Are you between 5 and 25? If so, enter the Wicked Young Writer Awards NOW - click here for details...

likeyoulove book price comparison
Search our site
Last Letter from Istanbul by Lucy Foley Read the opening extract of the brand new Lucy Foley book before its publication on 19/03/2018

A Winter Bride by Isla Dewar
  

Lovereading view...

October 2011 Book of the Month.

Satisfying readable stories with warm hearted heroines are the hallmarks of an Isla Dewar book and you have them all here in A Winter Bride. It's 1950's Scotland and Nell thinks marrying a trainee solicitor from a wealthy family will turn her life around. But life has its own plans as she soon discovers.

Perfect for fans of Elizabeth Buchan, Harry Bingham, Cecilia Ahern.

If you like Isla Dewar you might also like to read books by Marcia Willett, Anne Tyler and Joanne Harris.

Synopsis

A Winter Bride by Isla Dewar

A girl, Nell was convinced, should have a good time at seventeen, have met her true love at eighteen, be engaged at nine, and marry at twenty-one. While her mother regards the Locarno Dancehall as a den of iniquity, for seventeen-year-old, shop-girl, Nell McClusky, it's the centre of the universe. Where else is she going to meet the man of her dreams who'll take her away from the hum-drum realities of life on a council estate in 1950s Edinburgh? At first Alistair Rutherford doesn't look that promising. He dresses more like a student than Nell's idol, Buddy Holly. But Alistair comes from a wealthy family and is studying to be a lawyer, two things that mean that Nell soon has plans to leave her dance hall days far behind her. But the reality of marriage is far different to Nell's romantic notions...


Browse inside this book

Reviews

No-one can tell a story quite like Isla Dewar, the queen of Scottish romance. * Lancashire Evening Post *


About the Author

Isla Dewar

Isla Dewar was born in Edinburgh. She wrote articles for magazines and newspapers for many years before she wrote her first novel, Keeping Up with Magda, in 1995. She lives in Fife with her husband, a cartoonist; they have two sons.

More books by this author
Author 'Like for Like' recommendations

Loading similar books...
Loading other formats...

Book Info

Publication date

29th September 2011

Author

Isla Dewar

More books by Isla Dewar
Author 'Like for Like'
    recommendations

Publisher

Ebury Press

Format

Paperback
400 pages

Categories

Romantic Fiction
Books of the Month
Historical Fiction
eBook Favourites

Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945)

ISBN

9780091938154

Love books. Love reading. Love reading books. And, here's the trick. Here's a website which caters for people like me.

Ian Harvey-brown

Lovereading are lovely people who send me lovely books. What's not to love?

Gavin Dimmock

Lovereading has given me the opportunity to delve into new and exciting worlds of authors who I would never have tried before.

Glynis Elliott

I 'Lovereading' because it lets me see what new books are around with a detailed synopsis and readers' reviews.

Judith Sharp

Lovereading - a community of people passionate about reading and sharing their views. An incomparable website for book lovers.

Helen Clark

Insightful reader reviews and unbiased recommendations. I don't know how I chose books before Lovereading! An essential for all book lovers.

Sarah Harper

At Lovereading there are fabulous books available in every genre, with great reviews to help you pick the right book for you.

Teresa O'Halloran

My favourite thing about is the 'like for like' page this has really introduced me to some good reads! That and lots of honest reviews.

Sam Lewis

Lovereading4kids

Lovereading4schools