Natalie Haynes - Author

About the Author

natelie hatnes interviewNatalie Haynes is a writer, broadcaster, reviewer and classicist. She was once a stand-up comic, but retired when she realised she preferred tragedy to comedy. Always keen to be paid for what she would be reading anyway, she judged the Theakston's Old Peculier Crime Novel of the Year in 2010, The Women's Prize for Fiction in 2012, and the Man Booker Prize in 2013. The Amber Fury is her first novel.

 

CLICK HERE to download an exclusive Twinterview where Joss Whedon chats with Natalie Haynes

 

Picture Credit: Dan Mersh

Featured books by Natalie Haynes

Pandora's Jar

Pandora's Jar

Author: Natalie Haynes Format: Hardback Release Date: 01/10/2020

You are encouraged to view the Greek myths in a completely new way with this fascinating book that focuses rather wonderfully on the women from the tales. Natalie Haynes “redresses the imbalance… she puts the women of the Greek myths on equal footing with the menfolk”. She has chosen ten women and here we see how they were actually viewed in the ancient world. These are stories that include Hera, Athena, Artemis, Eurydice, and Penelope. As the author explains, of the eight tragedies written by Eurpides that survive today, seven were titled by women, only one included a man. Yet over the years the stories have altered, the women have been overshadowed, made into monsters,  or they even brought about the downfall of men. “Which version of a story we choose to tell... reflect both the teller and the reader. They are not villains, victims, wives and monsters: they are people”. Pandora’s Jar really is the most interesting and readable book, it sits on the Liz Picks of the Month and comes as highly recommended by me.

Liz Robinson's Picks of the Month
The Amber Fury

The Amber Fury

Author: Natalie Haynes Format: Paperback Release Date: 06/11/2014

One of the Top 10 books in the Lovereading Readers’ Choice Book of the Year 2014. One of our Books of the Year 2014. Despite borrowing both plot and inspiration from the Classics, The Amber Fury remains an easy, accessible read.  Escaping the sudden and cruel loss of her fiancé, Alex moves from London to start a new life in Edinburgh, but she can’t resist the pull of the past and unbeknownst to her, her pupils (and one in particular) become entangled in a further tragedy of Greek proportions.  A psychological teaser which combines both menace and tension in equal measures.   November 2014 Debut of the Month.   In addition to our Lovereading expert opinion some of our Reader Review Panel were also lucky enough to read and review this title.

eBooks of the Month
A Thousand Ships

A Thousand Ships

Author: Natalie Haynes Format: Paperback Release Date: 23/07/2020

Shortlisted for the Women's Prize for Fiction 2020 One of the Guardian's and TLS's 'Best Books of 2019' In A Thousand Ships, broadcaster and classicist Natalie Haynes retells the story of the Trojan War from an all-female perspective, for fans of Madeline Miller and Pat Barker. This was never the story of one woman, or two. It was the story of them all . . . In the middle of the night, a woman wakes to find her beloved city engulfed in flames. Ten seemingly endless years of conflict between the Greeks and the Trojans are over. Troy has fallen. From the Trojan women whose fates now lie in the hands of the Greeks, to the Amazon princess who fought Achilles on their behalf, to Penelope awaiting the return of Odysseus, to the three goddesses whose feud started it all, these are the stories of the women embroiled in the legendary war. Powerfully told from an all-female perspective, in A Thousand Ships Natalie Haynes puts the women, girls and goddesses at the centre of the story. 'With her trademark passion, wit, and fierce feminism, Natalie Haynes gives much-needed voice to the silenced women of the Trojan War' - Madeline Miller, author of Circe 'A gripping feminist masterpiece' - Deborah Frances-White, The Guilty Feminist

Other books by Natalie Haynes

Pandora's Jar

Pandora's Jar

Author: Natalie Haynes Format: Paperback Release Date: 13/05/2021

'Funny, sharp explications of what these sometimes not-very-nice women were up to, and how they sometimes made idiots of . . . but read on!' - Margaret Atwood, author of The Handmaid's Tale The Greek myths are among the world's most important cultural building blocks and they have been retold many times, but rarely do they focus on the remarkable women at the heart of these ancient stories. Stories of gods and monsters are the mainstay of epic poetry and Greek tragedy, from Homer to Aeschylus, Sophocles and Euripides, from the Trojan War to Jason and the Argonauts. And still, today, a wealth of novels, plays and films draw their inspiration from stories first told almost three thousand years ago. But modern tellers of Greek myth have usually been men, and have routinely shown little interest in telling women's stories. And when they do, those women are often painted as monstrous, vengeful or just plain evil. But Pandora - the first woman, who according to legend unloosed chaos upon the world - was not a villain, and even Medea and Phaedra have more nuanced stories than generations of retellings might indicate. Now, in Pandora's Jar: Women in the Greek Myths, Natalie Haynes - broadcaster, writer and passionate classicist - redresses this imbalance. Taking Pandora and her jar (the box came later) as the starting point, she puts the women of the Greek myths on equal footing with the menfolk. After millennia of stories telling of gods and men, be they Zeus or Agamemnon, Paris or Odysseus, Oedipus or Jason, the voices that sing from these pages are those of Hera, Athena and Artemis, and of Clytemnestra, Jocasta, Eurydice and Penelope.

The Children of Jocasta

The Children of Jocasta

Author: Natalie Haynes Format: Paperback Release Date: 04/05/2017

In The Children of Jocasta, Natalie Haynes takes a fresh perspective on an ancient story, reimagining in gripping prose how the Oedipus and Antigone stories would look if the oft-overlooked female characters took centre stage. Retelling the myth to reveal a new side of an ancient story . . . My siblings and I have grown up in a cursed house, children of cursed parents . . . Jocasta is just fifteen when she is told that she must marry the King of Thebes, an old man she has never met. Her life has never been her own, and nor will it be, unless she outlives her strange, absent husband. Ismene is the same age when she is attacked in the palace she calls home. Since the day of her parents' tragic deaths a decade earlier, she has always longed to feel safe with the family she still has. But with a single act of violence, all that is about to change. With the turn of these two events, a tragedy is set in motion. But not as you know it.

Furies

Furies

Author: Natalie Haynes Format: Ebook Release Date: 26/08/2014

"e;Steady pacing paired with well-timed foreshadowing and fully realized characters make this one compelling from the beginning. Fans of Donna Tartt's The Secret History (1992), Erin Kelly's The Poison Tree (2011), and Tana French's The Likeness (2008) will likely enjoy the new perspective Haynes' conversational style offers to similar material."e; -Booklist After losing her fiance in a shocking tragedy, Alex Morris moves from London to Edinburgh to make a break with the past. Formerly an actress, Alex accepts a job teaching drama therapy at a school commonly referred to as "e;The Unit,"e; a last-chance learning community for teens expelled from other schools in the city. Her students have troubled pasts and difficult personalities, and Alex is an inexperienced teacher, terrified of what she's taken on and drowning in grief.Her most challenging class is an intimidating group of teenagers who have been given up on by everyone before her. But Alex soon discovers that discussing the Greek tragedies opens them up in unexpected ways, and she gradually develops a rapport with them. But are these tales of cruel fate and bloody revenge teaching more than Alex ever intended? And who becomes responsible when these students take the tragedies to heart, and begin interweaving their darker lessons into real life with terrible and irrevocable fury?Natalie Haynes' The Furies is a psychologically complex, dark and twisting novel about loss, obsession and the deep tragedies that can connect us to each other even as they blind us to our fate.

The Ancient Guide to Modern Life

The Ancient Guide to Modern Life

Author: Natalie Haynes Format: Paperback Release Date: 03/05/2012

It's time for us to re-examine the past. Our lives are infinitely richer if we take the time to look at what the Greeks and Romans have given us in politics and law, religion and philosophy and education, and to learn how people really lived in Athens, Rome, Sparta and Alexandria. This is a book with a serious point to make but the author isn't simply a classicist but a comedian and broadcaster who has made television and radio documentaries about humour, education and Dorothy Parker. This is a book for us all. Whether political, cultural or social, there are endless parallels between the ancient and modern worlds. Whether it's the murder of Caesar or the political assassination of Thatcher; the narrative arc of the hit HBO series The Wire or that of Oedipus; the popular enthusiasm for the Emperor Titus or President Obama - over and over again we can be seen to be living very much like people did 2,000 or more years ago.

Die tollkuhne Flucht

Die tollkuhne Flucht

Author: Natalie Haynes Format: Ebook Release Date: 11/02/2011

Kater Max hat sieben Leben. Und er wird jedes einzelne davon brauchen ...Wenn ein Kater sprechen konnte, dann wurde er wahrscheinlich genauso klingen wie Max. Max kommt aus Belgien, und irgendjemand hat ihn gekidnappt und in ein Tierversuchslabor gebracht. Warum? Wieso? Wozu? Eins nach dem anderen, erst einmal muss er da weg! Auf der Flucht begegnet Max der zwolfjahrigen Millie, Tierschutzerin aus Uberzeugung. Klar, dass sie dem Kater hilft. Aber das ist doch ziemlich gefahrlich, oder? Wird es den beiden gelingen, Max' Katzenfreunde aus dem Labor zu befreien?

Attila the Hen (BBC Radio 4)

Attila the Hen (BBC Radio 4)

Author: Natalie Haynes Format: Ebook Release Date: 01/01/1970

The fashion for keeping chickens in your back garden shows no sign of waning, but Natalie Haynes has heard some dark rumours about the true habits of the hen. Can they be true? Natalie's own chicken knowledge being limited entirely to their lives in Ancient Rome, she hears from chicken breeders and keepers; but perhaps the most keen insight is from ornithologist Mark Cocker, who explains how things look from the chickens' own perspective. Poultry and people can be very good for one another, but like any relationship it does require respect. Produced by Christine Hall.

Author Info

Author's Website

https://www.nataliehaynes.com/

Twitter Updates

If this is your author page then you can share your Twitter updates with your readers right here on LoveReading

Find out more

Facebook Updates

If this is your author page then you can share your Facebook updates with your readers right here on LoveReading

Find out more