LoveReading

Becoming a member of the LoveReading community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unadulterated book loving, with your favourite books saved to your own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop Plus lots lots more…

Find out more

The Poet X

by Elizabeth Acevedo

'new gen' - Great Fiction for Young Adults Relationship Stories

LoveReading View on The Poet X

Xiomara Batista is a Harlem teenager whose parents moved to the US from the Dominican Republic. She has plenty of thoughts, plenty to say, but she’s been rendered voiceless by her domineering mother, by religion, and by the boys and men who objectify her body. She gets “all this attention from guys/but it’s like a sancocho of emotions… partly flattered they think I’m attractive, partly scared they’re only interested in my ass and boobs”. Such is the experience of many young women, but for Xiomara this is exacerbated by racism and her judgmental religious community, and powerfully expressed in her inimitable narrative voice.

Talking of which, through the sexual insults, and despite her mother’s meting of cruel punishments, Xiomara does find her voice. She keeps a secret notebook of poems, and dreams of joining a slam poetry club. And she finds love too, with Trinidad-born Aman, a compassionate young man with family heartache of his own. Xiomara’s descriptions of their burgeoning relationship are stunning, evoking first love and passion in all its visceral beauty. Somehow, Xiomara pulls herself free from a mire of obstacles. She stands tall, she burns bright - a wondrously authentic character who finds her own faith through writing poetry.

Winner for the CILIP Carnegie Medal 2019 | Shortlisted for the UKLA Book Awards 2019 |  Winner of the 2018 National Book Award 

Joanne Owen

The Poet X Synopsis

Xiomara has always kept her words to herself. When it comes to standing her ground in her Harlem neighbourhood, she lets her fists and her fierceness do the talking. But X has secrets - her feelings for a boy in her bio class, and the notebook full of poems that she keeps under her bed. And a slam poetry club that will pull those secrets into the spotlight. Because in spite of a world that might not want to hear her, Xiomara refuses to stay silent.

A novel about finding your voice and standing up for what you believe in, no matter how hard it is to say. Brave, bold and beautifully written - dealing with issues of race, feminism and faith - this is perfect for fans of Orangeboy, Nicola Yoon's Everything Everything and Zoella Book Club choice Moxie. 'A story that will slam the power of poetry and love back into your heart.' - Laurie Halse Anderson, author of Speak and Chains 'Acevedo breathes words instead of air' - Lisa Heathfield, author of award-winning Paper Butterflies `Powerful, finely crafted verse . . . Readers will yearn to finish this verse novel in a single sitting, but its echoes will remain with them much longer' Guardian ELIZABETH ACEVEDO was born and raised in New York City and her poetry is infused with Dominican bolero and her beloved city's tough grit. The Poet X is her debut novel and a National Book Award winner. With over twelve years of performance experience, Acevedo has been a featured performer on BET and Mun2, as well as delivered several TED Talks. She has performed internationally and her poetry has been featured in Cosmopolitan, The Huffington Post and Teen Vogue. Acevedo is a National Slam Champion, Beltway Grand Slam Champion, and the 2016 Women of the World Poetry Slam representative for Washington, D.C, where she lives and works.

The Poet X Press Reviews

'I fell in love at slam poetry. This one will stay with you a long time.' - Angie Thomas, bestselling author of The Hate U Give

'This was the type of book where I'll just do 50 pages turned into finishing it in 2 reads. I felt very emotional, not just because the story and the words themselves were so beautiful but because I knew it was going to make so many teens who felt like no one cares about them or listens to them feel seen.' - Tomi Adeyemi, bestselling author of The Children of Blood and Bone

'Crackles with energy and snaps with authenticity and voice.' -Justina Ireland, author of Dread Nation

An incredibly potent debut. - Jason Reynolds, author of the National Book Award Finalist Ghost

'Acevedo has amplified the voices of girls en el barrio who are equal parts goddess, saint, warrior, and hero.' -Ibi Zoboi, author of American Street

'A story that will slam the power of poetry and love back into your heart.' - Laurie Halse Anderson, author of Speak and Chains

'Acevedo breathes words instead of air' - Lisa Heathfield, author of award-winning Paper Butterflies

`Powerful, finely crafted verse . . . Readers will yearn to finish this verse novel in a single sitting, but its echoes will remain with them much longer' Guardian

If you loved this, you might like these...

Hey Sherlock!
The M Word
Chinglish
Seafire

All versions of this book

ISBN: 9781405291460
Publication date: 01/04/2018
Publisher: Electric Monkey an imprint of Egmont UK Ltd
Format: Paperback

Book Information

ISBN: 9781405291460
Publication date: 1st April 2018
Author: Elizabeth Acevedo
Publisher: Electric Monkey an imprint of Egmont UK Ltd
Format: Paperback
Pagination: 368 pages
Genres: NewGen - YA Fiction, Relationship Stories,
Categories: Family & home stories (Children's / Teenage), School stories (Children's / Teenage), Romance & relationships stories (Children's / Teenage),

About Elizabeth Acevedo

ELIZABETH ACEVEDO was born and raised in New York City and her poetry is infused with Dominican bolero and her beloved city's tough grit. With over twelve years of performance experience, Acevedo has been a featured performer on BET and Mun2, as well as delivered several TED Talks. She has performed internationally and her poetry has been featured in Cosmopolitan, The Huffington Post and Teen Vogue. Acevedo is a National Slam Champion, Beltway Grand Slam Champion, and the 2016 Women of the World Poetry Slam representative for Washington, D.C, where she lives and works. The Poet X is a New ...

More About Elizabeth Acevedo

Share this book