rebus 30th anniversary eleanor oliphant books of the month
Search our site
The Stolen Bicycle by Ming-Yi Wu Read the opening extract of the brand new Ming-Yi Wu book before its publication on 26/10/2017

C. C. Humphreys Book and Novel

C. C. Humphreys - Author


C.C. Humphreys is an actor, playwright, fight choreographer and novelist.

‘My first job out of school was as a motorcycle messenger, based in St Giles, where much of Plague and Fire takes place. It was a ghastly slum in 1665, and thousands died horribly there in the Great Plague. And much of this area suffered during The Great Fire of London in 1666. I think many Londoners have a deep-buried memory of the devastating things that have happened to their city. Walking those streets again, it’s not hard to sense the bones just below the paving stones.’

Chris has written nine historical fiction novels including The French Executioner, the Jack Absolute Series, Vlad and Shakespeare’s Rebel. Fire is a thriller set in London 1666 and follows on from Plague..

If you like C. C. Humphreys you might also like to read books by Conn Iggulden, Simon Scarrow and Rory Clements.

Featured Books, with extracts, by C. C. Humphreys

Fire by C. C. Humphreys
Fire
C. C. Humphreys
First came Plague, now comes Fire. The epic tale of the hunt for a serial killer threatening London's rich and poor during the Great Fire of London. Perfect for fans of S J Parris and C J Sansom....
Format: Paperback - Released: 25/08/2016
Plague by C. C. Humphreys
Plague
C. C. Humphreys
A horrific tale not only of the plague (1665) but also of the crimes taking place under its cover. Gruesome and bloody, it tells of a series of murders where the victims are dismembered and carved up like cattle...
Format: Paperback - Released: 26/03/2015
Plague by C. C. Humphreys
Plague
C. C. Humphreys
A horrific tale not only of the plague (1665) but also of the crimes taking place under its cover. Gruesome and bloody, it tells of a series of murders where the victims are dismembered and carved up like cattle...
Format: Hardback - Released: 17/07/2014
Shakespeare's Rebel by C. C. Humphreys
Shakespeare's Rebel
C. C. Humphreys
C. C. Humphreys is an accomplished historical novelist not tied to any particular era, whose books have depicted Anne Boleyn’s executioner, Vlad the Impaler and Jack Absolute, the main character from Sheridan’s The Rivals. Shakespeare’s Rebel is a hugely enjoyable...
Format: Paperback - Released: 27/03/2014
A Place Called Armageddon by C. C. Humphreys
A Place Called Armageddon
C. C. Humphreys
One of our Great Reads You May Have Missed in 2012. Meticulous research, brilliant characterisation, compelling storytelling and stunning battle sequences bring this epic novel about one of Western civilisation's most traumatic events, the Fall of Constantinople, to life. From...
Format: Paperback - Released: 29/03/2012
Vlad: The Last Confession by C. C. Humphreys
Vlad: The Last Confession
C. C. Humphreys
An historical adventure steeped in blood and mystery and, in my opinion, C C Humpreys’ best book to date. This story of Vlad the Impaler, the real-life Dracula, contains no vampires, but offers an insight into a fascinating period of...
Format: Paperback - Released: 11/02/2010
Absolute Honour by C. C. Humphreys
Absolute Honour
C. C. Humphreys
The third Absolute episode from adventurer Jack's young life, full of swash, buckle and the odd ripping of bodice. It stands alone, you do not need to have read the other books or the original play, from which the character...
Format: Paperback (b Format) - Released: 04/04/2007
The Blooding of Jack Absolute by C. C. Humphreys
The Blooding of Jack Absolute
C. C. Humphreys
Just as Flashman first appeared as the bully in Tom Brownâs Schooldays and was given a glorious life by George Macdonald Fraser, so Jack Absolute, created by Sheridan for The Rivals, now has his life expanded by C C Humphreys. ...
Format: Paperback - Released: 16/11/2005
The Blooding of Jack Absolute by C. C. Humphreys
The Blooding of Jack Absolute
C. C. Humphreys
The second in the Jack Absolute series this time as a prequel to the 1st book, Jack Absolute. Brilliant Historical swashbuckling with plenty of damsels in various states of distress
Format: Hardback - Released: 20/01/2005
Jack Absolute by C. C. Humphreys
Jack Absolute
C. C. Humphreys
The first in a new character series from the author of the wonderful The French Executioner. It is 1777, and Jack Absolute is off to crush the American Revolution. There are natural comparisons with the Sharpe novels but Humphreys is...
Format: Paperback - Released: 18/11/2004

Loading other books by C. C. Humphreys...


Author Info

Author's Website

www.cchumphreys.com

Author's Facebook

Find C. C. Humphreys on Facebook

Author's Facebook Latest

Loading facebook updates...
Loading twitter updates...

Did you know

At Lovereading you can download and read an Opening Extract and an online review of books by C. C. Humphreys and hundreds of other authors.

Author 'Like for Like' recommendations


Books of the month/debuts of the month, kids/adults, fiction/non-fiction, free prize draws and free extracts, what's not to love?

Emma Smith

Discover new authors and enjoy old favourites; oodles of literary gems to uncover at Lovereading with candid reviews from real reviewers.

Emily Wright

Love books. Love reading. Love reading books. And, here's the trick. Here's a website which caters for people like me.

Ian Harvey-brown

The selections are so varied and the reader reviews are so helpful. A fantastic website for those who love books.

Ann Quintilla

Insightful reader reviews and unbiased recommendations. I don't know how I chose books before Lovereading! An essential for all book lovers.

Sarah Harper

I love reading because my cares & woes vanish for an hour or two whilst I read of the joys, adventures, lives of the characters in the book.

Jennifer Moville

A great place to go to find your next literary escape, and where you don't have to judge a book by its cover!

Suzanne Beney

Ever purchased a book, read a few pages & thought I'm not going to enjoy this? Honest book reviews mean you'll never have that problem again

Jill Peters

Lovereading4kids

Lovereading4schools