Sea of Tranquility

by Emily St. John Mandel

Modern and Contemporary Fiction Horror and Supernatural Fiction Literary Fiction Fantasy Science Fiction

Sea of Tranquility Synopsis

The award-winning author of Station Eleven, Emily St. John Mandel returns with a wondrous novel of time travel that precisely captures the reality of our current moment. Sea of Tranquility is a virtuoso performance and an enormously exciting offering from one of our most remarkable writers.

In 1912, eighteen-year-old Edwin St. Andrew crosses the Atlantic, exiled from English polite society. In British Columbia, he enters the forest, spellbound by the beauty of the Canadian wilderness, and for a split second all is darkness, the notes of a violin echoing unnaturally through the air. The experience shocks him to his core.

Two centuries later Olive Llewelyn, a famous writer, is traveling all over Earth, far away from her home in the second moon colony. Within the text of Olive's bestselling novel lies a strange passage: a man plays his violin for change in the echoing corridor of an airship terminal as the trees of a forest rise around him.

When Gaspery-Jacques Roberts, a detective in the black-skied Night City, is hired to investigate an anomaly in time, he uncovers a series of lives upended: the exiled son of an aristocrat driven to madness, a writer trapped far from home as a pandemic ravages Earth, and a childhood friend from the Night City who, like Gaspery himself, has glimpsed the chance to do something extraordinary that will disrupt the timeline of the universe.

Sea of Tranquility is a novel that investigates the idea of parallel worlds and possibilities, that plays with the very line along which time should run. Perceptive and poignant about art, and love, and what we must do to survive, it is incredibly compelling.

About This Edition

ISBN: 9781529083491
Publication date: 28th April 2022
Author: Emily St. John Mandel
Publisher: Picador an imprint of Pan Macmillan
Format: Hardback
Pagination: 272 pages
Primary Genre Horror and Supernatural Fiction
Other Genres:

What To Read After Sea of Tranquility

Shadow Girls
Woman, Eating
The Master and Margarita
Things We Lost in the Fire

Other editions of this book

ISBN: 9781529083491
Publication date: 28/04/2022
Format: Hardback

ISBN: 9781529083507
Publication date: 14/04/2022
Format: Paperback

View All Editions

About Emily St. John Mandel

Emily St. John Mandel was born in Canada and studied dance at The School of Toronto Dance Theatre. She is the author of the novels Last Night in Montreal, The Singer's Gun, The Lola Quartet and Station Eleven and is a staff writer for The Millions. She is married and lives in New York.   Author photo © Dese'Rae L. Stage

More About Emily St. John Mandel

More Books By Emily St. John Mandel

Sea of Tranquility
Sea of Tranquility
Sea of Tranquility
View All Books By Emily St. John Mandel

Share this book