Lynn Shepherd - Author

About the Author

Lynn Shepherd lives near Oxford, with her husband. She studied English at Oxford in the 1980s, and went back to do a doctorate in 2003. In between she spent 15 years in business, first in the City, and later in PR and has been a professional copywriter for the last ten years. She published her first novel Murder at Mansfield Park in 2010. Find out more on www.lynn-shepherd.com.

Featured books by Lynn Shepherd

A Treacherous Likeness

A Treacherous Likeness

Author: Lynn Shepherd Format: Paperback Release Date: 01/08/2013

August 2013 Book of the Month. The compelling follow-up to Tom-All-Alone’s. Lynn Shepherd once again uses rigorous research to explore and fictionalise the mysterious, apparent suicide of the first wife of Percy Bysshe Shelley. Perfect reading for fans of Sarah Waters and P.D. James’s Death Comes to Pemberley.   Click here to read the wonderful Lovereading Readers' Reviews for Tom-All-Alone's, the prequel to A Treacherous Likeness.   In addition to our Lovereading expert opinion for A Treacherous Likeness, a small number of Lovereading members were lucky enough to be invited to review this title - 'I was immediately transported to a world full of intrigue and secrecy, where the lives of real heroes collide with imaginary ones...Beautifully written, this is an irresistible read.' Scroll down to read more reviews.

eBooks of the Month
Tom-All-Alone's

Tom-All-Alone's

Author: Lynn Shepherd Format: Paperback Release Date: 06/09/2012

One of our Great Reads You May Have Missed in 2012. Described by the author as an homage to Charles Dickens but also an incredibly well researched and re-imagined, gripping Victorian murder mystery based on his classic Bleak House. Where Dickens just hinted at Lynn Shepherd immerses you in a grim London underworld in which girls as young as ten work the night as prostitutes, unwanted babies are ruthlessly disposed of, and those who threaten the rank and reputations of great men are eliminated at once, and without remorse.    September 2012 Book of the Month.   In addition to our Lovereading expert opinion for Tom-All-Alone's a small number of Lovereading members were lucky enough to be invited to review this title - 'a very clever, extremely entertaining and highly addictive read and one I couldn’t recommend highly enough.'  Scroll down to read more reviews.

eBooks of the Month

Other books by Lynn Shepherd

The London Vampire

The London Vampire

Author: Lynn Shepherd Format: Paperback Release Date: 29/09/2022

The London Vampire by Lynn Shepherd

The Frankenstein Monster

The Frankenstein Monster

Author: Lynn Shepherd Format: Paperback Release Date: 29/09/2022

The Frankenstein Monster by Lynn Shepherd

The Man in Black

The Man in Black

Author: Lynn Shepherd Format: Paperback Release Date: 09/06/2022

London, 1850: The Dickensian streets grow darker by the day. Private investigator Charles Maddox is surprised when he is approached by Edward Tulkinghorn for help. The feared and shadowy attorney offers Charles a handsome price he can't refuse to do some sleuthing for a client. Charles learns that Sir Julius Cremorne has been receiving threatening letters, and now Tulkinghorn wants him to find and stop whoever is responsible. But what starts as a simple, open-and-shut case swiftly escalates into something bigger and much darker. As he cascades toward a collision with powerful forces, Charles will need all the assistance he can get... The Man in Black takes a classic Charles Dickens novel and plummets readers into a newly reimagined and mysterious world. Fans of The Confessions of Frannie Langton and Stacey Halls will love this. Previously published as The Solitary House.

The Mansfield Park Murder

The Mansfield Park Murder

Author: Lynn Shepherd Format: Paperback Release Date: 09/06/2022

A Jane Austen heroine murdered. A literary villain turned hero. And an investigator between it all. The year is 1814 when Fanny Price is found murdered in Mansfield Park. Once a rich heiress who was spoiled, condescending, and generally hated throughout the county. But her death is none-the-less haunting. It then takes Mary Crawford, who is now as good as Fanny was bad, to team up with a thief-taker, Charles Maddox, from London to solve the brutal crime. But with dramatic confrontations comes consequences... some even deadly. A twisted take on Mansfield Park, Shepherd brings a brilliantly entertaining novel that offers Jane Austen fans an engaging new heroine - and mystery laced in every chapter. Previously published as Murder at Mansfield Park.

Murder at Mansfield Park

Murder at Mansfield Park

Author: Lynn Shepherd Format: Ebook Release Date: 15/12/2011

Ever wondered what it would have been like if Jane Austen had turned her hand to murder? Murder at Mansfield Park takes Austen's masterpiece and turns it into a riveting murder story worthy of PD James or Agatha Christie. Just as in many classic English detective mysteries, this new novel opens with a group of characters in a country house setting, with passions running high, and simmering tensions beneath the elegant Regency surface. The arrival of the handsome and debonair Henry Crawford and his sister forces these tensions into the open, and sparks a chain of events that leads inexorably to violence and death. Beautifully written, with an absolute faithfulness to the language in use at the time, Murder at Mansfield Park is both a good old-fashioned murder mystery that keeps the reader guessing until the very last page, and a sparklingly clever inversion of the original, which goes to the heart of many of the questions raised by Jane Austen's text. Austen's Mansfield Park is radically different from any of her other works, and much of the pleasure of Lynn Shepherd's novel lies in the way it takes the characters and episodes in the original, and turns them into a lighter, sharper, and more playful book, with a new heroine at its centre - a heroine who owes far more to the lively and spirited Elizabeth Bennet, than the dreary and insipid Fanny Price.