likeyoulove Harry Potter House Eds newgen books for YA readers
Search our site
The Stolen Bicycle by Ming-Yi Wu Read the opening extract of the brand new Ming-Yi Wu book before its publication on 26/10/2017

Reader Reviewed
The Night Itself by Zoe Marriott
  

The Night Itself

Part of the The Name of the Blade Series
NewGen - YA Fiction   eBook Favourites   eBook Favourites   

RRP £7.99

Download an extract Share this book

Lovereading view...

Ancient Japanese gods and monsters are unleashed on modern-day London in this epic trilogy from an acclaimed fantasy writer. Great for fans of Tamora Pierce, Maggie Stiefvater and Cassandra Clare.

reader reviews

In addition to our Lovereading expert opinion for The Night Itself a small number of teenagers were lucky enough to be invited to review this title. Here's a taster....'I really enjoyed this book, found the characters fun and interesting and liked the cultural aspect of the book. I enjoyed learning a bit about Japanese life and history.!'

Scroll down to read more reviews...

Synopsis

The Night Itself by Zoe Marriott

When Mio steals the family's katana - a priceless ancestral sword - from her parents' attic, she just wants to spice up a fancy-dress costume. But the katana is much more than some dusty antique and her actions unleash a terrible, ancient evil onto the streets of unsuspecting London. Soon Shinobu, a fearless warrior boy, appears to protect Mio - and threatens to steal her heart. With the gods and monsters of Japanese myth stalking her and her friends, Mio realizes that if she cannot keep the sword safe, and learn to control its legendary powers, she will lose not only her own life...but the love of a lifetime.

Reviews

Molly Hudson I really enjoyed this book, found the characters fun and interesting and liked the cultural aspect of the book. I enjoyed learning a bit about Japanese life and history. Click here to read the full review

Carla McGuigan, age 13 I found this novel to be one of the most amazing books ever. It was romantic, adventurous, mysterious, interesting and it was just absolutely brilliant. I would strongly recommend this book to girls my age. Click here to read the full review

James Smart an amazing book with a slow beginning with a sharp incline in the plot toward the end. Click here to read the full review

Ciara Gallagher I really thoroughly enjoyed this book it had piles of action in it and that is what I enjoy. I would strongly recommend this book to ages 12-15 there is really only one word that can some this book up which is AMAZING! Click here to read the full review

About the Author

Zoe Marriott

Zoe Marriott lives in North East Lincolnshire with two cats, named Echo and Hero, and the Devil Hound, otherwise known as Finn. She says of Shadows on the Moon, "I never liked Cinderella as a little girl. She seemed like the worst kind of wimp to me, and I hated the fact that she needed someone else to come along and rescue her. Then one day I was thinking about a completely different idea for a book set in fairy-tale Japan - and suddenly the two story ideas collided in my head, and it occurred to me: what if Cinderella wasn't a wimp at all? What if she was strong and brave - and out for revenge all along? And so Shadows on the Moon was born."

More books by this author
Author 'Like for Like' recommendations

Loading similar books...
Loading other formats...

Book Info

Publication date

4th July 2013

Author

Zoe Marriott

More books by Zoe Marriott
Author 'Like for Like'
    recommendations

Author's Website

www.zoemarriott.com/

Author's Facebook Latest

Loading facebook updates...
Loading twitter updates...

Publisher

Walker Books Ltd

Format

Paperback
368 pages

Categories

NewGen - YA Fiction
eBook Favourites
eBook Favourites

Fantasy & magical realism (Children's / Teenage)

ISBN

9781406357950

Lovereading does a stella job in promoting both new and established authors.

Iris Clements

Lovereading are lovely people who send me lovely books. What's not to love?

Gavin Dimmock

You'll always find what you never knew you were looking for and you're always spoilt for choice.

Helen Jones

Thanks to Lovereading I have discovered new writers and read books I would never had looked twice at - and enjoyed them.

Angela Rhodes

Lovereading has given me the opportunity to delve into new and exciting worlds of authors who I would never have tried before.

Glynis Elliott

Their sending me my first book to review 18 months ago re-awakened my fondness for reading, since then I have purchased some real gems.

Barry Griffiths

I love the honest opinions, recommendations for every genre and every reader, wish lists and Like for Like.

Amrita Dasgupta

A great place to go to find your next literary escape, and where you don't have to judge a book by its cover!

Suzanne Beney

Lovereading4kids

Lovereading4schools