Search our site
White Bodies by Jane Robins Read the opening extract of the brand new Jane Robins book before its publication on 03/05/2018

Cuckoo by Julia Crouch
  

Cuckoo

Crime / Mystery   Thriller / Suspense   Debuts of the Month   Reading Groups   eBook Favourites   
Download an extract Discuss on Facebook Discuss this book on our Crime/Mystery/Thriller Facebook group Share this book

Selected by Sarah Broadhurst

December 2011 Debut of the Month.

What a debut! This is an utterly gripping psychological drama about a friend who has it all and offers to help her best friend by letting her move into her perfect life – but you should never welcome a ‘cuckoo into the nest’. A must for fans of Sophie Hannah, Nicci French or Barbara Vine and perfect for reading groups.

If you like Julia Crouch you might also like to read books by Claire McGowan, Gillian Flynn and Emily Barr.

Who is Sarah Broadhurst

Win Books from the Manon Bradshaw Thriller Series!

Persons Unknown, the second book in Susie Steiner's crime thriller series, is now out in paperback and to mark the publication we are giving away paperback copies of both Missing, Presumed and Persons Unknown to THREE lucky winners!

To have a chance of winning one of these fantastic prizes, click the button below. Please note that this draw is open only for UK residents and is free to enter, multiple entries from the same email address will only be counted once.

The draw closes on 30 April 2018. The winners will be notified by 14 May 2018,

Good luck!

Enter prize draw Draw closes: 30/04/2018

Synopsis

Cuckoo by Julia Crouch

A dark, juicy, deliciously unsettling, read-it-in-one-sitting psychological drama. Rose has it all - the gorgeous children, the husband, the beautiful home. But then her best friend Polly comes to stay. Very soon, Rose's cosy world starts to fall apart at the seams - her baby falls dangerously ill, her husband is distracted - is Polly behind it all? It appears that once you invite Polly into your home, it's very difficult to get her out again...

Reviews

'Brilliant...truly chilling'
Sophie Hannah

'Very enjoyable; expertly paced and very cleverly ambiguous'
Telegraph

'A tale of slow-burning suspense...Crouch deftly avoids the obvious and builds up a very convincing air of menace in her extremely well-described portrait of family life becoming frayed at the edges with fatal results'
Daily Mail

'A brilliant debut novel...A totally compelling new novel about a woman who helps her best friend after she experiences a tragedy in her life...Gripping stuff...Cuckoo is a riveting and spooky story that keeps your eyes locked in the page and leaves you feeling shaken and out of sorts'
Heat

About the Author

Julia Crouch

After a drama degree at Bristol University, Julia Crouch spent ten years devising, directing and writing for the theatre. During this time she had twelve plays produced and co-founded Bristol's Public Parts Theatre Company. She lives in Brighton with her husband, the actor and playwright Tim Crouch, and their three children. Cuckoo is her first novel.

More books by this author
Author 'Like for Like' recommendations

Loading similar books...
Loading other formats...

Book Info

Publication date

24th November 2011

Author

Julia Crouch

More books by Julia Crouch
Author 'Like for Like'
    recommendations

Author's Website

juliacrouch.co.uk/

Author's Facebook Latest

Loading facebook updates...
Loading twitter updates...

Publisher

Headline Book Publishing an imprint of Headline Publishing Group

Format

Paperback
448 pages

Categories

Crime / Mystery
Thriller / Suspense
Debuts of the Month
Reading Groups
eBook Favourites

Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945)

ISBN

9780755377992

At Lovereading there are fabulous books available in every genre, with great reviews to help you pick the right book for you.

Teresa O'Halloran

You'll always find what you never knew you were looking for and you're always spoilt for choice.

Helen Jones

If you LOVE reading then you will love LOVEREADING! It's a 'novel' idea. Seriously though I could not recommend them enough.

Rebecca Whymark

My favourite thing about is the 'like for like' page this has really introduced me to some good reads! That and lots of honest reviews.

Sam Lewis

A well laid out site, I love the fact that is separates paranormal fiction from fantasy and horror, which other sites don't.

Jen Rainbow

Their sending me my first book to review 18 months ago re-awakened my fondness for reading, since then I have purchased some real gems.

Barry Griffiths

The best new books on the market, reviewed honestly, to give your readers the best choices.

Julie Cook

I love that Lovereading handpicks very special debut reads.

Magda North

Lovereading4kids

Lovereading4schools