Harry Potter House Eds Maxim Jakubowskis Selection join us on facebook granchester eligible curtis sittenfeld

Never Forget by Lisa Cutts
  

Never Forget

Crime / Mystery   All Shortlists and Winners   Debuts of the Month   Thriller / Suspense   eBook Favourites   

RRP £7.99

Download an extract Discuss on Facebook Discuss this book on our Crime/Mystery/Thriller Facebook group Share this book

Lovereading view...

July 2013 Debut of the Month.

Police Officer Lisa Cutts' debut is a complex, chilling, fast-paced story with a shocking twist and introduces us to a brilliantly ballsy new heroine, Detective Constable Nina Foster. After a frenzied stabbing, partners Nina Foster and John Wing find themselves running their first murder investigation but as the investigation continues Nina finds her courage tested and her life threatened. This debut will appeal to fans of Lynda La Plante and Val McDermid. Winner of the Writer’s Retreat competition in 2012 we look forward to more cases for DC Foster.

A 'Piece of Passion' by Lisa Cutts' publisher at Myriad Editions, Candida Lacey...

'Never Forget came to our attention when Lisa entered, and won, last year's Writer's Retreat Competition (co-organised by Myriad and West Dean College). We were captivated by her fresh new voice and ability to balance a complicated yet compelling storyline.

It has been thrilling to work with Lisa over the past year and to watch her develop such a riveting police drama from these early chapters. Every aspect of Never Forget has about it a ring of authenticity, informed by Lisa's own day job as a police officer: from the crime scenes to the briefings to the conversations between characters.

And in DC Nina Foster Lisa has created a wonderfully gutsy heroine. She’s someone you'd want to be your friend; a woman who is warm, witty, clever, good at her job and turns out to be very brave too. We are with her every step of the way, enjoying her banter with workmates and her taste for a glass or two of Merlot at the end of a hard day. We fear for her vulnerability and cheer her on as she struggles to overcome inner demons and solve a complex trail of clues that may eventually lead to the murderer.

Never Forget is an exciting, original crime novel. Fast-paced and with a shocking twist, this is a page-turner that will keep you guessing until the very end.'

Win an exclusive Lovereading Canvas bag worth £9.99

This month we have 3 of our sturdy, exclusive and simply gorgeous Lovereading Canvas book bags. To have a chance of winning this wonderful prize, click the button below.

Please note that this draw is open only for UK residents and is free to enter. Draw closes on 3 July 2017. The winner will be chosen randomly from all entrants and will be notified by 17 July 2017.

lovereading canvas bags

Our canvas bags are also available for sale with an RRP of £9.99. However, if you spend more than £25.00 on books, through Lovereading, you can claim one totally FREE OF CHARGE! Or spend over £15.00 on books, through Lovereading, and you can buy one for the special price of just £4.99. Click here to find out more.

Here's what one of our members thinks of her bag
A big thank you for the two Lovereading bags I ordered, which have arrived safely. I love mine and will use it with pride. The bags are lovely quality, sturdy and support a good cause in the Rewrap initiative; I think they make the perfect accessory for any book lover. The second bag was a gift for my sister and she says she will take it to her next book group meeting to help spread the Lovereading word. Once again, many thanks. Emily Wright

Enter prize draw Draw closes: 03/07/2017

Synopsis

Never Forget by Lisa Cutts

Few kidnap victims grow up to become police officers - but this is exactly what Nina Foster did. With former rescuer DCI Stan McGuire as her mentor and John ('Wingsy') Wing as her partner, she thrives on the pace and banter that goes with the job - until a frenzied stabbing leads to her first murder Investigation. As the body count increases and each new discovery tests her professionalism and courage to the limit, Nina's past comes back to haunt her. A disturbing new development threatens her role in the investigation and endangers her life. And this time DCI Stan McGuire won't be there to save her.

Reviews

'Never Forget does what crime fiction has never managed to do before - to take the reader directly to the fast-beating heart of a police investigation. Lisa Cutts has a unique voice, one that resonates with the knowledge of years of police work - and in DC Nina Foster, she has created a character so genuine and honest that she feels like your best friend. Never Forget is a complex, chilling and brilliantly clever debut that keeps you guessing to the final, thrilling sentence.'
ELIZABETH HAYNES

About the Author

Lisa Cutts

Lisa Cutts is the daughter of a former Metropolitan Police officer and obtained her first degree in Law, working in a number of jobs in London and around the South East area, before becoming a police officer herself in 1996. She later achieved a second degree in Applied Criminal Investigation. She lives in Kent with her husband, a retired Police Officer, close to her three step-children and four (soon to be five) step-grandchildren, where she balances working full-time for Kent Police with writing crime fiction. An extract from Never Forget won the Writer's Retreat Competition in 2012.

Author photo © Rob Cole Photography

Click here to read a Q & A with this author.

More books by this author
Author 'Like for Like' recommendations

Loading similar books...
Loading other formats...

Book Info

Publication date

11th July 2013

Author

Lisa Cutts

More books by Lisa Cutts
Author 'Like for Like'
    recommendations

Author's Website

www.lisacutts.co.uk/Lisa_Cu...

Author's Facebook Latest

Loading facebook updates...
Loading twitter updates...

Publisher

Myriad Editions

Format

Paperback
368 pages

Categories

Crime / Mystery
All Shortlists and Winners
Debuts of the Month
Thriller / Suspense
eBook Favourites

Crime & mystery

ISBN

9781908434265

Publisher Profile

Myriad Editions is an imprint of Myriad

logo Myriad Editions is an independent publisher of original literary fiction and graphic novels, and producer of the acclaimed 'state of the world' infographic atlases. After over a decade as a successful packager of the atlas series, we established our own imprint in order to showcase new writers and artists, build fresh audiences for their work, and establish a literary niche against the mainstream.

Publisher's Website

www.myriadeditions.com/home

It is a website dedicated to those who adore reading It really is a one stop shop for book lovers. Love it!

Edel Waugh

It's a lively, independent website with reviews, recommendations and more - with a huge range of books available to buy in all formats.

Alison Layland

Lovereading is a wonderful way to expand my literary horizons, discover inspiring authors & get the chance to read new novels first. #loveit

Zarina de Ruiter

Love books. Love reading. Love reading books. And, here's the trick. Here's a website which caters for people like me.

Ian Harvey-brown

A great place to go to find your next literary escape, and where you don't have to judge a book by its cover!

Suzanne Beney

Insightful reader reviews and unbiased recommendations. I don't know how I chose books before Lovereading! An essential for all book lovers.

Sarah Harper

Love Reading - it not only does what it says on the tin, it does it with Jam on!!

Maz Tucker

It's the first site that I visit when deciding on the next set of books to buy. A particular treat is being able to download an extract.

Tessa Olson

Lovereading4kids

Lovereading4schools