The Whisperers

by John Connolly

Part of the Charlie Parker Thriller Series

Thriller and Suspense Crime and Mystery eBooks of the Month

LoveReading Expert Review of The Whisperers

Charlie Parker returns in the chilling new thriller from the Sunday Times bestselling author of THE LOVERS

Sarah Broadhurst

The Whisperers Synopsis

Detective Charlie Parker returns in another chilling thriller - a must-read for fans of Michael Connelly and Jeffery Deaver.

The border between Maine and Canada is porous. Anything can be smuggled across it: drugs, cash, weapons, people.

Now a group of disenchanted former soldiers has begun its own smuggling operation, and what is being moved is infinitely stranger and more terrifying than anyone can imagine. Anyone, that is, except private detective Charlie Parker, who has his own intimate knowledge of the darkness in men's hearts.

But the soldiers' actions have attracted the attention of the reclusive Herod, a man with a taste for the strange. And where Herod goes, so too does the shadowy figure that he calls the Captain. To defeat them, Parker must form an uneasy alliance with a man he fears more than any other, the killer known as the Collector...

About This Edition

ISBN: 9781444711189
Publication date: 20th January 2011
Author: John Connolly
Publisher: Hodder Paperback an imprint of Hodder & Stoughton General Division
Format: Paperback
Pagination: 560 pages
Primary Genre Thriller and Suspense
Other Genres:
Recommendations:
Win a Copy of Breaking Point and A £50 Costa Coffee Voucher!

Win a Copy of Breaking Point and A £50 Costa Coffee Voucher!

Closing date: 20/02/2022

Win a copy of the "chilling, emotional thriller" Breaking Point by Edel Coffey as well as a £50 Costa Coffee voucher in our new giveaway. We're also offering copies of the book to five runners up. "an absolute page-turner all with the compelling, “can’t-look-away-for-a-moment” power of a primetime TV thriller." Joanne Owen, Expert Reviewer This draw is open only for UK residents currently in the UK and is free to enter, multiple entries from the same email address will only be counted once. The draw closes on 20th February 2022. Please ensure that the details you use to enter the competition will be correct at the time the competition ends. The winners will be notified as soon as possible.

Enter Now

What To Read After The Whisperers

Dodgers
Stop at Nothing
Wrongful Death
I'm Travelling Alone

John Connolly Press Reviews

'A tour de force finale in a book which will sure be a bestseller this summer. It well deserves to be.'
Independent on Sunday

'This is one of Connolly's darker, scarier novels, all the more effective for the way the supernatural elements arise organically out of the realistic detail'
Guardian

'Connolly subtly combines the supernatural with the traditional crime story to superb effect. And in Herod, a man being eaten by cancer, he may have created his creepiest villain yet.'
Sun

'Another creepy thriller from a modern master'
Daily Mirror

'Brilliant, terrifying and effortlessly seductive, I defy anyone to put this thriller down -- it is sensational.'
Daily Mail

'As ever with Connolly, the macabre narrative is couched in prose that is often allusive and poetic.'
Barry Forshaw, Independent

'His latest plot is a clever mixture of quest and chase, written in prose that unfolds at warp speed'
Observer

Other editions of this book

ISBN: 9781444711189
Publication date: 20/01/2011
Format: Paperback

View All Editions

About John Connolly

John Connolly is author of the Charlie Parker mysteries, The Book of Lost Things, the Samuel Johnson novels for young adults and, with his partner, Jennifer Ridyard, co-author of the Chronicles of the Invaders. John Connolly's debut - Every Dead Thing - introduced the character of Private Investigator Charlie Parker, and swiftly launched him right into the front rank of thriller writers. All his subsequent novels have been Sunday Times bestsellers. He was the winner of the 2016 CWA Short Story Dagger for On the Anatomization of an Unknown Man (1637) by Frans Mier from NIGHT MUSIC : Nocturnes Stoughton Vol 2. In 2007 he ...

More About John Connolly

More Books By John Connolly

The Whisperers
The Whisperers
The Whisperers
View All Books By John Connolly

Share this book