Becoming a member of the LoveReading community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unadulterated book loving, with your favourite books saved to your own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop Plus lots lots more…

Find out more

Never Be Broken

by Sarah Hilary

Part of the D.I. Marnie Rome Series

Crime / Mystery Star Books Thriller and Suspense

LoveReading View on Never Be Broken

If you were to ask me to recommend a crime fiction series, this is it, this is the one. Sarah Hilary has the ability to write with such beautiful, quiet clarity even when the words scream and pound at your thoughts. ‘Never Be Broken’ is the sixth in the D.I. Marnie Rome series, do go back and start at the beginning if you come to this recommendation for the first time, the books have to be read in order, just simply to make the most of every thought, every word. Sarah Hilary’s debut ‘Someone Else’s Skin’ won the Theakston’s Crime Novel of the Year, and I have hunted down every one in the series since. The pain and torment at the centre of London society, the stabbings, the gangs, sit at the centre of ‘Never Be Broken’. The first few pages focus on ‘now’, fiercely kicking me right in the centre of my feelings, vividly bruising me before chapter one then returns to 48 hours earlier. This is intense, startling storytelling, it feels… it feels real, as though this is happening right now. ‘Never Be Broken’ may be fiction, you could think it is fact, it hurts, it shocks, it reads so beautifully it just has to be one of my picks of the month. 

Liz Robinson

Never Be Broken Synopsis

Compulsive, gripping and dark, NEVER BE BROKEN is the stunning new novel in the Marnie Rome series, for fans of Peter James, Mark Billingham, and Val McDermid 

Children are dying on London's streets. Frankie Reece, stabbed through the heart, outside a corner shop. Others recruited from care homes, picked up and exploited; passed like gifts between gangs. They are London's lost.

Then Raphaela Belsham is killed. She's thirteen years old, her father is a man of influence, from a smart part of town. And she's white. Suddenly, the establishment is taking notice.

DS Noah Jake is determined to handle Raphaela's case and Frankie's too. But he's facing his own turmoil, and it's becoming an obsession. DI Marnie Rome is worried, and she needs Noah on side. Because more children are disappearing, more are being killed by the day and the swelling tide of violence needs to be stemmed before it's too late.

NEVER BE BROKEN is a stunning, intelligent and gripping novel which explores how the act of witness alters us, and reveals what lies beneath the veneer of a glittering city.

Win a Brilliant Orenda Book Bundle!

Win a Brilliant Orenda Book Bundle!

Closing date: 31/03/2021

We're teaming up once again with Orenda to offer another brilliant book giveaway! This book bundle will include some of their latest releases from December to March. A fantastic opportunity to stock your bookshelves. The titles up for grabs are: Winterkill by Ragnar Jonasson - Published December 2020 There's Only One Danny Garvey by  David F. Ross - Published January 2021 Deity by Matt Wesolowski - Published February 2021 Smoke Screen by Thomas Enger, Jorn Lier Horst - Published February 2021 Hotel Cartagena by Simone Buchholz  - Published March 2021? Bound by Vanda Symon - Published March 2021 This draw is open only for UK residents currently in the UK and is free to enter, multiple entries from the same email address will only be counted once. The draw closes on 31st March 2021. Please ensure that the details you use to enter the competition will be correct at the time the competition ends. The winners will be notified as soon as possible.

Enter Now

Never Be Broken Press Reviews

Never Be Broken gloriously demonstrates that modern crime fiction really isn't all about the murders -- Val McDermid Deeply contemporary, painfully real, heartbreakingly good -- Mick Herron

If you loved this, you might like these...

The Night Swim
Camino Winds
Invisible Girl

All versions of this book

ISBN: 9781472249029
Publication date: 23/01/2020
Publisher: Headline Book Publishing an imprint of Headline Publishing Group
Format: Paperback

ISBN: 9781472249005
Publication date: 16/05/2019
Publisher: Headline Book Publishing an imprint of Headline Publishing Group
Format: Hardback

Book Information

ISBN: 9781472249005
Publication date: 16th May 2019
Author: Sarah Hilary
Publisher: Headline Book Publishing an imprint of Headline Publishing Group
Format: Hardback
Pagination: 368 pages
Genres: Crime / Mystery, Liz Robinson's Picks of the Month, Star Books, Thriller / Suspense,
Categories: Crime & mystery, Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945), Thriller / suspense,

About Sarah Hilary

Sarah Hilary's debut novel SOMEONE ELSE'S SKIN won the Theakstons Old Peculier Crime Novel of the Year 2015. It was the Observer's Book of the Month ('superbly disturbing'), a Richard & Judy Book Club bestseller, and has been published worldwide. NO OTHER DARKNESS and TASTES LIKE FEAR continue the DI Marnie Rome series with QUIETER THAN KILLING to follow in early 2017. Sarah lives in Bath. Sarah lives in Bath. Sarah Hilary is our Putting Authors in the Picture feature for October 2018. Click here to read more about her author journey on our blog.   Author photo © Linda Nylind

More About Sarah Hilary

More Books By Sarah Hilary

Cover for Fragile by Sarah Hilary
Cover for Never Be Broken by Sarah Hilary
Cover for Come and Find Me  by Sarah Hilary
View All Books By Sarah Hilary

Share this book