Get 2 top 10 audiobooks free with a LoveReading exclusive

LoveReading has teamed up with Audiobooks.com to give you the chance to get 2 free audiobooks when you sign up. Try it for 30 days for free with no strings attached. You can cancel anytime, although we're sure you'll love it. Click the button to find out more:

Find out more

The Queen's Rising

by Rebecca Ross

Part of the The Queen's Rising Series

'new gen' - Great Fiction for Young Adults Debut Books of the Month eBooks of the Month

LoveReading View on The Queen's Rising

March 2018 Debut of the Month | In a Nutshell: High Fantasy | Hidden Heritage | Political plotting |

This exuberantly ambitious fantasy debut set in an alternate 16th century sees seventeen-year-old Brienna embroiled in treasonous plots and passionate encounters galore.

With her mother dead and a father whose identity is unknown to her, Brienna’s grandfather’s sends her to an esteemed boarding house at which students study the passions (art, music, dramatics, wit and knowledge). Brienna is aware that this is not the kind of place a girl like her usually attends – “it wasn’t designed for girls who were lacking, for girls who were illegitimate, and certainly not for girls who defied kings” - but here she finds herself desperate to discover and perfect her passion in order to be selected by a wealthy patron. She struggles to see her true passion emerge, and so winds up choosing knowledge. She also winds up without a patron, and left with little choice but to accept a belated offer from a disgraced mysterious lord. It’s not long before Brienna discovers that the lord sought her out for a very specific reason and she’s faced with high-stakes dilemmas that threaten the very stability of two lands.

Brienna’s first-person voice is lively and engaging, as is the highly visual writing, fascinating magic system, compelling court intrigues and dashes of romance. Fans of Sarah J. Maas and Cassandra Clare will surely welcome this tantalising trilogy opener.

Joanne Owen

The Queen's Rising Synopsis

Born out of wedlock, Brienna is cast off by her noble family and sent to Magnolia House - a boarding house for those looking to study the passions: art, music, dramatics, wit and knowledge. Brienna must discover her passion and train hard to perfect her skill, in the hope that she will one day graduate and be chosen by a wealthy patron, looking to support one of the `impassioned'. As Brienna gets closer to the eve of her graduation, she also grows closer to her smart (and handsome) tutor, Cartier. He can sense that she is hiding a secret, but Brienna chooses not to reveal that she is experiencing memories of her ancestors - memories uncovering the mysteries of the past that may have dangerous consequences in the present. A daring plot is brewing - to overthrow the usurper king and restore the rightful monarchy - and Brienna's memories hold the key to its success. Cartier desperately wants to help Brienna, but she must chose her friends wisely, keep her enemies close and trust no one if she is to save herself and her people.

If you loved this, you might like these...

The Last Summer of Us
City of Ghosts
KILLER T
La Belle Sauvage: The Book of Dust Volume One

All versions of this book

ISBN: 9780008245986
Publication date: 08/03/2018
Publisher: HarperCollins an imprint of HarperCollins Publishers
Format: Paperback

Book Information

ISBN: 9780008245986
Publication date: 8th March 2018
Author: Rebecca Ross
Publisher: HarperCollins an imprint of HarperCollins Publishers
Format: Paperback
Pagination: 464 pages
Genres: NewGen - YA Fiction, Debuts of the Month, eBook Favourites,
Categories: Romance & relationships stories (Children's / Teenage), Historical fiction (Children's / Teenage),

About Rebecca Ross

Rebecca Ross grew up in Georgia, USA, where she continues to reside with her husband. She received her bachelor's degree in English from UGA. In the past she has worked at a Colorado dude ranch, as a school librarian and as a live-time captionist for a college. THE QUEEN'S RISING is her debut novel.

More About Rebecca Ross

Share this book