Becoming a member of the LoveReading community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unadulterated book loving, with your favourite books saved to your own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop Plus lots lots more…

Find out more

The Gormenghast Trilogy

by Mervyn Peake

Science Fiction eBooks of the Month Literary Fiction

LoveReading Expert Review of The Gormenghast Trilogy

June 2012 Guest Editor Joanne Harris on Gormenghast...

Dense, ominous, strange and compelling, Peake’s masterwork defies categorization, and continues to offer new insights and perspectives at every re-reading. The story of a community steeped in ritual, living out of time, it chronicles the birth and coming of age of Titus, Earl of Gormenghast, his struggle for identity in a world of traditions that have long since become meaningless, his fight against his destiny and his eventual confrontation with his arch-rival and nemesis, the twisted, ambitious Steerpike.

Books in The Gormenghast Trilogy:

1. Titus Groan

2. Gormenghast

3. Titus Alone

Serial Reader? Check out our 'Fall in Love With a Book Series' collection to find amazing book series to dive in to.

Visit our '50 Classics Everyone Should Read' collection to discover more classic titles.


The Gormenghast Trilogy Synopsis

Gormenghast is the vast, crumbling castle to which the seventy-seventh Earl, Titus Groan, is lord and heir. Titus is expected to rule this gothic labyrinth of turrets and dungeons, and his eccentric and wayward subjects, according to strict age-old rituals, but things are changing in the castle. Titus must contend with treachery, manipulation and murder as well as his own longing for a life beyond the castle walls.

About This Edition

ISBN: 9780099288893
Publication date: 1st May 1999
Author: Mervyn Peake
Publisher: Vintage Classics an imprint of Vintage
Format: Paperback
Pagination: 960 pages
Collections: 50 Classics Everyone Should Read, 80 Book Series and Trilogies to Fall in Love With , 45 Novels With A Gothic Influence,
Primary Genre Science Fiction
Other Genres:

Like For Like Featured Books

Radio Free Albemuth
Consider Phlebas
The Medusa Chronicles
The Thing Itself

Mervyn Peake Press Reviews

This epic trilogy centring on Titus, 77th Earl of Groan and heir to the delapidated castle of Gormenghast, is an imaginative tour de force. The novels are peopled with a host of memorable characters such as Titus's sister Fuchsia and the crafty Steerpike, while the shadowy, monstrous castle itself surrounded by the mud huts of the 'outer dwellings
are brilliantly created. These gothic fantasy novels were written between 1946 and 1959, and British author Peake also provided the evocative illustrations. (Kirkus UK)

Other editions of this book

ISBN: 9780099288893
Publication date: 01/05/1999
Format: Paperback

View All Editions

About Mervyn Peake

Mervyn Peake was born in 1911. He is perhaps most famous for the 'Gormenghast' trilogy which were published between 1946 and 1959 - Titus Groan, Gormenghast and Titus Alone. He has also written a book for children, Captain Slaughterboard Drops Anchor and several volumes of poetry. He was also a gifted book illustrator. He died in 1968.

More About Mervyn Peake

More Books By Mervyn Peake

The Gormenghast Trilogy
The Gormenghast Trilogy
The Gormenghast Trilogy
View All Books By Mervyn Peake

Share this book