Christie Dickason - Author

About the Author

Christie Dickason was born in the USA in the state of Indiana, but grew up in homes all over the world, including Mexico, Thailand (where she received formal dance instruction with a princess in the royal court of Bangkok), and Switzerland.

Though she has written since the age of five, she began to take it seriously when she found herself seriously ill in hospital. In the following nine months of convalescence, she wrote her first, but unacknowledged, novel, which is composting quietly somewhere in a file drawer but led to a commission for the first published novel.

Her first two novels were political thrillers centred on a strong French-Vietnamese heroine. The Dragon Riders (published in the US as Indochine) explored the explosive early days of the French-controlled drug trade in Indochina in the 1920s and the deadly shift from legitimate business to Mafia Rule. The Tears of the Tiger, her second book, involved the search for missing American POWs and the dangerous love affairs of the heroine with a Vietnamese war lord and his rival, an American undercover agent. Both books were international bestsellers.

Now settled in East Sheen, London, Christie travels in her latest novel The Firemaster’s Mistress back to 1605 to look at an unknown side of conspiracy, treason and romance. The novel is a romantic historical thriller, which explores and challenges our image of the infamous Gunpowder Plot.

Featured books by Christie Dickason

Other books by Christie Dickason

The Noble Assassin

The Noble Assassin

Author: Christie Dickason Format: Paperback Release Date: 24/11/2011

A thrilling account of one of English history's most daring women, who risked everything in the dark days leading up to the Civil War. The perfect novel for fans of Suzannah Dunn and Phillipa Gregory. Court beauty, Lucy Russell, Countess of Bedford, feels frustrated by life with her weak husband. Poverty stricken, they are confined to their country estate and excluded from court life in London after he disastrously allies himself against Elizabeth I. Now, some years later, James I is seated on the English throne. His daughter, Elizabeth Stuart, former confidant of Lucy, has married the King of Bohemia. The precarious political situation in Europe is fraught, setting father against daughter. When Elizabeth and her husband are deposed, exiled and forced on the run, James is in no mood to come to Elizabeth's aid. Hearing of Elizabeth's predicament, Lucy sees an opportunity to re-establish the Bedford name and offers herself as a peace envoy between the two parties. Setting out on a daring mission across the channel, Lucy discovers she is being manipulated by unscrupulous men, not least the calculating and darkly handsome Duke of Buckingham. Can Lucy tread this most dangerous path, or by risking everything, will she pay the ultimate price?

The Memory Palace

The Memory Palace

Author: Christie Dickason Format: Paperback Release Date: 01/08/2009

An epic love story set in the period of Music and Silence, for readers of Rose Tremain and Philippa Gregory. 1639. Zeal Beester, mistress of the rolling Hampshire estate of Hawkridge, is pregnant, unwed, and the King has banished her lover to the New World. The Puritan Praise-God Gifford will have her burnt at the stake for depravity. To save herself and the child, Zeal becomes the wife of Philip Wentworth, an ageing soldier and adventurer. But Philip's extraordinary tales of El Dorado only remind her of her exiled lover. As the chaos of Civil War approaches, Zeal begins to rebuild Hawkridge House as the Memory Palace and the secret map of her heart. Part maze, part theatre, part great country house, it enrages the Puritans and inspires in one twisted soul a hatred and envy that only death will satisfy. Should the King be killed, Zeal's lover may return only to find Zeal and the child in their graves...

Quicksilver

Quicksilver

Author: Christie Dickason Format: Paperback Release Date: 07/08/2000

Not exactly a sequel, but a novel written in parallel with the superb The Lady Tree, in other words sharing some of the same characters but entirely independent of the first book. Is there such a thing as a werewolf? Quicksilver is no horror story, but in its fabulously vivid recreation of 17th Century England and Holland, it portrays a young man suffering from lycanthropy - when a man believes himself to be a wolf. This was a time when medical science was undergoing vast changes and the discovery of the New World was yielding up all sorts of new plants and drugs, and Christie Dickason weaves a pulsating story of intrigue, adventure and romance around this extraordinary set of circumstances.

Author Info

Twitter Updates

If this is your author page then you can share your Twitter updates with your readers right here on LoveReading

Find out more

Facebook Updates

If this is your author page then you can share your Facebook updates with your readers right here on LoveReading

Find out more