books of the month join us on facebook
Search our site
Persons Unknown by Susie Steiner Read the opening extract of the brand new Susie Steiner book before its publication on 05/04/2018

Never Forget by Lisa Cutts

Never Forget

Crime / Mystery   All Shortlists and Winners   Debuts of the Month   Thriller / Suspense   eBook Favourites   
Download an extract Discuss on Facebook Discuss this book on our Crime/Mystery/Thriller Facebook group Share this book

Lovereading view...

July 2013 Debut of the Month.

Police Officer Lisa Cutts' debut is a complex, chilling, fast-paced story with a shocking twist and introduces us to a brilliantly ballsy new heroine, Detective Constable Nina Foster. After a frenzied stabbing, partners Nina Foster and John Wing find themselves running their first murder investigation but as the investigation continues Nina finds her courage tested and her life threatened. This debut will appeal to fans of Lynda La Plante and Val McDermid. Winner of the Writer’s Retreat competition in 2012 we look forward to more cases for DC Foster.

A 'Piece of Passion' by Lisa Cutts' publisher at Myriad Editions, Candida Lacey...

'Never Forget came to our attention when Lisa entered, and won, last year's Writer's Retreat Competition (co-organised by Myriad and West Dean College). We were captivated by her fresh new voice and ability to balance a complicated yet compelling storyline.

It has been thrilling to work with Lisa over the past year and to watch her develop such a riveting police drama from these early chapters. Every aspect of Never Forget has about it a ring of authenticity, informed by Lisa's own day job as a police officer: from the crime scenes to the briefings to the conversations between characters.

And in DC Nina Foster Lisa has created a wonderfully gutsy heroine. She’s someone you'd want to be your friend; a woman who is warm, witty, clever, good at her job and turns out to be very brave too. We are with her every step of the way, enjoying her banter with workmates and her taste for a glass or two of Merlot at the end of a hard day. We fear for her vulnerability and cheer her on as she struggles to overcome inner demons and solve a complex trail of clues that may eventually lead to the murderer.

Never Forget is an exciting, original crime novel. Fast-paced and with a shocking twist, this is a page-turner that will keep you guessing until the very end.'

Win Books from the Manon Bradshaw Thriller Series!

Persons Unknown, the second book in Susie Steiner's crime thriller series, is now out in paperback and to mark the publication we are giving away paperback copies of both Missing, Presumed and Persons Unknown to THREE lucky winners!

To have a chance of winning one of these fantastic prizes, click the button below. Please note that this draw is open only for UK residents and is free to enter, multiple entries from the same email address will only be counted once.

The draw closes on 30 April 2018. The winners will be notified by 14 May 2018,

Good luck!

Enter prize draw Draw closes: 30/04/2018


Never Forget by Lisa Cutts

Few kidnap victims grow up to become police officers - but this is exactly what Nina Foster did. With former rescuer DCI Stan McGuire as her mentor and John ('Wingsy') Wing as her partner, she thrives on the pace and banter that goes with the job - until a frenzied stabbing leads to her first murder Investigation. As the body count increases and each new discovery tests her professionalism and courage to the limit, Nina's past comes back to haunt her. A disturbing new development threatens her role in the investigation and endangers her life. And this time DCI Stan McGuire won't be there to save her.


'Never Forget does what crime fiction has never managed to do before - to take the reader directly to the fast-beating heart of a police investigation. Lisa Cutts has a unique voice, one that resonates with the knowledge of years of police work - and in DC Nina Foster, she has created a character so genuine and honest that she feels like your best friend. Never Forget is a complex, chilling and brilliantly clever debut that keeps you guessing to the final, thrilling sentence.'

About the Author

Lisa Cutts

Lisa Cutts is the daughter of a former Metropolitan Police officer and obtained her first degree in Law, working in a number of jobs in London and around the South East area, before becoming a police officer herself in 1996. She later achieved a second degree in Applied Criminal Investigation. She lives in Kent with her husband, a retired Police Officer, close to her three step-children and four (soon to be five) step-grandchildren, where she balances working full-time for Kent Police with writing crime fiction. An extract from Never Forget won the Writer's Retreat Competition in 2012.

Author photo © Rob Cole Photography

Click here to read a Q & A with this author.

More books by this author
Author 'Like for Like' recommendations

Loading similar books...
Loading other formats...

Book Info

Publication date

11th July 2013


Lisa Cutts

More books by Lisa Cutts
Author 'Like for Like'

Author's Website

Author's Facebook Latest

Loading facebook updates...
Loading twitter updates...


Myriad Editions


368 pages


Crime / Mystery
All Shortlists and Winners
Debuts of the Month
Thriller / Suspense
eBook Favourites

Crime & mystery



Publisher Profile

Myriad Editions is an imprint of Myriad

logo Myriad Editions is an independent publisher of original literary fiction and graphic novels, and producer of the acclaimed 'state of the world' infographic atlases. After over a decade as a successful packager of the atlas series, we established our own imprint in order to showcase new writers and artists, build fresh audiences for their work, and establish a literary niche against the mainstream.

Publisher's Website

Lovereading helps me decide what real people read.

Kerry Bridges

If you LOVE reading then you will love LOVEREADING! It's a 'novel' idea. Seriously though I could not recommend them enough.

Rebecca Whymark

Lovereading is pitched at just the right level for all the various types of people who enjoy reading in its many forms.

Pam Woodburn

Lovereading does a stella job in promoting both new and established authors.

Iris Clements

You can trust Lovereading to show unbiased reviews by actual, ordinary readers that help likeminded booklovers choose their next great read.

Linda Hill

I read new, exciting writers and established authors before publication and there is a great website full of brilliant books and opinions.


The books for review are always great reads, brilliantly written, and introduces me to a huge variety of, established and new, authors.

Lesley Hart

Discover new authors and enjoy old favourites; oodles of literary gems to uncover at Lovereading with candid reviews from real reviewers.

Emily Wright