Tell us a story

LoveReading is thrilled to announce the launch of The Very Short Story Award 2019! If you think you have a story we'll love, click here to find out more and how to enter:

Find out more

A Winter Bride

by Isla Dewar

Books of the Month - <b>September</b> eBooks of the Month Historical Fiction Sagas and Romance

LoveReading View on A Winter Bride

October 2011 Book of the Month.

Satisfying readable stories with warm hearted heroines are the hallmarks of an Isla Dewar book and you have them all here in A Winter Bride. It's 1950's Scotland and Nell thinks marrying a trainee solicitor from a wealthy family will turn her life around. But life has its own plans as she soon discovers.

Perfect for fans of Elizabeth Buchan, Harry Bingham, Cecilia Ahern.

A Winter Bride Synopsis

A girl, Nell was convinced, should have a good time at seventeen, have met her true love at eighteen, be engaged at nine, and marry at twenty-one. While her mother regards the Locarno Dancehall as a den of iniquity, for seventeen-year-old, shop-girl, Nell McClusky, it's the centre of the universe. Where else is she going to meet the man of her dreams who'll take her away from the hum-drum realities of life on a council estate in 1950s Edinburgh? At first Alistair Rutherford doesn't look that promising. He dresses more like a student than Nell's idol, Buddy Holly. But Alistair comes from a wealthy family and is studying to be a lawyer, two things that mean that Nell soon has plans to leave her dance hall days far behind her. But the reality of marriage is far different to Nell's romantic notions...

If you loved this, you might like these...

The Woman in the Wood
Million Love Songs The laugh-out-loud and feel-good Sunday Times bestseller
A Secret Garden
A Country Escape

All versions of this book

ISBN: 9780091938154
Publication date: 29/09/2011
Publisher: Ebury Press
Format: Paperback

Book Information

ISBN: 9780091938154
Publication date: 29th September 2011
Author: Isla Dewar
Publisher: Ebury Press
Format: Paperback
Pagination: 400 pages
Genres: Books of the Month, eBook Favourites, Historical Fiction, Sagas and Romance,
Categories: Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945),

About Isla Dewar

Isla Dewar was born in Edinburgh. She wrote articles for magazines and newspapers for many years before she wrote her first novel, Keeping Up with Magda, in 1995. She lives in Fife with her husband, a cartoonist; they have two sons.

More About Isla Dewar

More Books By Isla Dewar

Cover for Izzy's War by Isla Dewar
Cover for Secrets Of A Family Album by Isla Dewar
View All Books By Isla Dewar

Share this book