eleanor oliphant debuts of the month win prizes
Search our site
The Stolen Bicycle by Ming-Yi Wu Read the opening extract of the brand new Ming-Yi Wu book before its publication on 26/10/2017

Sacrilege by S. J. Parris
  

Sacrilege

Historical Fiction   eBook Favourites   eBook Favourites   

RRP £9.99

Notify me
when in stock

As soon as this book is back in stock we will send you an email.

Download an extract Share this book

Lovereading view...

Featured on The Book Show on Sky Arts at the Hay Festival on 5 June 2012.

We loved her debut Heresy, with the ex-monk turned secret agent Giordano Bruno and the follow up historical mystery, Sacrilege, is just as gripping. Assassinations, threats of plague and dark secrets hidden in the crypt of Canterbury Cathedral prove a formidable challenge for renaissance man Bruno, who is also battling with demons of his own. If you enjoy authors like C J Sansom then we think you will find it hard to resist.

If you like S. J. Parris you might also like to read books by James Forrester, Claire Letemendia and C. J. Sansom.

Synopsis

Sacrilege by S. J. Parris

Perfect for fans of C.J. Sansom and The Name of the Rose, the third historical thriller featuring Giordano Bruno, heretic, philosopher and spy. In the pursuit of power, nothing is sacred! Summer, 1584. The Protestant Prince William of Orange has been assassinated by a fanatical Catholic, and there are whispers that Queen Elizabeth will be next. Fear haunts the streets of London, and plague is driving many citizens away. Giordano Bruno, radical philosopher and spy, chooses to remain, only to find that someone is following him through the city. Confronting his stalker, he realizes it is the woman he once loved -- she is on the run, having been accused of murder. Bruno travels to Canterbury to help clear her name, and also on behalf of Sir Francis Walsingham. The Queen's spymaster has long suspected Catholic influence in the ancient centre of pilgrimage, and instructs Bruno to work to expose any enemy plots. As Bruno begins his hunt for the real killer, he is drawn into the heart of a sinister conspiracy hiding in the shadow of England's holiest shrine!

Reviews

Praise for S. J. Parris:

'Impossible to resist...Parris creates a convincing sense of the past, woven with so much intrigue that the head fairly spins'
Daily Telegraph

'It has everything -- intrigue, mystery and excellent history'
Kate Mosse

'Parris writes with confident ease of Tudor London...The dialogue balances nicely on a tightrope of period phrases and cut-to-the-chase colloquialisms. More, please.'
The Times

'Full of surprises ! an imaginatively satisfying addition to the many real intrigues surrounding the imprisoned Mary Stuart and the threats to Elizabeth's security'
TLS

'Fascinating...The period is incredibly vivid and the story utterly gripping'
Conn Iggulden

'A brilliantly unusual glimpse at the intrigues surrounding Queen Elizabth I'
Andrew Taylor, bestselling author of The American Boy

About the Author

S. J. Parris

S.J. Parris is the pseudonym of author and journalist Stephanie Merritt. It was as a student in Cambridge researching a paper on the period that Stephanie first became fascinated by the rich history of Tudor England and Renaissance Europe. Since then, her interest has grown and led her to create this series of historical thrillers featuring Giordano Bruno.

Stephanie has worked as a critic and feature writer for a variety of newspapers and magazines as well as radio and television. She currently writes for the Observer and the Guardian, and lives in Surrey with her son.

More books by this author
Author 'Like for Like' recommendations

Loading similar books...
Loading other formats...

Book Info

Publication date

26th April 2012

Author

S. J. Parris

More books by S. J. Parris
Author 'Like for Like'
    recommendations

Author's Website

www.sjparris.com/

Author's Facebook Latest

Loading facebook updates...
Loading twitter updates...

Publisher

HarperCollins Publishers Ltd an imprint of HarperCollins Publishers

Format

Hardback
416 pages

Categories

Historical Fiction
eBook Favourites
eBook Favourites

Historical mysteries

ISBN

9780007317769

It's the first site that I visit when deciding on the next set of books to buy. A particular treat is being able to download an extract.

Tessa Olson

I read new, exciting writers and established authors before publication and there is a great website full of brilliant books and opinions.

Lynda

Lovereading - a community of people passionate about reading and sharing their views. An incomparable website for book lovers.

Helen Clark

I love that Lovereading handpicks very special debut reads.

Magda North

You'll always find what you never knew you were looking for and you're always spoilt for choice.

Helen Jones

I love 'try before you buy' extracts. I love the wide range of authors & genres. I love the author info. I love books!

Judi Davies

Lovereading has given me the opportunity to delve into new and exciting worlds of authors who I would never have tried before.

Glynis Elliott

It's a lively, independent website with reviews, recommendations and more - with a huge range of books available to buy in all formats.

Alison Layland

Lovereading4kids

Lovereading4schools