Johannes Cabal the Detective

by Jonathan L. Howard

eBooks of the Month Horror

LoveReading View on Johannes Cabal the Detective

The second novel in this fantastic new series featuring necromancer Johannes Cabal, a must for fans of Terry Pratchett and Tim Burton.  Cabal may work with corpses but he has absolutely no intention of becoming one. Drawn into a deadly conspiracy, is he shuffling dangerously close to the end of his mortal coil?

Johannes Cabal the Detective Synopsis

Johannes Cabal is back -- a little older, a little wiser, but just as sharply funny, cuttingly sarcastic, and unexpectedly violent as ever. For necromancer Johannes Cabal, dealing with devils, demons and raising the dead is pretty much par for the course. But when his attempt to steal a rare book turns sour, he is faced by a far more terrifying entity -- politics. While awaiting execution for his crime, Cabal is forced to resurrect an inconveniently deceased emperor. Seizing his chance, the cunning Cabal engineers his escape, fleeing the country on a state-of-the-art flying ship. But the ship has more than a few unpleasant surprises, including an unwelcome face from the past and the small matter of some mysterious murders.

Johannes Cabal the Detective Press Reviews

A swashbuckling mystery set in a steampunk world. -- Denver Post

Cabal, the detective and necromancer, is full of charismatic amorality, making him both a classical, and refreshing antihero. -- TimeOut , Chicago

Definitely entertaining, a cut above many books out there. -- Free Lance-Star

Silly, erudite, and part a playful modern variant of the locked door murder mystery. -- The Huffington Post


If you loved this, you might like these...

The Heart of Mars
A Clockwork Heart Chronicles of Light and Shadow
A Conspiracy of Alchemists Chronicles of Light and Shadow
The Night Circus

All versions of this book

ISBN: 9780755347971
Publication date: 03/02/2011
Publisher: Headline Book Publishing an imprint of Headline Publishing Group
Format: Paperback

Book Information

ISBN: 9780755347971
Publication date: 3rd February 2011
Author: Jonathan L. Howard
Publisher: Headline Book Publishing an imprint of Headline Publishing Group
Format: Paperback
Pagination: 416 pages
Genres: eBook Favourites, Horror,
Categories: Fantasy,

About Jonathan L. Howard

Jonathan L. Howard is a game designer, scriptwriter, and a veteran of the computer games industry since the early 'nineties with titles such as the 'Broken Sword' series to his credit. He lives in the United Kingdom with his wife and daughter.   Author photo © Emma L.B.K. Smith

More About Jonathan L. Howard

More Books By Jonathan L. Howard

Cover for Johannes Cabal : The Fear Institute by Jonathan L. Howard
View All Books By Jonathan L. Howard

Share this book