when i was invisible debuts of the month finding gobi eleanor oliphant twitter
Search our site
Lily and the Octopus by Steven Rowley Read the opening extract of the brand new Steven Rowley book before its publication on 05/10/2017

The Outcasts of Time by Ian Mortimer
  

The Outcasts of Time

Historical Fiction   Action Adventure / Spy   Thriller / Suspense   Literary Fiction   eBook Favourites   eBook Favourites   

RRP £12.99

Download an extract Discuss on Facebook Discuss this book on our Literary Contemporary Facebook group Share this book

Lovereading view...

An absolutely riveting walk through time. The moment I heard about ‘The Outcasts of Time’ I knew I had to read it, the premise is just fascinating. In 1348, brothers John and William are informed they have only six days left to live, they can either return home to die, or wake up each of their remaining six mornings, 99 years after the last. I almost felt as though I was in a time machine as the days span through years, yet the brothers story keeps you centred. The huge swathe of history is brought into focus by the intimate and personal and I felt a connection to these two men as they floundered through time. Ian Mortimer encourages architecture and countryside to come alive with vibrant strokes of the pen. ‘The Outcasts of Time’ surprises, captivates and is an eye-opening foray into the past. ~ Liz Robinson

June 2017 Debut of the Month.

A 'Piece of Passion' from the Publisher...

From the author described by The Times as ‘the most remarkable historian of our time’, the publication of Ian Mortimer’s new work of historical fiction is a hugely exciting event. A stunningly high-concept story that is both as daring as it is gripping, it is perfect for fans of Conn Iggulden, SJ Parris and Kate Mosse.

December 1348. With the country in the grip of the Black Death, brothers John and William fear that they will shortly die and go to Hell. But as the end draws near, they are given an unexpected choice: either to go home and spend their last six days in their familiar world, or to search for salvation across the forthcoming centuries – living each one of their remaining days ninety-nine years after the last.

John and William choose the future and find themselves in 1447, ignorant of almost everything going on around them. The year 1546 brings no more comfort, and 1645 challenges them still further. It is not just that technology is changing: things they have taken for granted all their lives prove to be short-lived.

As they find themselves in stranger and stranger times, the reader travels with them, seeing the world through their eyes as it shifts through disease, progress, enlightenment and war. But their time is running out – can they do something to redeem themselves before the six days are up?

I found this novel to be an unforgettable read – richly layered, impeccably researched, clever and poignant. The sense of shock and bewilderment as the brothers see further and further into the future is palpable, and forces the reader to consider whether the march of time has left some crucial elements of humanity behind. I fervently hope this novel finds the wide readership it deserves, and I feel there are many important themes and issues in this story to be debated.

Thank you for reading The Outcasts of Time.

All best wishes,

Joanne Dickinson, Publishing Director, Simon & Schuster

Win a Limited Edition book proof of a Karin Slaughter thriller

We have 50 Limited Edition book proofs to give away of The Good Daughter, the stunning new standalone thriller, with a chilling edge of psychological suspense, from the No. 1 bestselling author Karin Slaughter. This is what our editorial expert said about it - ‘The Good Daughter’ is a breathtaking whammy of a read, pure escapism at its best, and I can highly recommend it! ~ Liz Robinson

To have a chance of winning this fantastic prize, click the button below. Please note that this draw is open only for UK residents and is free to enter, multiple entries from the same email address will only be counted once.

The draw closes on 30 September 2017. The winners will be notified by 13 October 2017.

Good luck!

Enter prize draw Draw closes: 30/09/2017

Synopsis

The Outcasts of Time by Ian Mortimer

From the author described by The Times as 'the most remarkable historian of our time', this is a stunningly high-concept historical novel that is both as daring as it is gripping, and perfect for fans of Conn Iggulden, SJ Parris and Kate Mosse. December 1348. With the country in the grip of the Black Death, brothers John and William fear that they will shortly die and go to Hell. But as the end draws near, they are given an unexpected choice: either to go home and spend their last six days in their familiar world, or to search for salvation across the forthcoming centuries - living each one of their remaining days ninety-nine years after the last. John and William choose the future and find themselves in 1447, ignorant of almost everything going on around them. The year 1546 brings no more comfort, and 1645 challenges them still further. It is not just that technology is changing: things they have taken for granted all their lives prove to be short-lived. As they find themselves in stranger and stranger times, the reader travels with them, seeing the world through their eyes as it shifts through disease, progress, enlightenment and war. But their time is running out - can they do something to redeem themselves before the six days are up? What readers are saying: 'Wow, what a book! I absolutely adored this. This was ambitious but done to perfection' Sara Marsden 'The Outcasts of Time is a tour de force, rich in spellbinding detail. Haunting and atmospheric, there is warmth and humour alongside fear and torment; all human life is here. As perfect a novel as any I've ever read' Ophelia's Reads 'A fascinating trip through seven centuries of history ...The author has done well to traverse such a sweep of time ...it's a great read and I'd recommend it' Netgalley reviewer, 4 stars

Reviews

'Mortimer's gift is to turn such unburnished material into observational gold... a delightful book, full of busy research lightly worn, that is as accessible and entertaining a guide as you will find to living in past times'
Andrew Holgate The Sunday Times

'Splendidly entertaining... It's like Horrible Histories for grown-ups, and I mean that as a compliment'
Independent

'It's an incredible tour de force, a vivid and page-turning evocation of an age that is long-gone yet has been brought to life again in vibrant and robust fashion thanks to Ian Mortimer's impeccable scholarship and pacy writing'
Alison Weir

'Ian Mortimer is one of those rare historians who can both bring the past alive and at the same time challenge his readers' preconceptions' Mail on Sunday

About the Author

Ian Mortimer

Ian Mortimer has BA and PhD degrees in history from Exeter University and an MA in archive studies from University College London. He was elected a Fellow of the Royal Historical Society in 1998, and was awarded the Alexander Prize (2004) by the Royal Historical Society for his work on the social history of medicine. He is the author of three medieval biographies, The Greatest Traitor: The Life of Sir Roger Mortimer, The Perfect King: The Life of Edward III, and The Fears of Henry IV: The Life of England's Self-Made King, published in 2003, 2006 and 2007 respectively by Jonathan Cape. He lives with his wife and three children on the edge of Dartmoor.

More books by this author
Author 'Like for Like' recommendations

Loading similar books...
Loading other formats...

Book Info

Publication date

15th June 2017

Author

Ian Mortimer

More books by Ian Mortimer
Author 'Like for Like'
    recommendations

Author's Website

www.ianmortimer.com/

Author's Facebook Latest

Loading facebook updates...
Loading twitter updates...

Publisher

Simon & Schuster Ltd

Format

Hardback
400 pages

Categories

Historical Fiction
Action Adventure / Spy
Thriller / Suspense
Literary Fiction
eBook Favourites
eBook Favourites

Historical fiction
Historical adventure
Historical mysteries

ISBN

9781471146558

I love reading books I wouldn't normally choose before everyone else gets to read them!

Dawn Lynch

It has enriched my leisure time by introducing me to a world of books which I would not have previously considered.

Val Rowe

It's a lively, independent website with reviews, recommendations and more - with a huge range of books available to buy in all formats.

Alison Layland

Lovereading does a stella job in promoting both new and established authors.

Iris Clements

I love the honest opinions, recommendations for every genre and every reader, wish lists and Like for Like.

Amrita Dasgupta

I love Lovereading for the wonderful like for like author recommendations and for highlighting new books, it's a great resource for readers!

Lindsay

For me, to read is to learn, to reflect, to escape, to think, to contemplate and my time for space and calm.

Sally Ellsmore

If you LOVE reading then you will love LOVEREADING! It's a 'novel' idea. Seriously though I could not recommend them enough.

Rebecca Whymark

Lovereading4kids

Lovereading4schools