Becoming a member of the LoveReading community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unadulterated book loving, with your favourite books saved to your own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop Plus lots lots more…

Find out more

Wolves at the Door

by Gunnar Staalesen

Part of the Varg Veum Series

Translated Fiction Crime and Mystery Thriller and Suspense

LoveReading Expert Review of Wolves at the Door

Provocative and gripping, private investigator Varg Veum doesn’t have time on his side as he attempts to solve a case he himself may become a victim of.

Steadfast, tenacious and fascinating can be used to describe both the book and lead character in ‘Wolves at the Door’. Private Investigator Varg Veum was previously set up and linked to a horrifying case, now the men actually found guilty of the crime are dying one by one, is Varg next on the list? Gunnar Staalesen was in at the beginning of Nordic Noir, he started this series 40 years ago (there is a statue of Varg Veum in Bergen where the series is set) and has been published in 24 countries. This book does specifically link to previously translated novels so if thinking of stepping into the series you might want to start with ‘Where Roses Never Die’, followed by ‘Wolves in the Dark’ as a lead into this particular novel (‘Big Sister’ also sits in there too). Don Bartlett successfully ensured the thought of a translator didn’t enter my head as I was reading, I was sucked straight into the story and stayed there. I particularly enjoyed the slow slog of the investigation, each piece of information entering the fray and increasing the tension until it reached breaking point. With short, smart, darkly punchy chapters ’Wolves at the Door’ is a provocative and gripping read.

Liz Robinson

Wolves at the Door Synopsis

The wolves are no longer in the dark ... they are at his door. And they want vengeance...

The next instalment in the international, bestselling Varg Veum series by one of the fathers of Nordic Noir ...

One dark January night a car drives at high speed towards PI Varg Veum, and comes very close to killing him. Veum is certain this is no accident, following so soon after the deaths of two jailed men who were convicted for their participation in a case of child pornography and sexual assault ... crimes that Veum himself once stood wrongly accused of committing. While the guilty men were apparently killed accidentally, Varg suspects that there is something more sinister at play... and that he's on the death list of someone still at large. Fearing for his life, Veum begins to investigate the old case, interviewing the victims of abuse and delving deeper into the brutal crimes, with shocking results. The wolves are no longer in the dark ... they are at his door. And they want vengeance.

About This Edition

ISBN: 9781912374410
Publication date: 13th June 2019
Author: Gunnar Staalesen
Publisher: Orenda Books
Format: Paperback
Pagination: 276 pages
Primary Genre Crime and Mystery
Other Genres:

Like For Like Featured Books

Black Water Lilies
Kill the Father
Smoke Screen

Wolves at the Door Press Reviews

This is a series with very sharp teeth.

--Ian Rankin

A Norwegian Chandler.

--Jo Nesb

Almost forty years into the Varg Veum odyssey, Staalesen is at the height of his storytelling powers.

--Crime Fiction Lover

Not many books hook you in the first chapter--this one did, and never let go!

--Mari Hannah, author, The Insider

Staalesen continually reminds us he is one of the finest of Nordic novelists.

--Financial Times

Chilling and perilous results--all told in a pleasingly dry style.

--Sunday Times

Terrific. . . .Like Raymond Chandler, Staalesen creates intense emotion through dialogue and description, but his altogether Norwegian focus forces home a substantial social message: ignoring the past is inevitably tragic.

--Publishers Weekly starred review of Big Sister

Other editions of this book

ISBN: 9781912374410
Publication date: 13/06/2019
Format: Paperback

View All Editions

About Gunnar Staalesen

One of the fathers of the Nordic Noir genre, Gunnar Staalesen was born in Bergen, Norway in 1947. He made his debut at the age of twenty-two with Seasons of Innocence and in 1977 he published the first book in the Varg Veum series. He is the author of over twenty-three titles, which have been published in twenty-six countries and sold over five million copies. Twelve film adaptations of his Varg Veum crime novels have appeared since 2007, starring the popular Norwegian actor Trond Epsen Seim, and a further series is currently being filmed. Staalesen, who has won three Golden Pistols (including the ...

More About Gunnar Staalesen

More Books By Gunnar Staalesen

Wolves at the Door
Wolves at the Door
Wolves at the Door
View All Books By Gunnar Staalesen

Share this book