Win a Family Weekend Break with Lovereading and VisitWiltshire - click here for details...

books of the month twitter make the most of Lovereading
Search our site
The Guilty Wife by Elle Croft Read the opening extract of the brand new Elle Croft book before its publication on 25/01/2018

The Demonologist by Andrew Pyper
  

The Demonologist

Thriller / Suspense   Crime / Mystery   eBook Favourites   
Download an extract Discuss on Facebook Discuss this book on our Crime/Mystery/Thriller Facebook group Share this book

Lovereading view...

April 2013 eBook of the Month.

A frightening, dark, unnerving and powerful thriller that explores the lengths a father will go to find his daughter, and the darkness he is prepared to confront along the way. A professor of demonology, who says he is an atheist, is tempted / tricked into a trip to Venice to consult on an unnamed phenomenon. He is totally unprepared for what he confronts. This book is brilliantly written subtly demanding you read the next chapter and then the next... and then it's dark and you definitely need the lights on. Definitely one for fans of Linwood Barclay and Gillian Flynn.

If you like Andrew Pyper you might also like to read books by Joe Hill, F. G. Cottam and Patricia Tyrrell.

Win a Family Break to Salisbury!

Don’t miss out! Enter to win a family break to Salisbury!

Here at Lovereading.co.uk and Lovereading4kids.co.uk we have joined with VisitWiltshire. You could see yourself indulging in the finest food and slumbering comfortably into one of the grand rooms at The Red Lion Salisbury for two nights. The Red Lion Hotel is located in medieval city of Salisbury, which is home to all your favourite stores as well as independent shops, restaurants, cafes and parks and green spaces. Nearby is Stonehenge, Salisbury Plain and numerous sites of historic and archaeological interest.

There are many seasonal events in Salisbury, and you can find out what’s on here. You will also receive a family ticket to Sir Harold Hillier Gardens, the gardens are especially beautiful in the winter, with bold coloured stems, scents, and fabulous foliage, you can be sure to be impressed. For the children there is also a play park, and you can stop off in the Victorian tea room to warm up and treat yourself to a traditional cream tea.

To have a chance of winning this fantastic prize, click the button below. Please note that this draw is open only for UK residents and is free to enter, multiple entries from the same email address will only be counted once. Entries close 31st January 2018.

Good luck!

Terms and Conditions

Red Lion: Two night stay includes breakfast for two adults and up to two children sharing a family room. Subject to availability and cannot be exchanged or redeemed for cash value. Not to be used in combination with any other offer. Valid until 1st Dec 2018 and excludes bank holidays.

Sir Harold Hillier Gardens: Valid for day entry, Not to be used for special events or group entry. Voucher is not transferable or refundable, no Cash Value. Ticket must be redeemed on entry. Valid until 31 Dec 2018. Gardens open daily from 10am – closed Christmas Day and Boxing Day. Prize admits 2 adults and accompanying children Under 17 FREE to Sir Harold Hillier Gardens.

Enter prize draw Draw closes: 31/01/2018

Synopsis

The Demonologist by Andrew Pyper

Professor David Ullman is among the world's leading authorities on demonic literature. Not that he's a believer.

He sees what he teaches as a branch of the imagination and nothing more. So when offered a luxury trip to Venice to consult on a 'phenomenon', he accepts, taking his 11-year-old daughter Tess with him. Amidst the decadent splendour of the city, David makes his way to the address he's been asked to visit. What he witnesses in the tiny attic room shakes him to the core: a man restrained in a chair, clearly insane. But what David hears the man say is worse. The voice of his father, dead for 30 years, repeating the last words he ever spoke to his son. Words that have left scars - and a mystery - behind. Terrified, David is determined to leave with Tess as quickly as possible. But he can't shake the feeling that something is following him. And then, before his eyes on the roof of their hotel, Tess disappears. But before she falls into the Grand Canal's waters, she utters a plea: Find me.

Reviews

'A smart, thrilling, utterly unnerving novel. Pyper's gift is that he deeply respects his readers, yet still insists on reducing them to quivering children. I like that in a writer' -- Gillian Flynn

'The Demonologist is that rare thing - a novel that is both genuinely terrifying and erudite. The research is excellent and lightly worn, the pace and cleverness of the plot thrilling, one of the most exciting works of fiction I've read for some time'
Kate Mosse

'Genuinely terrifying, don't-read-late-at-night stuff. Thrilling, compelling and beautifully written -- SJ Watson

'The Demonologist is a smart psychological thriller. Carefully crafted, claustrophobic and deeply, deeply creepy' Simon Toyne

'Richly crafted, deliriously scary and compulsively page-turning from beginning to end. Imagine The Exorcist and The Da Vinci Code as penned by Daphne du Maurier. Don't miss this one!' -- Jeffery Deaver

'As compelling and smoothly chilling a tale as you'll find this year. The Demonologist shows an enormously gifted writer at the top of his game, producing a novel of eerie menace and unique depth. Those of us who write supernatural stories do not throw the names Ira Levin, William Peter Blatty, and Peter Straub around lightly. You'll be hearing all three associated with Mr Pyper soon, and all such comparisons are warranted, the highest praise I can offer' -- Michael Koryta, New York Times Bestselling Author Of The Prophet

'Pyper is an intelligent writer, steeped in Miltonian symbolism, gifted with language ... This artful literary exploration of evil's manifestation makes for a sophisticated horror tale' KIRKUS

'A mesmerizing and melancholy narrative voice lends chilling credibility to this exceptional supernatural thriller' PUBLISHERS WEEKLY

'Andrew Pyper is a rare breed. Reading The Demonologist is like running through a house on fire- you've got to get through; nothing will stop you. And when you're out, brokenhearted and bewildered, you're left wondering if what happened was real. That's Pyper's brilliance: he does it so well you never see the fiction' -- Sarah Langan, Author Of The Missing

'Smart and astonishing ... The Demonologist holds a mirror to the reader and reveals the places where our deepest darkness lurks' -- Brunonia Barry, New York Times And International Best Selling Author Of The Lace Reader And The Map Of True Places

About the Author

Andrew Pyper

Andrew Pyper was born in Stratford, Ontario, in 1968. He received a BA and an MA in English Literature from McGill University in Montreal, as well as a law degree from the University of Toronto. He is the author of four bestselling novels, including THE GUARDIANS and LOST GIRLS. He is also the winner of the ARTHUR ELLIS AWARD.

Author photo © Heidi Pyper

More books by this author
Author 'Like for Like' recommendations

Loading similar books...
Loading other formats...

Book Info

Publication date

11th April 2013

Author

Andrew Pyper

More books by Andrew Pyper
Author 'Like for Like'
    recommendations

Author's Website

www.andrewpyper.com/

Author's Facebook Latest

Loading facebook updates...
Loading twitter updates...

Publisher

Orion (an Imprint of The Orion Publishing Group Ltd ) an imprint of Orion Publishing Co

Format

Paperback

Categories

Thriller / Suspense
Crime / Mystery
eBook Favourites


ISBN

9781409122586

Lovereading has all the new books and also suggestions for 'similar' authors whilst waiting for your favourites new books.

Carol Peace

I love Lovereading because of its ability to connect people that love books & unite them in a friendly, stimulating & interesting community.

Megan Olwen William

Love books. Love reading. Love reading books. And, here's the trick. Here's a website which caters for people like me.

Ian Harvey-brown

I love the 'like for like' author recommendations, it's like an old friend whispering in your ear.

Emma Caddick

Lovereading recommends, honestly reviews and promotes books-what more can I say?!

Rachel Bridgeman

If you love reading, then you'll love Lovereading! Full of tips & info for every discerning reader.

Lynne Rapson

I read new, exciting writers and established authors before publication and there is a great website full of brilliant books and opinions.

Lynda

At Lovereading there are fabulous books available in every genre, with great reviews to help you pick the right book for you.

Teresa O'Halloran

Lovereading4kids

Lovereading4schools