Equal Rites

by Terry Pratchett

Part of the Discworld Novels Series

Modern and Contemporary Fiction Fantasy Action Adventure Humorous fiction Literary Fiction

LoveReading Expert Review of Equal Rites

A wonderful introduction to Granny Weatherwax.

The first book in Terry Pratchett’s Discworld series to feature the witches in a starring role, Equal Rites is a wonderful introduction to Granny Weatherwax. While Witches Abroad is perhaps my favourite in the Witches series within a series, there is much to cackle and ponder over in this, the third Discworld novel. Her character develops quite beautifully through the books, and Granny is perhaps my most beloved character (ever) to appear in print. I am an admirer of her use of headology, and adore her relationship with Nanny, Magrat, Tiffany, and of course Death. If you’ve not yet met the totally fabulous Granny, do introduce yourself, I’m sure she would be delighted to greet you.

Liz Robinson

Equal Rites Synopsis

The Discworld is very much like our own - if our own were to consist of a flat planet balanced on the back of four elephants which stand on the back of a giant turtle, that is . . .

They say that a little knowledge is a dangerous thing, but it's not half so bad as a lot of ignorance.

The last thing the wizard Drum Billet did, before Death laid a bony hand on his shoulder, was to pass on his staff of power to the eighth son of an eighth son.

Unfortunately for his colleagues in the chauvinistic (not to say misogynistic) world of magic, he failed to check that the baby in question was a son.

Everybody knows that there's no such thing as a female wizard. But now it's gone and happened, there's nothing much anyone can do about it.

Let the battle of the sexes begin . . .

The Discworld novels can be read in any order but Equal Rites is the first book in the Witches series.

About This Edition

ISBN: 9780552166614
Publication date: 21st June 2012
Author: Terry Pratchett
Publisher: Corgi Books an imprint of Transworld Publishers Ltd
Format: Paperback
Pagination: 288 pages
Primary Genre Fantasy
Other Genres:

What To Read After Equal Rites

The Coward
Magic Study
Jonathan Strange and Mr Norrell

Terry Pratchett Press Reviews

If you are unfamiliar with Pratchett's unique blend of philosophical badinage, you are on the threshold of a mind-expanding opportunity - Financial Times

Persistently amusing, good-hearted and shrewd - The Sunday Times

Pratchett keeps getting better and better...It's hard to think of any humorist writing in Britain today who can match him - Time Out

Other editions of this book

ISBN: 9781473588103
Publication date: 28/04/2022
Format: Downloadable audio file

ISBN: 9781473200203
Publication date: 03/04/2014
Format: Hardback

ISBN: 9780552166614
Publication date: 21/06/2012
Format: Paperback

View All Editions

About Terry Pratchett

Terry Pratchett (1948 - 2015) was born in 1948 in Beaconsfield, Buckinghamshire. He had his first story published when he was just thirteen, and after leaving school at seventeen to become a journalist he continued writing, publishing his first novel, The Carpet People, in 1971 and going on to produce the phenomenally successful Discworld and his trilogy for young readers, The Bromeliad. His first Discworld novel for children, The Amazing Maurice and His Educated Rodents was awarded the 2001 Carnegie Medal. Terry Pratchett as well as numerous other books, winning many awards and becoming the UK’s bestselling author. He was appointed OBE ...

More About Terry Pratchett

More Books By Terry Pratchett

Equal Rites
Equal Rites
Equal Rites
View All Books By Terry Pratchett

Share this book