A Treacherous Likeness

by Lynn Shepherd

Modern and Contemporary Fiction Books of the Month Crime and Mystery Historical fiction eBooks of the Month Literary Fiction

LoveReading Expert Review of A Treacherous Likeness

August 2013 Book of the Month.

The compelling follow-up to Tom-All-Alone’s. Lynn Shepherd once again uses rigorous research to explore and fictionalise the mysterious, apparent suicide of the first wife of Percy Bysshe Shelley. Perfect reading for fans of Sarah Waters and P.D. James’s Death Comes to Pemberley.

 

Click here to read the wonderful Lovereading Readers' Reviews for Tom-All-Alone's, the prequel to A Treacherous Likeness.

 

reader reviews

In addition to our Lovereading expert opinion for A Treacherous Likeness, a small number of Lovereading members were lucky enough to be invited to review this title - 'I was immediately transported to a world full of intrigue and secrecy, where the lives of real heroes collide with imaginary ones...Beautifully written, this is an irresistible read.' Scroll down to read more reviews.

Sarah Broadhurst

A Treacherous Likeness Synopsis

In the dying days of 1850 the young detective Charles Maddox takes on a new case. His client?

 

 

The only surviving son of the long-dead poet Percy Bysshe Shelley, and his wife Mary, author of Frankenstein. Charles soon finds himself being drawn into the bitter battle being waged over the poet's literary legacy, but then he makes a chance discovery that raises new doubts about the death of Shelley's first wife, Harriet, and he starts to question whether she did indeed kill herself, or whether what really happened was far more sinister than suicide.

As he's drawn deeper into the tangled web of the past, Charles discovers darker and more disturbing secrets, until he comes face to face with the terrible possibility that his own great-uncle is implicated in a conspiracy to conceal the truth that stretches back more than thirty years. The story of the Shelleys is one of love and death, of loss and betrayal. In this follow-up to the acclaimed Tom-All-Alone's, Lynn Shepherd offers her own fictional version of that story, which suggests new and shocking answers to mysteries that still persist to this day, and have never yet been fully explained.

About This Edition

ISBN: 9781780331683
Publication date: 1st August 2013
Author: Lynn Shepherd
Publisher: Corsair an imprint of Constable and Robinson
Format: Paperback
Primary Genre Modern and Contemporary Fiction
Other Genres:
Recommendations:
Win a Hardback of Alexander McCall Smith's The Joy and Light Bus Company and a Fortnum's Tea Basket.

Win a Hardback of Alexander McCall Smith's The Joy and Light Bus Company and a Fortnum's Tea Basket.

Closing date: 07/10/2021

The latest instalment of the No.1 Ladies' Detective Agency sees Mma Ramotswe return to take on a mystery much trickier than it initially appears.  To celebrate the release of The Joy and Light Bus Company by Alexander McCall Smith, we are working with Little, Brown Book Group in order to offer you a chance to win a hardback copy of the book and a Fortnum's Tea Basket. This draw is open only for UK residents currently in the UK and is free to enter, multiple entries from the same email address will only be counted once. The draw closes on 7th October 2021. Please ensure that the details you use to enter the competition will be correct at the time the competition ends. The winners will be notified as soon as possible.

Enter Now

What To Read After A Treacherous Likeness

Plague
The North Water
Burial Rites
The Woman in the Picture

A Treacherous Likeness Reader Reviews

We have asked a select number of members and browsers to review A Treacherous Likeness. You can read their reviews below. 

 

Francesca Ashurst - 'Lynn Shepherd’s stunning new novel ‘A Treacherous Likeness’ is so gripping that I couldn’t put it down.  I was immediately transported to a world full of intrigue and secrecy, where the lives of real heroes collide with imaginary ones...Beautifully written, this is an irresistible read.' Click here to read the full review.

 

Julie Bickerdyke - 'What a book! Lynn Shepherd has created a fabulous story that fits in well with known facts but has the reader shocked and horrified at times...The tale attempts to answer some of the many mysteries surrounding the Shelly’s and does so with very plausibly.' Click here to read the full review.

 

Sue Broom - 'Lynn Shepherd is such a talented author and is fast becoming one of my favourites...Her writing is a joy.  Fluent, lively, fast-paced and enthralling.' Click here to read the full review.

 

Megan Olwen Williams - 'The twists and turns in the novel never failed to surprise and delight me and meant it was impossible to disengage from the story or lose interest.' Click here to read the full review.

 

Stephanie Harding - 'This book has a very gothic feel running through it, no doubt because the subject is The Shelleys...A great book to read on a cold, foggy evening curled up in front of the fire.' Click here to read the full review.

Helen Sidebottom
- 'This book tells a complex story of the blindness of love which leads to betrayal and acts of despair.' Click here to read the full review.

 

Magda North - 'The writing is faultless and the research exquisite. Lynn Shepherd totally nails her era... If you're a fan of the romantic period you would get much more from this book.' Click here to read the full review.


Clare Topping -
' Just when you think that you have figured out the underlying plot the author adds in another twist to prove you wrong and make you change your mind about them all over again.  Definitely a worthy follow up to Tom-All-Alone’s.' Click here to read the full review.


Ray Orgill
- 'What caused the death of Harriet, the first wife of poet  Percy Bysshe Shelley, murder or suicide?  This is the theme running through this immaculately researched novel.' Click here to read the full review.

 

_____________________________________

 

Praise for Tom-All-Alone's:

 

"A brilliant and sinister remake of Bleak House, exposing the vicious underworld of Victorian London. Totally gripping." (John Carey)

 

"Dickens' world described with modern precision." (The Times)

"Beaitifully written...an absorbing read". (Literary Review)

 

"A necessary eye for squalor, meticulous research and deft plotting make this a book...you'll be guaranteed to enjoy." (Guardian)

Lynn Shepherd Press Reviews

We have asked a select number of members and browsers to review A Treacherous Likeness. You can read their reviews below. 

 

Francesca Ashurst - 'Lynn Shepherd’s stunning new novel ‘A Treacherous Likeness’ is so gripping that I couldn’t put it down.  I was immediately transported to a world full of intrigue and secrecy, where the lives of real heroes collide with imaginary ones...Beautifully written, this is an irresistible read.' Click here to read the full review.

 

Julie Bickerdyke - 'What a book! Lynn Shepherd has created a fabulous story that fits in well with known facts but has the reader shocked and horrified at times...The tale attempts to answer some of the many mysteries surrounding the Shelly’s and does so with very plausibly.' Click here to read the full review.

 

Sue Broom - 'Lynn Shepherd is such a talented author and is fast becoming one of my favourites...Her writing is a joy.  Fluent, lively, fast-paced and enthralling.' Click here to read the full review.

 

Megan Olwen Williams - 'The twists and turns in the novel never failed to surprise and delight me and meant it was impossible to disengage from the story or lose interest.' Click here to read the full review.

 

Stephanie Harding - 'This book has a very gothic feel running through it, no doubt because the subject is The Shelleys...A great book to read on a cold, foggy evening curled up in front of the fire.' Click here to read the full review.

Helen Sidebottom
- 'This book tells a complex story of the blindness of love which leads to betrayal and acts of despair.' Click here to read the full review.

 

Magda North - 'The writing is faultless and the research exquisite. Lynn Shepherd totally nails her era... If you're a fan of the romantic period you would get much more from this book.' Click here to read the full review.


Clare Topping -
' Just when you think that you have figured out the underlying plot the author adds in another twist to prove you wrong and make you change your mind about them all over again.  Definitely a worthy follow up to Tom-All-Alone’s.' Click here to read the full review.


Ray Orgill
- 'What caused the death of Harriet, the first wife of poet  Percy Bysshe Shelley, murder or suicide?  This is the theme running through this immaculately researched novel.' Click here to read the full review.

 

_____________________________________

 

Praise for Tom-All-Alone's:

 

"A brilliant and sinister remake of Bleak House, exposing the vicious underworld of Victorian London. Totally gripping." (John Carey)

 

"Dickens' world described with modern precision." (The Times)

"Beaitifully written...an absorbing read". (Literary Review)

 

"A necessary eye for squalor, meticulous research and deft plotting make this a book...you'll be guaranteed to enjoy." (Guardian)

Other editions of this book

ISBN: 9781780331683
Publication date: 01/08/2013
Format: Paperback

ISBN: 9781780331676
Publication date: 07/02/2013
Format: Hardback

View All Editions

About Lynn Shepherd

Lynn Shepherd lives near Oxford, with her husband. She studied English at Oxford in the 1980s, and went back to do a doctorate in 2003. In between she spent 15 years in business, first in the City, and later in PR and has been a professional copywriter for the last ten years. She published her first novel Murder at Mansfield Park in 2010. Find out more on www.lynn-shepherd.com.

More About Lynn Shepherd

More Books By Lynn Shepherd

A Treacherous Likeness
A Treacherous Likeness
View All Books By Lynn Shepherd

Share this book