rebus 30th anniversary debuts of the month win prizes
Search our site
The Stolen Bicycle by Ming-Yi Wu Read the opening extract of the brand new Ming-Yi Wu book before its publication on 26/10/2017

The Demonologist by Andrew Pyper
  

The Demonologist

Thriller / Suspense   Crime / Mystery   eBook Favourites   

RRP £12.99

Notify me
when in stock

As soon as this book is back in stock we will send you an email.

Download an extract Discuss on Facebook Discuss this book on our Crime/Mystery/Thriller Facebook group Share this book

Lovereading view...

April 2013 eBook of the Month.

A frightening, dark, unnerving and powerful thriller that explores the lengths a father will go to find his daughter, and the darkness he is prepared to confront along the way. A professor of demonology, who says he is an atheist, is tempted / tricked into a trip to Venice to consult on an unnamed phenomenon. He is totally unprepared for what he confronts. This book is brilliantly written subtly demanding you read the next chapter and then the next... and then it's dark and you definitely need the lights on. Definitely one for fans of Linwood Barclay and Gillian Flynn.

If you like Andrew Pyper you might also like to read books by Joe Hill, Michael Marshall and Patricia Tyrrell.

Win a signed copy of stunning debut Blue Light Yokohama

We have 10 signed copies (using signed book plates) of Blue Light Yokohama, a stunning debut novel. It is a beautifully plotted police procedural set in Japan by Nicolas Obregon, a new British author. Evocative and serpentine, this marks the debut of a fresh new voice and a remarkable maverick detective with a difference.

To have a chance of winning this fantastic prize, click the button below. Please note that this draw is open only for UK residents and is free to enter, multiple entries from the same email address will only be counted once.

The draw closes on 6 November 2017. The winners will be notified by 12th November 2017.

Good luck!

Enter prize draw Draw closes: 06/11/2017

Synopsis

The Demonologist by Andrew Pyper

Professor David Ullman is among the world's leading authorities on demonic literature. Not that he's a believer.

He sees what he teaches as a branch of the imagination and nothing more. So when offered a luxury trip to Venice to consult on a 'phenomenon', he accepts, taking his 11-year-old daughter Tess with him. Amidst the decadent splendour of the city, David makes his way to the address he's been asked to visit. What he witnesses in the tiny attic room shakes him to the core: a man restrained in a chair, clearly insane. But what David hears the man say is worse. The voice of his father, dead for 30 years, repeating the last words he ever spoke to his son. Words that have left scars - and a mystery - behind. Terrified, David is determined to leave with Tess as quickly as possible. But he can't shake the feeling that something is following him. And then, before his eyes on the roof of their hotel, Tess disappears. But before she falls into the Grand Canal's waters, she utters a plea: Find me.

Reviews

'A smart, thrilling, utterly unnerving novel. Pyper's gift is that he deeply respects his readers, yet still insists on reducing them to quivering children. I like that in a writer' -- Gillian Flynn

'The Demonologist is that rare thing - a novel that is both genuinely terrifying and erudite. The research is excellent and lightly worn, the pace and cleverness of the plot thrilling, one of the most exciting works of fiction I've read for some time'
Kate Mosse

'Genuinely terrifying, don't-read-late-at-night stuff. Thrilling, compelling and beautifully written -- SJ Watson

'The Demonologist is a smart psychological thriller. Carefully crafted, claustrophobic and deeply, deeply creepy' Simon Toyne

'Richly crafted, deliriously scary and compulsively page-turning from beginning to end. Imagine The Exorcist and The Da Vinci Code as penned by Daphne du Maurier. Don't miss this one!' -- Jeffery Deaver

'As compelling and smoothly chilling a tale as you'll find this year. The Demonologist shows an enormously gifted writer at the top of his game, producing a novel of eerie menace and unique depth. Those of us who write supernatural stories do not throw the names Ira Levin, William Peter Blatty, and Peter Straub around lightly. You'll be hearing all three associated with Mr Pyper soon, and all such comparisons are warranted, the highest praise I can offer' -- Michael Koryta, New York Times Bestselling Author Of The Prophet

'Pyper is an intelligent writer, steeped in Miltonian symbolism, gifted with language ... This artful literary exploration of evil's manifestation makes for a sophisticated horror tale' KIRKUS

'A mesmerizing and melancholy narrative voice lends chilling credibility to this exceptional supernatural thriller' PUBLISHERS WEEKLY

'Andrew Pyper is a rare breed. Reading The Demonologist is like running through a house on fire- you've got to get through; nothing will stop you. And when you're out, brokenhearted and bewildered, you're left wondering if what happened was real. That's Pyper's brilliance: he does it so well you never see the fiction' -- Sarah Langan, Author Of The Missing

'Smart and astonishing ... The Demonologist holds a mirror to the reader and reveals the places where our deepest darkness lurks' -- Brunonia Barry, New York Times And International Best Selling Author Of The Lace Reader And The Map Of True Places

About the Author

Andrew Pyper

Andrew Pyper was born in Stratford, Ontario, in 1968. He received a BA and an MA in English Literature from McGill University in Montreal, as well as a law degree from the University of Toronto. He is the author of four bestselling novels, including THE GUARDIANS and LOST GIRLS. He is also the winner of the ARTHUR ELLIS AWARD.

Author photo © Heidi Pyper

More books by this author
Author 'Like for Like' recommendations

Loading similar books...
Loading other formats...

Book Info

Publication date

11th April 2013

Author

Andrew Pyper

More books by Andrew Pyper
Author 'Like for Like'
    recommendations

Author's Website

www.andrewpyper.com/

Author's Facebook Latest

Loading facebook updates...
Loading twitter updates...

Publisher

Orion (an Imprint of The Orion Publishing Group Ltd ) an imprint of Orion Publishing Co

Format

Paperback
304 pages

Categories

Thriller / Suspense
Crime / Mystery
eBook Favourites

Crime & mystery

ISBN

9781409122586

You'll always find what you never knew you were looking for and you're always spoilt for choice.

Helen Jones

A well laid out site, I love the fact that is separates paranormal fiction from fantasy and horror, which other sites don't.

Jen Rainbow

I love the 'like for like' author recommendations, it's like an old friend whispering in your ear.

Emma Caddick

Lovereading helps me decide what real people read.

Kerry Bridges

Hooked on books? Give Lovereading a go - for the chance to discover brilliant books, and to see why our members love it so.

Claire Hill

I love Lovereading for the wonderful like for like author recommendations and for highlighting new books, it's a great resource for readers!

Lindsay

I love that Lovereading handpicks very special debut reads.

Magda North

I love Lovereading because of its ability to connect people that love books & unite them in a friendly, stimulating & interesting community.

Megan Olwen William

Lovereading4kids

Lovereading4schools