Paperback
Pagination: 368 pages
Genres: NewGen - YA Fiction, Reader Reviewed Books, eBook Favourites,
Categories: Fantasy & magical realism (Children's / Teenage),

About Zoe Marriott

Zoe Marriott lives in North East Lincolnshire with two cats, named Echo and Hero, and the Devil Hound, otherwise known as Finn. She says of Shadows on the Moon, "I never liked Cinderella as a little girl. She seemed like the worst kind of wimp to me, and I hated the fact that she needed someone else to come along and rescue her. Then one day I was thinking about a completely different idea for a book set in fairy-tale Japan - and suddenly the two story ideas collided in my head, and it occurred to me: what if Cinderella ...

More About Zoe Marriott

More Books By Zoe Marriott

Cover for Darkness Hidden by Zoe Marriott
Cover for Frostfire by Zoe Marriott
Cover for Shadows on the Moon by Zoe Marriott
View All Books By Zoe Marriott

Share this book