desmond elliott 2017 make the most of Lovereading Harry Potter House Eds
Search our site
Moonlight Over Manhattan by Sarah Morgan Read the opening extract of the brand new Sarah Morgan book before its publication on 05/10/2017

Johannes Cabal the Detective by Jonathan L. Howard
  

Johannes Cabal the Detective

Horror   eBook Favourites   eBook Favourites   

RRP £8.99

Lovereading view...

The second novel in this fantastic new series featuring necromancer Johannes Cabal, a must for fans of Terry Pratchett and Tim Burton. Cabal may work with corpses but he has absolutely no intention of becoming one. Drawn into a deadly conspiracy, is he shuffling dangerously close to the end of his mortal coil?

If you like Jonathan L. Howard you might also like to read books by Paul Magrs, Erin Morgenstern and Mark Gatiss.

Synopsis

Johannes Cabal the Detective by Jonathan L. Howard

Johannes Cabal is back -- a little older, a little wiser, but just as sharply funny, cuttingly sarcastic, and unexpectedly violent as ever. For necromancer Johannes Cabal, dealing with devils, demons and raising the dead is pretty much par for the course. But when his attempt to steal a rare book turns sour, he is faced by a far more terrifying entity -- politics. While awaiting execution for his crime, Cabal is forced to resurrect an inconveniently deceased emperor. Seizing his chance, the cunning Cabal engineers his escape, fleeing the country on a state-of-the-art flying ship. But the ship has more than a few unpleasant surprises, including an unwelcome face from the past and the small matter of some mysterious murders.

Reviews

A swashbuckling mystery set in a steampunk world. -- Denver Post

Cabal, the detective and necromancer, is full of charismatic amorality, making him both a classical, and refreshing antihero. -- TimeOut , Chicago

Definitely entertaining, a cut above many books out there. -- Free Lance-Star

Silly, erudite, and part a playful modern variant of the locked door murder mystery. -- The Huffington Post


About the Author

Jonathan L. Howard

Jonathan L. Howard is a game designer, scriptwriter, and a veteran of the computer games industry since the early 'nineties with titles such as the 'Broken Sword' series to his credit. He lives in the United Kingdom with his wife and daughter.

Author photo © Emma L.B.K. Smith

More books by this author
Author 'Like for Like' recommendations

Loading similar books...
Loading other formats...

Book Info

Publication date

3rd February 2011

Author

Jonathan L. Howard

More books by Jonathan L. Howard
Author 'Like for Like'
    recommendations

Author's Website

johannescabal.com/

Author's Facebook Latest

Loading facebook updates...
Loading twitter updates...

Publisher

Headline Book Publishing an imprint of Headline Publishing Group

Format

Paperback
416 pages

Categories

Horror
eBook Favourites
eBook Favourites

Fantasy

ISBN

9780755347971

Hooked on books? Give Lovereading a go - for the chance to discover brilliant books, and to see why our members love it so.

Claire Hill

Love Reading - it not only does what it says on the tin, it does it with Jam on!!

Maz Tucker

I read new, exciting writers and established authors before publication and there is a great website full of brilliant books and opinions.

Lynda

Lovereading is not only an amazing site, but it's one of my very favourites. It's like visiting a fascinating bookstore, but better.

Rebecca Jayne Barrett

It has enriched my leisure time by introducing me to a world of books which I would not have previously considered.

Val Rowe

At Lovereading there are fabulous books available in every genre, with great reviews to help you pick the right book for you.

Teresa O'Halloran

Lovereading does a stella job in promoting both new and established authors.

Iris Clements

The selections are so varied and the reader reviews are so helpful. A fantastic website for those who love books.

Ann Quintilla

Lovereading4kids

Lovereading4schools