likeyoulove
Search our site
The Sapphire Widow by Dinah Jefferies Read the opening extract of the brand new Dinah Jefferies book before its publication on 05/04/2018

Johannes Cabal : The Fear Institute by Jonathan L. Howard
  

Johannes Cabal : The Fear Institute

Horror   eBook Favourites   
Download an extract Share this book

Selected by Sarah Broadhurst

The third in the series featuring anti-hero Johannes Cabal who has been employed by the Fear Institute to track and destroy Phobic Animus - the source of all fear in dreams. Dryly witty and full of clever dialogue it is a highly enjoyable fantasy read. You don't have to read the books in series but if you do start with Johannes Cabal the Necromancer then Johannes Cabal the Detective. They are a must for fans of Terry Pratchett and Tim Burton.

If you like Jonathan L. Howard you might also like to read books by Erin Morgenstern, Jesse Bullington and Paul Magrs.

Who is Sarah Broadhurst

Synopsis

Johannes Cabal : The Fear Institute by Jonathan L. Howard

Johannes Cabal and his rather inexact powers of necromancy are back once more. This time, his talents are purchased by The Fear Institute as they hunt for the Phobic Animus - the embodiment of fear. The three Institute members, led by Cabal and his Silver Key, enter the Dreamlands and find themselves pursued by walking trees plagued with giant ticks, stone men that patrol the ruins of their castles, cats that feed on human flesh and phobias which torment and devastate. The intrepid explorers are killed off one by one as they traipse through this obfuscating and frustrating world, where history itself appears to alter. Cabal, annoyed that the quest is becoming increasingly heroic, finds himself alone with the Institute's only remaining survivor, and after a shockingly violent experiment, begins to suspect that not everything is quite as it seems...

Reviews

'Readers, rejoice; Johannes Cabal is back... Howard's Dreamlands will thrill fans of H. P Lovecraft, but Cabal leaves a permanent mark on even the most fluid of landscapes, and Howard's writing shines, sketching out a personality both fascinating and heartbreaking, on an adventure that reverberates from Dreamlands to the waking world, with a future that every reader must hope involves many more stories to come'
www.bookgeeks.co.uk

'There are thrills. Laughter. Tears. I am almost inclined to say this is the best Johannes Cabal book yet. Until the next one, I suspect. Read it. You'll be hooked
Dracula Society Newsletter

About the Author

Jonathan L. Howard

Jonathan L. Howard is a game designer, scriptwriter, and a veteran of the computer games industry since the early 'nineties with titles such as the 'Broken Sword' series to his credit. He lives in the United Kingdom with his wife and daughter.

Author photo © Emma L.B.K. Smith

More books by this author
Author 'Like for Like' recommendations

Loading similar books...
Loading other formats...

Book Info

Publication date

16th February 2012

Author

Jonathan L. Howard

More books by Jonathan L. Howard
Author 'Like for Like'
    recommendations

Author's Website

johannescabal.com/

Author's Facebook Latest

Loading facebook updates...
Loading twitter updates...

Publisher

Headline Book Publishing an imprint of Headline Publishing Group

Format

Paperback
352 pages

Categories

Horror
eBook Favourites

Fantasy

ISBN

9780755348008

Lovereading takes the guesswork out of finding your next read with "if you like you'll love" and extracts to help with your decision.

Sarah Bruch

As for why I'd recommend Lovereading, it's simple - it's a great place to get information and reviews about new books!

Margaret Freeman

With literary excellence, humour and drama, Lovereading's got value and is a real stress-calmer!

Siobhan McDowell

I love the newsletter with reviews of all the new books coming out. Can't wait to open it when it arrives in my inbox.

Rachel Aygin

It is a website dedicated to those who adore reading It really is a one stop shop for book lovers. Love it!

Edel Waugh

It gives a chance to read about new titles, invites comments from all kinds of readers and is run by such a nice bunch of book lovers.

Joy Bosworth

My horizons have been broadened by some of the books I have been lucky to review and I expect it to be no different in the future.

Daran Bellingham

Lovereading does a stella job in promoting both new and established authors.

Iris Clements

Lovereading4kids

Lovereading4schools