Search our site
Persons Unknown by Susie Steiner Read the opening extract of the brand new Susie Steiner book before its publication on 05/04/2018

Anne Bennett Book and Novel

Anne Bennett - Author

Anne Bennett was born in a back-to-back house in the Horsefair district of Birmingham. The daughter of Roman Catholic, Irish immigrants, she grew up in a tight-knit community where she was taught to be proud of her heritage. She considers herself to be an Irish Brummie and feels therefore that she has a foot in both cultures. She has four children and four grandchildren. For many years she taught in schools to the north of Birmingham. An accident put paid to her teaching career and, after moving to North Wales, Anne turned to the other great love of her life and began to write seriously.

If you like Anne Bennett you might also like to read books by Alexandra Connor, Maureen Lee and Lily Baxter.

Featured Books, with extracts, by Anne Bennett

The Forget-Me-Not Child by Anne Bennett
The Forget-Me-Not Child
Anne Bennett
A story of struggle and hardship and one girl's battle for survival from the bestselling author of If You Were the Only Girl and Another Man's Child. Tragedy strikes and Angela is left to rear her frail daughter...
Format: Paperback - Released: 26/01/2017
Another Man's Child by Anne Bennett
Another Man's Child
Anne Bennett
Another bestselling family drama from the author of If You Were the Only Girl and A Strong Hand to Hold. Celia Mulligan is in love with farm hand Andy McCadden, but when Andy asks her to marry him...
Format: Paperback - Released: 19/11/2015
A Strong Hand to Hold by Anne Bennett
A Strong Hand to Hold
Anne Bennett
Originally published in 1999 by a different publisher (Headline if you’re interested) but now reissued for a new audience and coming alongside her lovely new book, A Girl Can Dream. She is one of the best in this gritty saga...
Format: Paperback - Released: 03/07/2014
A Girl Can Dream by Anne Bennett
A Girl Can Dream
Anne Bennett
A dramatic and emotional story of one woman's story to keep her family together. For fans of Dilly Court and Kitty Neale.
Format: Paperback - Released: 19/05/2014
If You Were the Only Girl by Anne Bennett
If You Were the Only Girl
Anne Bennett
Their love crossed the class divide, but will it survive the ravages of war? When Lucy's father dies and her family is plunged into poverty, she is forced to take a job in service as a housemaid at Windthorpe House,...
Format: Paperback - Released: 01/01/2013
Keep the Home Fires Burning by Anne Bennett
Keep the Home Fires Burning
Anne Bennett
A moving and gripping drama as one family struggles to survive through the strains of the Second World War
Format: Paperback - Released: 01/01/2011
Mother's Only Child by Anne Bennett
Mother's Only Child
Anne Bennett
Danger, heartbreak and eventual happiness are the hallmarks of Anne Bennett’s novels and this one is certainly no exception. A superb saga of love, loss and family closeness, set against the tumultuous years of the war and its aftermath.
Format: Paperback (a Format) - Released: 20/02/2006

Loading other books by Anne Bennett...

Author Info

Author's Website

Did you know

At Lovereading you can download and read an Opening Extract and an online review of books by Anne Bennett and hundreds of other authors.

Author 'Like for Like' recommendations

I read new, exciting writers and established authors before publication and there is a great website full of brilliant books and opinions.


Love Reading - it not only does what it says on the tin, it does it with Jam on!!

Maz Tucker

For me, to read is to learn, to reflect, to escape, to think, to contemplate and my time for space and calm.

Sally Ellsmore

As for why I'd recommend Lovereading, it's simple - it's a great place to get information and reviews about new books!

Margaret Freeman

Its jam packed with fantastic titles, informative descriptions & fantastic reviews and has a vast array of great features & competitions.

Linda Rollins

My horizons have been broadened by some of the books I have been lucky to review and I expect it to be no different in the future.

Daran Bellingham

Lovereading is a wonderful way to expand my literary horizons, discover inspiring authors & get the chance to read new novels first. #loveit

Zarina de Ruiter

I love the honest opinions, recommendations for every genre and every reader, wish lists and Like for Like.

Amrita Dasgupta