Rebecca Ross - Author

About the Author

Rebecca Ross grew up in Georgia, USA, where she continues to reside with her husband. She received her bachelor's degree in English from UGA. In the past she has worked at a Colorado dude ranch, as a school librarian and as a live-time captionist for a college. THE QUEEN'S RISING is her debut novel.

Featured books by Rebecca Ross

The Queen's Resistance

The Queen's Resistance

Author: Rebecca Ross Format: Paperback Release Date: 13/05/2022

In this sequel to The Queen’s Rising, Brienna has chosen passion over blood, but can she put her country before her heart? Perfect for fans of SIX OF CROWS and Sarah J. Maas. Finally, Brienna is a mistress of knowledge and is settling into her role as the daughter of Davin MacQuinn, a disgraced lord who returned to Maevana to reclaim his house. Though she’s just survived a revolution, one that will finally return a queen to the throne, she faces another difficult challenge. She must prove herself trustworthy to the MacQuinns. But as Queen Isolde Kavanagh’s closest confidant, she’ll have to balance serving her father’s house as well as her country. And then there’s Cartier Evariste, a wholly separate factor in her new life. Now known as Aodhan Morgane, Cartier is adjusting to the stark contrast between his pre-rebellion life in Valenia as a master of knowledge and his current one as the lord of a fallen house. During his castle’s restoration, he discovers a ten-year-old boy named Tomas, whose past and parentage are a complete mystery. So when Cartier’s former pupil Brienna is as fond of Tomas as he is, he lets his mind wander – what if he doesn’t have to raise him or his house alone? As the Lannon trial rapidly approaches, Brienna and Cartier must put their feelings aside to concentrate on forging alliances, executing justice, and ensuring that no one interferes with the queen’s coronation. But resistance is rumbling among the old regime’s supporters, who are desperate to find a weakness in the rebels’ forces. And nothing makes a person more vulnerable than deep-seated love.

A River Enchanted

A River Enchanted

Author: Rebecca Ross Format: Hardback Release Date: 03/02/2022

Sarah J Maas's Crescent City meets Uprooted in acclaimed YA author Rebecca Ross's brilliant first adult fantasy. Enchantments run deep on the magical Isle of Cadence: gossip is carried by the wind, plaid shawls can be as strong as armour, and the smallest cut of a knife can instil fathomless fear. The capricious spirits that live there find mirth in the lives of the humans who call the land home, but that mischief turns to malevolence as girls begin to go missing. Adaira, heiress of the east, knows the spirits only answer to a bard's music, enticing them to return the missing girls. But there's only one bard capable of drawing the spirits forth by song: her childhood enemy Jack Tamerlaine. He hasn't stepped foot on Cadence in ten long years, content to study music at the mainland university, but as Jack and Adaira reluctantly work together it becomes apparent the trouble with the spirits is far more sinister than first thought and an older, darker secret lurks beneath the surface, threatening to undo them all.

The Queen's Rising

The Queen's Rising

Author: Rebecca Ross Format: Paperback Release Date: 08/03/2018

March 2018 Debut of the Month | In a Nutshell: High Fantasy | Hidden Heritage | Political plotting | This exuberantly ambitious fantasy debut set in an alternate 16th century sees seventeen-year-old Brienna embroiled in treasonous plots and passionate encounters galore. With her mother dead and a father whose identity is unknown to her, Brienna’s grandfather’s sends her to an esteemed boarding house at which students study the passions (art, music, dramatics, wit and knowledge). Brienna is aware that this is not the kind of place a girl like her usually attends – “it wasn’t designed for girls who were lacking, for girls who were illegitimate, and certainly not for girls who defied kings” - but here she finds herself desperate to discover and perfect her passion in order to be selected by a wealthy patron. She struggles to see her true passion emerge, and so winds up choosing knowledge. She also winds up without a patron, and left with little choice but to accept a belated offer from a disgraced mysterious lord. It’s not long before Brienna discovers that the lord sought her out for a very specific reason and she’s faced with high-stakes dilemmas that threaten the very stability of two lands. Brienna’s first-person voice is lively and engaging, as is the highly visual writing, fascinating magic system, compelling court intrigues and dashes of romance. Fans of Sarah J. Maas and Cassandra Clare will surely welcome this tantalising trilogy opener.

eBooks of the Month

Other books by Rebecca Ross

A River Enchanted

A River Enchanted

Author: Rebecca Ross Format: Paperback Release Date: 03/02/2022

THE #1 SUNDAY TIMES BESTSELLER A sparkling debut fantasy with Celtic tones set on the magical isle of Cadence where two childhood enemies must team up to discover why girls are going missing from their clan. Enchantments run deep on the magical Isle of Cadence. The capricious spirits that live there find mirth in the lives of the humans who call the land home, but that mischief turns to malevolence as girls begin to go missing. Adaira, heiress of the east, knows the spirits only answer to a bard's music, enticing them to return the missing girls. But there's only one bard capable of drawing the spirits forth by song: her childhood enemy, Jack Tamerlaine. He hasn't stepped foot on Cadence in ten long years, content to study music at the Mainland university. But as Jack and Adaira reluctantly work together it becomes apparent the trouble with the spirits is far more sinister than first thought and an older, darker secret lurks beneath the surface, threatening to undo them all. 'An alluring and rich tale, at once a fast-paced mystery and a love story as warm as a hearth' Ava Reid, bestselling author of The Wolf and the Woodsman

Dreams Lie Beneath

Dreams Lie Beneath

Author: Rebecca Ross Format: Hardback Release Date: 09/12/2021

From Rebecca Ross, acclaimed author of The Queen's Rising duology, comes a story about magic, vengeance, and the captivating power of dreams. A must-read for fans of The Hazel Wood and The Night Circus. The realm of Azenor has spent years plagued by a curse. Every new moon, magic flows from the nearby mountain and brings nightmares to life. Only magicians-who serve as territory wardens-stand between people and their worst dreams. Clementine Madigan is ready to take over as the warden of her small town, but when two magicians arrive to challenge her, she is unknowingly drawn into a century-old conflict. She seeks revenge, but as she gets closer to Phelan, one of the handsome young magicians, secrets-as well as romance-begins to rise. To fight the realm's curse, which seems to be haunting her every turn, Clementine must unite with her rival. But will their efforts be enough to save Azenor from the nightmares that lurk around every corner?

Sisters of Sword and Song

Sisters of Sword and Song

Author: Rebecca Ross Format: Paperback Release Date: 25/06/2020

Rebecca Ross, acclaimed author of The Queen's Rising duology, delivers a thrilling new fantasy about the lengths two sisters will go for each other. Perfect for fans of Ember in the Ashes, Sky In the Deep, and Court of Fives. Two sisters... one unbreakable bond Evadne is finally going to be reunited with her older sister, Halcyon, who has been serving in the queen's army for eight long years. But when Halcyon unexpectedly appears a day early, Evadne knows something is gravely wrong. Halcyon has been charged with a heinous crime and though her life is spared, she has been sentenced to fifteen years of punishment - five years of hard labour, five years of imprisonment and five years serving the house that she has wronged. Suspicious of the charges, as well as the details of the crime, Evadne volunteers to take part of her sister's terms. If there's a way to clear Halcyon's name, she'll find it. But as the sisters begin their sentences, they quickly learn that there are fates worse than death... Set in a richly-drawn, ancient world comes this epic fantasy from the author of The Queen's Rising...

Queen's Rising

Queen's Rising

Author: Rebecca Ross Format: Ebook Release Date: 08/03/2018

A passionate story of intrigue, deception, truth and survival. A dazzling debut from an extraordinary new talent. Perfect for fans of SIX OF CROWS and Sarah J. Maas. Born out of wedlock, Brienna is cast off by her noble family and sent to Magnolia House - a boarding house for those looking to study the passions: art, music, dramatics, wit and knowledge. Brienna must discover her passion and train hard to perfect her skill, in the hope that she will one day graduate and be chosen by a wealthy patron, looking to support one of the 'impassioned'. As Brienna gets closer to the eve of her graduation, she also grows closer to her smart (and handsome) tutor, Cartier. He can sense that she is hiding a secret, but Brienna chooses not to reveal that she is experiencing memories of her ancestors - memories uncovering the mysteries of the past that may have dangerous consequences in the present.A daring plot is brewing - to overthrow the usurper king and restore the rightful monarchy - and Brienna's memories hold the key to its success. Cartier desperately wants to help Brienna, but she must chose her friends wisely, keep her enemies close and trust no one if she is to save herself and her people.

Die funf Gaben (Valenias Tochter 1)

Die funf Gaben (Valenias Tochter 1)

Author: Rebecca Ross Format: Ebook Release Date: 28/02/2018

Wie jedes Madchen im Haus Magnalia fiebert Brienna der Sommersonnenwende entgegen. Denn dann wird sie zur Berufenen erklart und kann ein neues Leben bei einem Schutzherrn beginnen. Sie lasst sich auf das Angebot eines Lords aus dem Norden ein, auch wenn sie dafur schweren Herzens von ihrem Master Cartier Abschied nehmen muss. Kaum ist sie jedoch im Reich Maevana angekommen, wird ihr klar, dass sie in einem Netz aus Intrigen gefangen ist: Mit Hilfe ihrer besonderen Gabe soll sie den Konig sturzen. Als sie schlielich Cartier wiedersieht, muss sie sich entscheiden, ob sie ihrer Familie oder ihrem Herzen die Treue halt.

Author Info

Twitter Updates

If this is your author page then you can share your Twitter updates with your readers right here on LoveReading

Find out more

Facebook Updates

If this is your author page then you can share your Facebook updates with your readers right here on LoveReading

Find out more