Becoming a member of the LoveReading community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unadulterated book loving, with your favourite books saved to your own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop Plus lots lots more…

Find out more


by Daniel Cole

Part of the A Ragdoll Book Series

Crime / Mystery Thriller and Suspense

LoveReading View on Endgame

This is the final book in Daniel Cole's Ragdoll series. As mentioned in Cole's letter to the reader, for this one you really will benefit from reading Ragdoll and Hangman. The plot kicks off in the immediate aftermath of Hangman too, it might also be a good idea to have a refresh, but I didn't find it absolutely necessary.

After what feels like forever, police detectives Wolf and Baxter are finally back! This time they're working on a case much closer to home. A Christie-esque mystery ensues - a completely sealed room with no way out and only one set of prints on the gun. Is it suicide as it first appears, or something more?

This book highlights some of the best aspects of the previous books: the characters. Wolf's wonderful and hilarious (if somewhat misplaced) sense of humour and Baxter and her endearing standoffishness remained. I felt like I was greeting them as old friends. 

This is simply an amazing end to one of the best series I've read in recent years and is a must-read for all crime fans. I'm heartbroken that the series is over, but I know I will return to read it again and again.

Charlotte Walker

Endgame Synopsis

A locked room. A dead body. A secret that went to the grave.

When retired police officer Finlay Shaw is found dead in a locked room, everyone thinks it's suicide. But disgraced detective William 'Wolf' Fawkes isn't so sure.

Together with his former partner Detective Emily Baxter and private detective Edmunds, Wolf's team begin to dig into Shaw's early days on the beat. Was Shaw as innocent as he seemed? Or is there more to his past than he'd ever let on?

But not everyone wants Wolf back - and as his investigation draws him ever deeper into police corruption, it will not only be his career on the line - but the lives of those he holds closest as well...

The explosive new thriller from the Sunday Times and international bestseller, perfect for fans of Fiona Cummins and Helen Fields.

Win a full set of the Six Stories Series including Beast by Matt Wesolowski!

Win a full set of the Six Stories Series including Beast by Matt Wesolowski!

Closing date: 10/03/2020

Beast is the latest in Matt Wesolowski's Six Stories Series! Published on the 6th February we have three sets of the full Six Stories Series to give away! "This is a series that keeps on delivering, here we are at the fourth book, and it is just as addictive and original as the first, Six Stories." Liz Robinson, Expert Reviewer This draw is open only for UK residents currently in the UK and is free to enter, multiple entries from the same email address will only be counted once. The draw closes on 10th March 2020. The winners will be notified as soon as possible.

Enter Now

Endgame Press Reviews

'Brilliant' M.J. Arlidge 'Exciting' Linwood Barclay


If you loved this, you might like these...

The Trail
The Guest List
Elevator Pitch
How the Dead Speak

All versions of this book

ISBN: 9781409168843
Publication date: 05/09/2019
Publisher: Trapeze an imprint of Orion Publishing Co
Format: Hardback

Book Information

ISBN: 9781409168843
Publication date: 5th September 2019
Author: Daniel Cole
Publisher: Trapeze an imprint of Orion Publishing Co
Format: Hardback
Pagination: 352 pages
Genres: Crime / Mystery, Thriller / Suspense,
Categories: Crime & mystery,

About Daniel Cole

At 33 years old, Daniel Cole has worked as a paramedic, an RSPCA officer and most recently for the RNLI, driven by an intrinsic need to save people or perhaps just a guilty conscience about the number of characters he kills off in his writing. He currently lives in sunny Bournemouth and can usually be found down the beach when he ought to be writing book two instead.

More About Daniel Cole

More Books By Daniel Cole

Cover for Hangman by Daniel Cole
Cover for Ragdoll by Daniel Cole
Cover for Ragdoll by Daniel Cole
View All Books By Daniel Cole

Share this book