Get 2 top 10 audiobooks free with a LoveReading exclusive

LoveReading has teamed up with Audiobooks.com to give you the chance to get 2 free audiobooks when you sign up. Try it for 30 days for free with no strings attached. You can cancel anytime, although we're sure you'll love it. Click the button to find out more:

Find out more

The Outcasts of Time

by Ian Mortimer

Action / Adventure / Spy / Espionage eBooks of the Month Historical Fiction Modern and Classic Literary Fiction Thriller and Suspense

LoveReading View on The Outcasts of Time

An absolutely riveting walk through time. The moment I heard about ‘The Outcasts of Time’ I knew I had to read it, the premise is just fascinating. In 1348, brothers John and William are informed they have only six days left to live, they can either return home to die, or wake up each of their remaining six mornings, 99 years after the last. I almost felt as though I was in a time machine as the days span through years, yet the brothers story keeps you centred. The huge swathe of history is brought into focus by the intimate and personal and I felt a connection to these two men as they floundered through time. Ian Mortimer encourages architecture and countryside to come alive with vibrant strokes of the pen. ‘The Outcasts of Time’ surprises, captivates and is an eye-opening foray into the past. ~ Liz Robinson

June 2017 Debut of the Month.

A 'Piece of Passion' from the Publisher...

From the author described by The Times as ‘the most remarkable historian of our time’, the publication of Ian Mortimer’s new work of historical fiction is a hugely exciting event. A stunningly high-concept story that is both as daring as it is gripping, it is perfect for fans of Conn Iggulden, SJ Parris and Kate Mosse.

December 1348. With the country in the grip of the Black Death, brothers John and William fear that they will shortly die and go to Hell. But as the end draws near, they are given an unexpected choice: either to go home and spend their last six days in their familiar world, or to search for salvation across the forthcoming centuries – living each one of their remaining days ninety-nine years after the last.

John and William choose the future and find themselves in 1447, ignorant of almost everything going on around them. The year 1546 brings no more comfort, and 1645 challenges them still further. It is not just that technology is changing: things they have taken for granted all their lives prove to be short-lived.

As they find themselves in stranger and stranger times, the reader travels with them, seeing the world through their eyes as it shifts through disease, progress, enlightenment and war. But their time is running out – can they do something to redeem themselves before the six days are up?

I found this novel to be an unforgettable read – richly layered, impeccably researched, clever and poignant. The sense of shock and bewilderment as the brothers see further and further into the future is palpable, and forces the reader to consider whether the march of time has left some crucial elements of humanity behind. I fervently hope this novel finds the wide readership it deserves, and I feel there are many important themes and issues in this story to be debated.

Thank you for reading The Outcasts of Time.

All best wishes,

Joanne Dickinson, Publishing Director, Simon & Schuster

Liz Robinson

The Outcasts of Time Synopsis

From the author described by The Times as 'the most remarkable historian of our time', this is a stunningly high-concept historical novel that is both as daring as it is gripping, and perfect for fans of Conn Iggulden, SJ Parris and Kate Mosse. December 1348. With the country in the grip of the Black Death, brothers John and William fear that they will shortly die and go to Hell. But as the end draws near, they are given an unexpected choice: either to go home and spend their last six days in their familiar world, or to search for salvation across the forthcoming centuries - living each one of their remaining days ninety-nine years after the last. John and William choose the future and find themselves in 1447, ignorant of almost everything going on around them. The year 1546 brings no more comfort, and 1645 challenges them still further. It is not just that technology is changing: things they have taken for granted all their lives prove to be short-lived. As they find themselves in stranger and stranger times, the reader travels with them, seeing the world through their eyes as it shifts through disease, progress, enlightenment and war. But their time is running out - can they do something to redeem themselves before the six days are up? What readers are saying: 'Wow, what a book! I absolutely adored this. This was ambitious but done to perfection' Sara Marsden 'The Outcasts of Time is a tour de force, rich in spellbinding detail. Haunting and atmospheric, there is warmth and humour alongside fear and torment; all human life is here. As perfect a novel as any I've ever read' Ophelia's Reads 'A fascinating trip through seven centuries of history ...The author has done well to traverse such a sweep of time ...it's a great read and I'd recommend it' Netgalley reviewer, 4 stars

The Outcasts of Time Press Reviews

'Mortimer's gift is to turn such unburnished material into observational gold... a delightful book, full of busy research lightly worn, that is as accessible and entertaining a guide as you will find to living in past times'
Andrew Holgate The Sunday Times

'Splendidly entertaining... It's like Horrible Histories for grown-ups, and I mean that as a compliment'
Independent

'It's an incredible tour de force, a vivid and page-turning evocation of an age that is long-gone yet has been brought to life again in vibrant and robust fashion thanks to Ian Mortimer's impeccable scholarship and pacy writing'
Alison Weir

'Ian Mortimer is one of those rare historians who can both bring the past alive and at the same time challenge his readers' preconceptions' Mail on Sunday

If you loved this, you might like these...

The Winter of the Witch
The Binding
The Blue
Trinity

All versions of this book

ISBN: 9781471146589
Publication date: 09/08/2018
Publisher: Simon & Schuster Ltd
Format: Paperback

ISBN: 9781471146558
Publication date: 15/06/2017
Publisher: Simon & Schuster Ltd
Format: Hardback

Book Information

ISBN: 9781471146558
Publication date: 15th June 2017
Author: Ian Mortimer
Publisher: Simon & Schuster Ltd
Format: Hardback
Pagination: 400 pages
Genres: Action Adventure / Spy, eBook Favourites, Historical Fiction, Literary Fiction, Thriller / Suspense,
Categories: Historical fiction, Historical adventure, Historical mysteries,

About Ian Mortimer

Ian Mortimer has BA and PhD degrees in history from Exeter University and an MA in archive studies from University College London. He was elected a Fellow of the Royal Historical Society in 1998, and was awarded the Alexander Prize (2004) by the Royal Historical Society for his work on the social history of medicine. He is the author of three medieval biographies, The Greatest Traitor: The Life of Sir Roger Mortimer, The Perfect King: The Life of Edward III, and The Fears of Henry IV: The Life of England's Self-Made King, published in 2003, 2006 and 2007 respectively by Jonathan Cape. He lives with ...

More About Ian Mortimer

More Books By Ian Mortimer

Cover for The Outcasts of Time by Ian Mortimer
Cover for Human Race 10 Centuries of Change on Earth by Ian Mortimer
Cover for Centuries of Change Which Century Saw the Most Change? by Ian Mortimer
View All Books By Ian Mortimer

Share this book