LoveReading

Becoming a member of the LoveReading community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unadulterated book loving, with your favourite books saved to your own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop Plus lots lots more…

Find out more

The Outcasts of Time

by Ian Mortimer

Modern and Contemporary Fiction Historical fiction Thriller and Suspense eBooks of the Month Action Adventure Literary Fiction

LoveReading Expert Review of The Outcasts of Time

An absolutely riveting walk through time. The moment I heard about ‘The Outcasts of Time’ I knew I had to read it, the premise is just fascinating. In 1348, brothers John and William are informed they have only six days left to live, they can either return home to die, or wake up each of their remaining six mornings, 99 years after the last. I almost felt as though I was in a time machine as the days span through years, yet the brothers story keeps you centred. The huge swathe of history is brought into focus by the intimate and personal and I felt a connection to these two men as they floundered through time. Ian Mortimer encourages architecture and countryside to come alive with vibrant strokes of the pen. ‘The Outcasts of Time’ surprises, captivates and is an eye-opening foray into the past. ~ Liz Robinson

June 2017 Debut of the Month.

A 'Piece of Passion' from the Publisher...

From the author described by The Times as ‘the most remarkable historian of our time’, the publication of Ian Mortimer’s new work of historical fiction is a hugely exciting event. A stunningly high-concept story that is both as daring as it is gripping, it is perfect for fans of Conn Iggulden, SJ Parris and Kate Mosse.

December 1348. With the country in the grip of the Black Death, brothers John and William fear that they will shortly die and go to Hell. But as the end draws near, they are given an unexpected choice: either to go home and spend their last six days in their familiar world, or to search for salvation across the forthcoming centuries – living each one of their remaining days ninety-nine years after the last.

John and William choose the future and find themselves in 1447, ignorant of almost everything going on around them. The year 1546 brings no more comfort, and 1645 challenges them still further. It is not just that technology is changing: things they have taken for granted all their lives prove to be short-lived.

As they find themselves in stranger and stranger times, the reader travels with them, seeing the world through their eyes as it shifts through disease, progress, enlightenment and war. But their time is running out – can they do something to redeem themselves before the six days are up?

I found this novel to be an unforgettable read – richly layered, impeccably researched, clever and poignant. The sense of shock and bewilderment as the brothers see further and further into the future is palpable, and forces the reader to consider whether the march of time has left some crucial elements of humanity behind. I fervently hope this novel finds the wide readership it deserves, and I feel there are many important themes and issues in this story to be debated.

Thank you for reading The Outcasts of Time.

All best wishes,

Joanne Dickinson, Publishing Director, Simon & Schuster

Liz Robinson

The Outcasts of Time Synopsis

From the author described by The Times as 'the most remarkable historian of our time', this is a stunningly high-concept historical novel that is both as daring as it is gripping, and perfect for fans of Conn Iggulden, SJ Parris and Kate Mosse. December 1348. With the country in the grip of the Black Death, brothers John and William fear that they will shortly die and go to Hell. But as the end draws near, they are given an unexpected choice: either to go home and spend their last six days in their familiar world, or to search for salvation across the forthcoming centuries - living each one of their remaining days ninety-nine years after the last. John and William choose the future and find themselves in 1447, ignorant of almost everything going on around them. The year 1546 brings no more comfort, and 1645 challenges them still further. It is not just that technology is changing: things they have taken for granted all their lives prove to be short-lived. As they find themselves in stranger and stranger times, the reader travels with them, seeing the world through their eyes as it shifts through disease, progress, enlightenment and war. But their time is running out - can they do something to redeem themselves before the six days are up? What readers are saying: 'Wow, what a book! I absolutely adored this. This was ambitious but done to perfection' Sara Marsden 'The Outcasts of Time is a tour de force, rich in spellbinding detail. Haunting and atmospheric, there is warmth and humour alongside fear and torment; all human life is here. As perfect a novel as any I've ever read' Ophelia's Reads 'A fascinating trip through seven centuries of history ...The author has done well to traverse such a sweep of time ...it's a great read and I'd recommend it' Netgalley reviewer, 4 stars

About This Edition

ISBN: 9781471146589
Publication date: 9th August 2018
Author: Ian Mortimer
Publisher: Simon & Schuster Ltd
Format: Paperback
Pagination: 400 pages
Primary Genre Historical fiction
Other Genres:
Recommendations:
Win a Signed Hardback Copy The Wolf Den by Elodie Harper!

Win a Signed Hardback Copy The Wolf Den by Elodie Harper!

Closing date: 30/06/2021

The Wolf Den by Elodie Harper is "An entertaining firecracker blazing with wolfish verve and a woman’s desire to escape the Pompeii brothel she’s enslaved to." Joanne Owen, Expert Reviewer To celebrate it's release we're working with Head of Zeus to offer 5 signed hardback copies of The Wolf Den. This draw is open only for UK residents currently in the UK and is free to enter, multiple entries from the same email address will only be counted once. The draw closes on 30th June 2021. Please ensure that the details you use to enter the competition will be correct at the time the competition ends. The winners will be notified as soon as possible.

Enter Now

Like For Like Featured Books

Small Pleasures
The Last Days of Night
The Fatal Tree
The Sensorium of God

Ian Mortimer Press Reviews

'Mortimer's gift is to turn such unburnished material into observational gold... a delightful book, full of busy research lightly worn, that is as accessible and entertaining a guide as you will find to living in past times'
Andrew Holgate The Sunday Times

'Splendidly entertaining... It's like Horrible Histories for grown-ups, and I mean that as a compliment'
Independent

'It's an incredible tour de force, a vivid and page-turning evocation of an age that is long-gone yet has been brought to life again in vibrant and robust fashion thanks to Ian Mortimer's impeccable scholarship and pacy writing'
Alison Weir

'Ian Mortimer is one of those rare historians who can both bring the past alive and at the same time challenge his readers' preconceptions' Mail on Sunday

Other editions of this book

ISBN: 9781471146589
Publication date: 09/08/2018
Format: Paperback

ISBN: 9781471146558
Publication date: 15/06/2017
Format: Hardback

View All Editions

About Ian Mortimer

Ian Mortimer has BA and PhD degrees in history from Exeter University and an MA in archive studies from University College London. He was elected a Fellow of the Royal Historical Society in 1998, and was awarded the Alexander Prize (2004) by the Royal Historical Society for his work on the social history of medicine. He is the author of three medieval biographies, The Greatest Traitor: The Life of Sir Roger Mortimer, The Perfect King: The Life of Edward III, and The Fears of Henry IV: The Life of England's Self-Made King, published in 2003, 2006 and 2007 respectively by Jonathan Cape. He lives with ...

More About Ian Mortimer

More Books By Ian Mortimer

The Outcasts of Time
The Outcasts of Time
The Outcasts of Time
View All Books By Ian Mortimer

Share this book