LoveReading

Becoming a member of the LoveReading community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unadulterated book loving, with your favourite books saved to your own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop Plus lots lots more…

Find out more

Lisa Cutts - Author

About the Author

Lisa Cutts is the daughter of a former Metropolitan Police officer and obtained her first degree in Law, working in a number of jobs in London and around the South East area, before becoming a police officer herself in 1996. She later achieved a second degree in Applied Criminal Investigation. She lives in Kent with her husband, a retired Police Officer, close to her three step-children and four (soon to be five) step-grandchildren, where she balances working full-time for Kent Police with writing crime fiction. An extract from Never Forget won the Writer's Retreat Competition in 2012.

 

Author photo © Rob Cole Photography

 

Click here to read a Q & A with this author.

 

Featured books by Lisa Cutts

Remember, Remember

Remember, Remember

Author: Lisa Cutts Format: Paperback Release Date: 21/08/2014

This second book in the DC Nina Foster series (now optioned for a major TV drama) is a taut and gripping police procedural crime novel. When Nina returns to work after recovering from a near-fatal injury, she's supposed to be keeping her head down. But the cold case she's working on - an infamous train crash from 1964 - is no match for the lure of the shootings, drugs deaths and robberies keeping her colleagues busy. And before long she uncovers crucial new evidence linking the historic crash to the current spate of heroin-related deaths. Once again, she's back at the centre of a complex case which brings her face-to-face with a network of criminals who will stop at nothing to protect their empire. Brilliantly plotted and fast-paced, Remember, Remember cements Lisa Cutts' reputation as a crime author of gripping fiction straight from the front line of modern policing.

eBooks of the Month
Never Forget

Never Forget

Author: Lisa Cutts Format: Paperback Release Date: 11/07/2013

July 2013 Debut of the Month. Police Officer Lisa Cutts' debut is a complex, chilling, fast-paced story with a shocking twist and introduces us to a brilliantly ballsy new heroine, Detective Constable Nina Foster. After a frenzied stabbing, partners Nina Foster and John Wing find themselves running their first murder investigation but as the investigation continues Nina finds her courage tested and her life threatened. This debut will appeal to fans of Lynda La Plante and Val McDermid. Winner of the Writer’s Retreat competition in 2012 we look forward to more cases for DC Foster.   A 'Piece of Passion' by Lisa Cutts' publisher at Myriad Editions, Candida Lacey... 'Never Forget came to our attention when Lisa entered, and won, last year's Writer's Retreat Competition (co-organised by Myriad and West Dean College). We were captivated by her fresh new voice and ability to balance a complicated yet compelling storyline.It has been thrilling to work with Lisa over the past year and to watch her develop such a riveting police drama from these early chapters. Every aspect of Never Forget has about it a ring of authenticity, informed by Lisa's own day job as a police officer: from the crime scenes to the briefings to the conversations between characters.And in DC Nina Foster Lisa has created a wonderfully gutsy heroine. She’s someone you'd want to be your friend; a woman who is warm, witty, clever, good at her job and turns out to be very brave too. We are with her every step of the way, enjoying her banter with workmates and her taste for a glass or two of Merlot at the end of a hard day. We fear for her vulnerability and cheer her on as she struggles to overcome inner demons and solve a complex trail of clues that may eventually lead to the murderer. Never Forget is an exciting, original crime novel. Fast-paced and with a shocking twist, this is a page-turner that will keep you guessing until the very end.'

eBooks of the Month

Other books by Lisa Cutts

Lost Lives

Lost Lives

Author: Lisa Cutts Format: Paperback Release Date: 10/01/2019

'Lisa Cutts knows exactly how to tell a cracking story' MARK BILLINGHAM The unputdownable new crime novel, brimming with expert knowledge and authenticity, from an author with over twenty years' policing experience. SHE TRUSTED THEM WITH HER LIFE When Anna arrives in the UK, she believes it's the start of a better life for her and her daughter. But what awaits her is more shocking than anything she could have ever imagined . . . SHE TRUSTED THEM WITH HER DAUGHTER DI Harry Powell is investigating a shooting, but the victim has been scared into silence. As Harry struggles to piece together what little information he has, he stumbles upon an operation that may put countless lives across the country at risk. SHE WAS WRONG As Anna's situation grows more dangerous by the day, Harry is forced to push his overstretched team to the limits to find answers. But for one of them, will it already be too late? Praise for LOST LIVES: 'Utterly gripping and hauntingly realistic, I raced through this in one sitting' LISA HALL 'Compelling, pacy, full of tension that had me gripped from the first page to the last' ANGELA MARSONS 'A genuinely immersive read. Lisa's background as a detective is used to such good effect in this clever, suspenseful tale' KATE RHODES 'An important story, superbly and entertainingly told' LOUISE CANDLISH, award-winning author of Our House 'A moving and thought-provoking story that highlights one of today's most merciless crimes . . . Compulsive reading' RACHEL ABBOTT 'A gritty, timely and harrowing police procedural, we read this in hours, but it lingered in our thoughts for days' heat 4* review 'Lost Lives left me breathless . . . heartbreaking and thrilling - this is pure genius' ELIZABETH HAYNES 'Masterful storytelling from a writer at the top of her game' JULIE WASSMER