Zoe Marriott - Author

About the Author

Zoe Marriott lives in North East Lincolnshire with two cats, named Echo and Hero, and the Devil Hound, otherwise known as Finn. She says of Shadows on the Moon, "I never liked Cinderella as a little girl. She seemed like the worst kind of wimp to me, and I hated the fact that she needed someone else to come along and rescue her. Then one day I was thinking about a completely different idea for a book set in fairy-tale Japan - and suddenly the two story ideas collided in my head, and it occurred to me: what if Cinderella wasn't a wimp at all? What if she was strong and brave - and out for revenge all along? And so Shadows on the Moon was born."

Featured books by Zoe Marriott

Other books by Zoe Marriott

Shadows on the Moon

Shadows on the Moon

Author: Zoe Marriott Format: Paperback Release Date: 03/11/2016

A magical twist on Cinderella from a talented fantasy writer. A powerful tale of magic, love and revenge set in a fairy tale Japan. Suzume is a shadow weaver. Her illusions allow her to be anyone she wants - a fabulous gift for a girl desperate to escape her past. But who is she really? A heartbroken girl of noble birth? A drudge scraping by in a great house's kitchens? Or Yue, the most beautiful courtesan in the Moonlit Lands? Whatever her true identity, she is determined to capture the heart of a prince - and use his power to destroy those who murdered her family. Nothing will stop her. Not even love.

Barefoot on the Wind

Barefoot on the Wind

Author: Zoe Marriott Format: Paperback Release Date: 01/09/2016

A feminist reworking of Beauty and the Beast from a talented fantasy writer. A magical retelling of Beauty and the Beast set in a fairytale Japan. A companion title to Zoe Marriott's critically acclaimed Shadows on the Moon. There is a monster in the forest... Everyone in Hana's remote village on the mountain knows that straying too far into the woods is a death sentence. When Hana's father goes missing, she is the only one who dares try to save him. Taking up her hunting gear, she goes in search of the beast, determined to kill it - or be killed herself. But the forest contains more secrets, more magic and more darkness than Hana could ever have imagined, and the beast is not at all what she expects...

Barefoot on the Wind

Barefoot on the Wind

Author: Zoe Marriott Format: eBook Release Date: 01/09/2016

A reworking of Beauty and the Beast from a talented fantasy writerA magical retelling of "e;Beauty and the Beast"e; set in a fairytale Japan. A companion title to Zoe Marriott's critically acclaimed Shadows on the Moon. There is a monster in the forest... Everyone in Hana's remote village on the mountain knows that straying too far into the woods is a death sentence. When Hana's father goes missing, she is the only one who dares try to save him. Taking up her hunting gear, she goes in search of the beast, determined to kill it - or be killed herself. But the forest contains more secrets, more magic and more darkness than Hana could ever have imagined, and the beast is not at all what she expects...

The Name of the Blade, Book Three: Frail Human Heart

The Name of the Blade, Book Three: Frail Human Heart

Author: Zoe Marriott, Andrew Archer Format: Paperback Release Date: 02/07/2015

Fans of fantasy series such as The Mortal Instruments and The Raven Cycle will adore Zoe Marriott's incredible Name of the Blade trilogy. Frail Mortal Heart is the third book in the series. For fans of Maggie Stiefvater and Cassandra Clare - Booktrust. Zoe Marriott has been named a rising star of fantasy fiction by The Times. In the thrilling final instalment of her epic, Japanese-inspired urban fantasy trilogy, Mio has succeeded in banishing the Goddess of Death's plague-spreading monsters - by making the most terrible sacrifice. With Mio's love Shinobu lost, and hell literally breaking loose in London, the only things standing between the human world and an apocalypse are Mio and her sword.

Name of the Blade, Book Three: Frail Human Heart

Name of the Blade, Book Three: Frail Human Heart

Author: Zoe Marriott Format: eBook Release Date: 18/06/2015

Fans of fantasy series such as The Mortal Instruments and The Raven Cycle will adore Zoe Marriott's incredible Name of the Blade trilogy. Frail Mortal Heart is the third book in the series."e;For fans of Maggie Stiefvater and Cassandra Clare"e; - Booktrust. Zoe Marriott has been named "e;a rising star of fantasy fiction"e; by The Times. In the thrilling final instalment of her epic, Japanese-inspired urban fantasy trilogy, Mio has succeeded in banishing the Goddess of Death's plague-spreading monsters - by making the most terrible sacrifice. With Mio's love Shinobu lost, and hell literally breaking loose in London, the only things standing between the human world and an apocalypse are Mio and her sword.

Name of the Blade, Book Two: Darkness Hidden

Name of the Blade, Book Two: Darkness Hidden

Author: Zoe Marriott Format: eBook Release Date: 19/06/2014

Who would you sacrifice to save the world? Don't miss the second explosive book in the young adult fantasy series, The Name of the BladeAgainst all odds, Mio, Jack and Shinobu have defeated the terrifying Nekomata and got home alive. But Mio is still compelled to protect the katana, and now the Underworld has spawned a worse monster - one carrying a devastating plague that sweeps through London like wildfire. As Mio struggles to protect the city and control the sword's deadly powers, she realizes that this time there is no way she can keep everyone she loves out of the line of fire.

Name of the Blade, Book One: The Night Itself

Name of the Blade, Book One: The Night Itself

Author: Zoe Marriott Format: eBook Release Date: 20/06/2013

Ancient Japanese gods and monsters are unleashed on modern-day London in this epic trilogy from an acclaimed fantasy writer.When Mio steals the family's katana - a priceless ancestral sword - from her parents' attic, she just wants to spice up a fancy-dress costume. But the katana is much more than some dusty antique and her actions unleash a terrible, ancient evil onto the streets of unsuspecting London. Soon Shinobu, a fearless warrior boy, appears to protect Mio - and threatens to steal her heart. With the gods and monsters of Japanese myth stalking her and her friends, Mio realizes that if she cannot keep the sword safe, and learn to control its legendary powers, she will lose not only her own life ... but the love of a lifetime.

Daughter of the Flames

Daughter of the Flames

Author: Zoe Marriott Format: Paperback Release Date: 05/07/2012

A sweeping fantasy chronicling a courageous girl's fight for freedom and love in a world ravaged by war and religious fanaticism. eBook available. Zahira is a young woman of the conquered Rua people. She has been raised to distrust the occupying population. But everything changes when her home is destroyed and she finds out some shocking truths about her past. Realizing that it is up to her to do something about the violence that is tearing her country apart, she tries to bridge the gap between the warring cultures. But when her own people suspect her of treachery - especially after she falls in love with one of the enemy - the epic task ahead of her seems insurmountable...

Shadows on the Moon

Shadows on the Moon

Author: Zoe Marriott Format: eBook Release Date: 24/04/2012

Sixteen-year-old Suzume is a shadow weaver, trained in the magical art of illusion. She can be anyone she wants to beexcept herself. Is she the girl of noble birth, trapped by the tyranny of her mothers new husband, Lord Terayama? A lowly drudge scraping a living in the ashes of Terayamas kitchens? Or Yue, the most beautiful courtesan in the Moonlit Land? Even Suzume is no longer sure of her true identity. But she is determined to steal the heart of the Moon Prince and exact revenge on her stepfather for the death of her family. And nothing will stop her. Not even her love for fellow shadow weaver Otieno, the one man who can see through her illusions.Set in a fairy-tale version of ancient Japan, Shadows on the Moon shakes up the Cinderella story with its brave, resourceful, and passionate heroine.Shadows on the Moon weaves a spell as deft as any by its main character. Beautiful and cruel; a mesmerizing read with an intoxicating love story.? -L. A. Weatherly, author of Angel Burn and Angel FireBeautifully written, with diverse and fascinating characters, an intriguing plot, and a romance that will steal your heart. One of the most innovative fairy-tale retellings Ive read in years.? ?R. J. Anderson, author of Spell Hunter and UltravioletThe lyrical prose of Shadows on the Moon captures the essence of the fairy tale, while the love story will capture readers hearts. ?Jaclyn Dolamore, author of Magic Under Glass and Between the Sea and Sky

Shadows on the Moon

Shadows on the Moon

Author: Zoe Marriott Format: eBook Release Date: 07/07/2011

A powerful tale of magic, love and revenge set in fairy-tale Japan; this is Cinderella meets Memoirs of a Geisha.Trained in the magical art of shadow-weaving, sixteen-year-old Suzume is able to recreate herself in any form - a fabulous gift for a girl desperate to escape her past. But who is she really? Is she a girl of noble birth living under the tyranny of her mother's new husband, Lord Terayama, or a lowly drudge scraping a living in the ashes of Terayama's kitchens, or Yue, the most beautiful courtesan in the Moonlit Lands? Whatever her true identity, Suzume is destined to capture the heart of a prince - and determined to use his power to destroy Terayama. And nothing will stop her, not even love.

Swan Kingdom

Swan Kingdom

Author: Zoe Marriott Format: eBook Release Date: 07/07/2011

Romance and adventure combine in a breathtaking reworking of a classic fairy tale.Darkness has fallen across a kingdom far, far away. The queen is dead - killed in the forest by a terrifying beast - and her daughter, Alexandra, suspects that the new woman in her father's life is more than she seems. Exiled and betrayed, Alexandra must face magic, murder and the loss of all she holds dear in a desperate struggle against evil.

Daughter of the Flames

Daughter of the Flames

Author: Zoe Marriott Format: eBook Release Date: 07/07/2011

A sweeping fantasy chronicling a courageous girl's fight for freedom in a world ravaged by war and religious fanaticism.Zahira is a young woman of the conquered Rua people, their country occupied by another, very different culture - the Sedorne. Zahira is an orphan and has been raised to despise and distrust the occupying population, as well as to be a devout follower of the native religion. But everything changes for Zahira when her home and foster family are destroyed and she finds out some shocking truths about her heritage and real family. Realizing that it is up to her to do something about the violence and upheaval that are tearing her country apart, she must learn to accept her Sedorne origins and try to bridge the gap between the warring cultures. But when her own people suspect her of treachery for her ideas - especially after she saves the life of a Sedorne nobleman and begins to fall in love - the epic task ahead of her seems insurmountable...

Author Info

Author's Website

http://www.zoemarriott.com/

Author's Facebook

Find Zoe Marriott on Facebook