Johannes Cabal : The Fear Institute

by Jonathan L. Howard

eBooks of the Month Horror

LoveReading View on Johannes Cabal : The Fear Institute

The third in the series featuring anti-hero Johannes Cabal who has been employed by the Fear Institute to track and destroy Phobic Animus - the source of all fear in dreams. Dryly witty and full of clever dialogue it is a highly enjoyable fantasy read. You don't have to read the books in series but if you do start with Johannes Cabal the Necromancer then Johannes Cabal the Detective. They are a must for fans of Terry Pratchett and Tim Burton.

Sarah Broadhurst

Johannes Cabal : The Fear Institute Synopsis

Johannes Cabal and his rather inexact powers of necromancy are back once more. This time, his talents are purchased by The Fear Institute as they hunt for the Phobic Animus - the embodiment of fear. The three Institute members, led by Cabal and his Silver Key, enter the Dreamlands and find themselves pursued by walking trees plagued with giant ticks, stone men that patrol the ruins of their castles, cats that feed on human flesh and phobias which torment and devastate. The intrepid explorers are killed off one by one as they traipse through this obfuscating and frustrating world, where history itself appears to alter. Cabal, annoyed that the quest is becoming increasingly heroic, finds himself alone with the Institute's only remaining survivor, and after a shockingly violent experiment, begins to suspect that not everything is quite as it seems...

Johannes Cabal : The Fear Institute Press Reviews

'Readers, rejoice; Johannes Cabal is back... Howard's Dreamlands will thrill fans of H. P Lovecraft, but Cabal leaves a permanent mark on even the most fluid of landscapes, and Howard's writing shines, sketching out a personality both fascinating and heartbreaking, on an adventure that reverberates from Dreamlands to the waking world, with a future that every reader must hope involves many more stories to come'
www.bookgeeks.co.uk

 

'There are thrills. Laughter. Tears. I am almost inclined to say this is the best Johannes Cabal book yet. Until the next one, I suspect. Read it. You'll be hooked
Dracula Society Newsletter

If you loved this, you might like these...

The Heart of Mars
A Clockwork Heart Chronicles of Light and Shadow
A Conspiracy of Alchemists Chronicles of Light and Shadow
The Night Circus

All versions of this book

ISBN: 9780755348008
Publication date: 16/02/2012
Publisher: Headline Book Publishing an imprint of Headline Publishing Group
Format: Paperback

Book Information

ISBN: 9780755348008
Publication date: 16th February 2012
Author: Jonathan L. Howard
Publisher: Headline Book Publishing an imprint of Headline Publishing Group
Format: Paperback
Pagination: 352 pages
Genres: eBook Favourites, Horror,
Categories: Fantasy,

About Jonathan L. Howard

Jonathan L. Howard is a game designer, scriptwriter, and a veteran of the computer games industry since the early 'nineties with titles such as the 'Broken Sword' series to his credit. He lives in the United Kingdom with his wife and daughter.   Author photo © Emma L.B.K. Smith

More About Jonathan L. Howard

More Books By Jonathan L. Howard

Cover for Johannes Cabal the Detective by Jonathan L. Howard
View All Books By Jonathan L. Howard

Share this book