debuts of the month win prizes likeyoulove
Search our site
The Stolen Bicycle by Ming-Yi Wu Read the opening extract of the brand new Ming-Yi Wu book before its publication on 26/10/2017

Anne Bennett Book and Novel

Anne Bennett - Author


Anne Bennett was born in a back-to-back house in the Horsefair district of Birmingham. The daughter of Roman Catholic, Irish immigrants, she grew up in a tight-knit community where she was taught to be proud of her heritage. She considers herself to be an Irish Brummie and feels therefore that she has a foot in both cultures. She has four children and four grandchildren. For many years she taught in schools to the north of Birmingham. An accident put paid to her teaching career and, after moving to North Wales, Anne turned to the other great love of her life and began to write seriously.

If you like Anne Bennett you might also like to read books by Margaret Mayhew, Annie Groves and Alexandra Connor.

Featured Books, with extracts, by Anne Bennett

The Forget-Me-Not Child by Anne Bennett
The Forget-Me-Not Child
Anne Bennett
A story of struggle and hardship and one girl's battle for survival from the bestselling author of If You Were the Only Girl and Another Man's Child. Tragedy strikes and Angela is left to rear her frail daughter...
Format: Paperback - Released: 26/01/2017
Another Man's Child by Anne Bennett
Another Man's Child
Anne Bennett
Another bestselling family drama from the author of If You Were the Only Girl and A Strong Hand to Hold. Celia Mulligan is in love with farm hand Andy McCadden, but when Andy asks her to marry him...
Format: Paperback - Released: 19/11/2015
A Strong Hand to Hold by Anne Bennett
A Strong Hand to Hold
Anne Bennett
Originally published in 1999 by a different publisher (Headline if you’re interested) but now reissued for a new audience and coming alongside her lovely new book, A Girl Can Dream. She is one of the best in this gritty saga...
Format: Paperback - Released: 01/07/2014
A Girl Can Dream by Anne Bennett
A Girl Can Dream
Anne Bennett
A dramatic and emotional story of one woman's story to keep her family together. For fans of Dilly Court and Kitty Neale.
Format: Paperback - Released: 22/05/2014
If You Were the Only Girl by Anne Bennett
If You Were the Only Girl
Anne Bennett
Their love crossed the class divide, but will it survive the ravages of war? When Lucy's father dies and her family is plunged into poverty, she is forced to take a job in service as a housemaid at Windthorpe House,...
Format: Paperback - Released: 01/01/2013
Keep the Home Fires Burning by Anne Bennett
Keep the Home Fires Burning
Anne Bennett
A moving and gripping drama as one family struggles to survive through the strains of the Second World War
Format: Paperback - Released: 01/01/2011
Mother's Only Child by Anne Bennett
Mother's Only Child
Anne Bennett
Danger, heartbreak and eventual happiness are the hallmarks of Anne Bennett’s novels and this one is certainly no exception. A superb saga of love, loss and family closeness, set against the tumultuous years of the war and its aftermath.
Format: Paperback (a Format) - Released: 20/02/2006

Loading other books by Anne Bennett...


Author Info

Author's Website

www.annebennett.co.uk/

Did you know

At Lovereading you can download and read an Opening Extract and an online review of books by Anne Bennett and hundreds of other authors.

Author 'Like for Like' recommendations


Lovereading is not only an amazing site, but it's one of my very favourites. It's like visiting a fascinating bookstore, but better.

Rebecca Jayne Barrett

It gives a chance to read about new titles, invites comments from all kinds of readers and is run by such a nice bunch of book lovers.

Joy Bosworth

Hooked on books? Give Lovereading a go - for the chance to discover brilliant books, and to see why our members love it so.

Claire Hill

Lovereading are lovely people who send me lovely books. What's not to love?

Gavin Dimmock

Lovereading always comes up with great suggestions and has introduced me to enjoyable books and new authors to discover.

Gaynor Passmore

Books of the month/debuts of the month, kids/adults, fiction/non-fiction, free prize draws and free extracts, what's not to love?

Emma Smith

What can I say, the clue is in the title Lovereading - and awesome books.

Sarah Davis

I 'Lovereading' because it lets me see what new books are around with a detailed synopsis and readers' reviews.

Judith Sharp

Lovereading4kids

Lovereading4schools