books of the month win prizes
Search our site
The Course of History Ten Meals That Changed the World by Struan Stevenson, Tony Singh Read the opening extract of the brand new Struan Stevenson, Tony Singh book before its publication on 24/10/2017

A Winter Bride by Isla Dewar
  

Lovereading view...

October 2011 Book of the Month.

Satisfying readable stories with warm hearted heroines are the hallmarks of an Isla Dewar book and you have them all here in A Winter Bride. It's 1950's Scotland and Nell thinks marrying a trainee solicitor from a wealthy family will turn her life around. But life has its own plans as she soon discovers.

Perfect for fans of Elizabeth Buchan, Harry Bingham, Cecilia Ahern.

If you like Isla Dewar you might also like to read books by Joanna Trollope, Joanne Harris and Margaret Mayhew.

Win a SIGNED HARDBACK of A Cornish Gift!

Get into the Spirit of Christmas with our special SIGNED HARDBACK competition! We are giving away THREE hardback editions of A Cornish Gift, Fern Britton's festive short story collection - each with a book plate signed by the author!

To have a chance of winning one of these fantastic prizes, click the button below. Please note that this draw is open only for UK residents and is free to enter, multiple entries from the same email address will only be counted once.

The draw closes on 4 December 2017. The winners will be notified by 11th December 2017.

Good luck!

Enter prize draw Draw closes: 04/12/2017

Synopsis

A Winter Bride by Isla Dewar

A girl, Nell was convinced, should have a good time at seventeen, have met her true love at eighteen, be engaged at nine, and marry at twenty-one. While her mother regards the Locarno Dancehall as a den of iniquity, for seventeen-year-old, shop-girl, Nell McClusky, it's the centre of the universe. Where else is she going to meet the man of her dreams who'll take her away from the hum-drum realities of life on a council estate in 1950s Edinburgh? At first Alistair Rutherford doesn't look that promising. He dresses more like a student than Nell's idol, Buddy Holly. But Alistair comes from a wealthy family and is studying to be a lawyer, two things that mean that Nell soon has plans to leave her dance hall days far behind her. But the reality of marriage is far different to Nell's romantic notions...


Browse inside this book

Reviews

No-one can tell a story quite like Isla Dewar, the queen of Scottish romance. Lancashire Evening Post


About the Author

Isla Dewar

Isla Dewar was born in Edinburgh. She wrote articles for magazines and newspapers for many years before she wrote her first novel, Keeping Up with Magda, in 1995. She lives in Fife with her husband, a cartoonist; they have two sons.

More books by this author
Author 'Like for Like' recommendations

Loading similar books...
Loading other formats...

Book Info

Publication date

29th September 2011

Author

Isla Dewar

More books by Isla Dewar
Author 'Like for Like'
    recommendations

Publisher

Ebury Press

Format

Paperback
400 pages

Categories

Romantic Fiction
Books of the Month
Historical Fiction
eBook Favourites

Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945)

ISBN

9780091938154

Lovereading takes the guesswork out of finding your next read with "if you like you'll love" and extracts to help with your decision.

Sarah Bruch

A well laid out site, I love the fact that is separates paranormal fiction from fantasy and horror, which other sites don't.

Jen Rainbow

Discover new authors and enjoy old favourites; oodles of literary gems to uncover at Lovereading with candid reviews from real reviewers.

Emily Wright

I love reading because my cares & woes vanish for an hour or two whilst I read of the joys, adventures, lives of the characters in the book.

Jennifer Moville

I recommend Lovereading because you get honest reviews on a whole range of genres-there's something for everyone. It's the only site I need.

Sian Spinney

Love books. Love reading. Love reading books. And, here's the trick. Here's a website which caters for people like me.

Ian Harvey-brown

I love the honest opinions, recommendations for every genre and every reader, wish lists and Like for Like.

Amrita Dasgupta

Why I love @lovereadinguk? It's in the name - as dedicated lovers of reading, they are perfect matchmakers for helping me find my next read!

Catherine Jenkins

Lovereading4kids

Lovereading4schools