Win £500 in book vouchers by helping us with a 7 minute reader survey click here.

likeyoulove books of the month book price comparison rebus 30th anniversary
Search our site
The Woman in the Window by A. J. Finn Read the opening extract of the brand new A. J. Finn book before its publication on 22/01/2018

Reader Reviewed
See You in September by Charity Norman
  

See You in September

Family Drama   Books of the Month   Literary Fiction   Reading Groups   Relationship Stories   eBook Favourites   eBook Favourites   
Download an extract Discuss on Facebook Discuss this book on our Literary Contemporary Facebook group Share this book

Lovereading view...

May 2017 Book of the Month.

Gosh, what a stunning read this is, I simply couldn't put it down and devoured it in one glorious sitting! Cassy travels half way around the world to New Zealand with her boyfriend, when they separate, Cassy is left stranded, and a split second decision changes the outcome of her life. I admit to grabbing this book as soon as it arrived in the office; Charity Norman has the ability to strike a chord, to answer a feeling, yet open your eyes and mind to new thoughts, and I simply love her writing. The prologue, set in 2016, sent chills racing down my arms, I almost had to sit on my hands to prevent me from sneaking a peak at the ending. As soon as I started to read chapter one, set in 2010, I was swept away, and stayed immersed in the story as the tension escalated to almost unbearable levels. I chided, fumed, beseeched, pondered and considered. Charity Norman has once again created a searing, expressive, and absolutely cracking read, I adored and highly recommend ‘See You In September’. ~ Liz Robinson

If you like Charity Norman you might also like to read books by Joanna Trollope, Jodi Picoult and Maggie O' Farrell.

Reader Reviews

In addition to our Lovereading expert opinion some of our Reader Review Panel were also lucky enough to read and review this title. You can click here to read the full reviews.

  • Nicki Southwell - 'What a powerful and emotive storyline.  I was completely immersed in this.'
  • Annie Day - 'A gripping emotional tale of how a young female student on an overseas summer trip inadvertently falls into the clutches of a manipulative cult. Not good for a parent of a gap year student!'
  • Sarah Musk - 'A brilliant, compulsive read about a young woman who becomes involved in a religious cult in New Zealand and her family's attempts to rescue her from their clutches.'
  • Jane Pepler - 'A brilliant, gripping read full of strong characters.'
  • Rachel Aygin - 'I loved this book.  The plot is fascinating and the descriptions of the New Zealand landscape make you want to find out more about the country.'
  • Susan Andrews - 'Another great book by Charity Norman. She really picks her subjects well. Each book totally different. I've loved each one! If you've not read any of her books, start now!'
  • Krissy - 'A gripping read and thoroughly enjoyable book.'
  • Alan Brown - 'A description of a family who live with one of them taken into a cult. Brilliantly written in the round.'
  • Cheryl Kinney - 'Great read! I haven't read any of Charity Norman's books before, I will definitely be looking up her previous titles after reading See You in September.'
  • Sarah Harper - 'Unsettling, creepy and gut-wrenchingly plausible, this was completely and utterly compulsive. In a similar vein to Eleanor Wasserberg’s Foxlowe, this is equally sinister and equally stunning.'
  • Chloe Hill - 'The reason this book worked for me was because it was so incredibly convincing.'
  • Sharon McKinlay - 'A consuming read about a young girl who gets swept up by a cult and her family's struggles to try & get her back.'
  • Nicola Edwards - 'A powerful, all-encompassing book that will have you thinking about it long after you’ve read it.'
  • Caroline Harvey - 'Anything by Charity Norman is a must read.'
  • Lisa Wise - 'See You In September captivated me, I adore books which draw you in and leave you wanting more!'   

Win a SIGNED HARDBACK of A Question of Trust!

Get into the Spirit of Christmas with our special SIGNED HARDBACK competition! We are giving away THREE hardback editions of Penny Vincenzi's latest page-turner, A Question of Trust, each signed by the author!

To have a chance of winning one of these fantastic prizes, click the button below. Please note that this draw is open only for UK residents and is free to enter, multiple entries from the same email address will only be counted once.

The draw closes on 4 December 2017. The winners will be notified by 11th December 2017.

Good luck!

Enter prize draw Draw closes: 04/12/2017

Synopsis

See You in September by Charity Norman

Cassy smiled, blew them a kiss. 'See you in September,' she said. It was a throwaway line. Just words uttered casually by a young woman in a hurry. And then she'd gone.

It was supposed to be a short trip - a break in New Zealand before her best friend's wedding. But when Cassy waved goodbye to her parents, they never dreamed that it would be years before they'd see her again. Having broken up with her boyfriend, Cassy accepts an invitation to stay in an idyllic farming collective. Overcome by the peace and beauty of the valley and swept up in the charisma of Justin, the community's leader, Cassy becomes convinced that she has to stay. As Cassy becomes more and more entrenched in the group's rituals and beliefs, her frantic parents fight to bring her home - before Justin's prophesied Last Day can come to pass. A powerful story of family, faith and finding yourself, See You in September is an unputdownable new novel from this hugely compelling author.

Reviews

Praise for Charity Norman:

'A riveting, fascinating read. I was absolutely gripped.' Julie Cohen

'See You in September is one of those novels that really gets beneath the skin... I love the way Charity Norman is able to show the greys between the obvious black and whites; how she draws such multi-layered characters; and, of course, how she describes her stunning but often sinister locations.' Tracy Buchanan

'This is the author's fourth book and although I've said it before, it's her best. I can't wait to see what subject she'll tackle next.' The Sun on THE NEW WOMAN

'Completely brilliant - you won't be able to turn the pages fast enough.' Bella on THE NEW WOMAN

'I shouted at this novel. I cast it away, abandoned, only to return to its beguiling pages.' Buzz on THE NEW WOMAN

'Engrossing' Woman and Home on THE SON-IN-LAW

'A gripping tale that would appeal to fans of Jodi Picoult and Joanna Trollope... A page turning book to while away a winter's evening.' Red Online on AFTER THE FALL

'Easy to read, hard to put down, it'll move you to tears.' Easy Living on FREEING GRACE

About the Author

Charity Norman

Charity Norman was born in Uganda and brought up in successive draughty vicarages in Yorkshire and Birmingham. After several years’ travel she became a barrister, specialising in crime and family law in the northeast of England. In 2002, realising that her three children had barely met her, she took a break from the law and moved with her family to New Zealand, where she now lives in Napier. Freeing Grace (2011) was Charity’s debut novel and After the Fall (2013) is her second.

More books by this author
Author 'Like for Like' recommendations

Loading similar books...
Loading other formats...

Book Info

Publication date

4th May 2017

Author

Charity Norman

More books by Charity Norman
Author 'Like for Like'
    recommendations

Author's Facebook Latest

Loading facebook updates...
Loading twitter updates...

Publisher

Allen & Unwin

Format

Paperback
432 pages

Categories

Family Drama
Books of the Month
Literary Fiction
Reading Groups
Relationship Stories
eBook Favourites
eBook Favourites

Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945)

ISBN

9781743318775

Lovereading recommends, honestly reviews and promotes books-what more can I say?!

Rachel Bridgeman

I read new, exciting writers and established authors before publication and there is a great website full of brilliant books and opinions.

Lynda

I 'Lovereading' because it lets me see what new books are around with a detailed synopsis and readers' reviews.

Judith Sharp

The books for review are always great reads, brilliantly written, and introduces me to a huge variety of, established and new, authors.

Lesley Hart

It has enriched my leisure time by introducing me to a world of books which I would not have previously considered.

Val Rowe

They are bright, breezy and eager to offer a great book, then genuinely listen/respect the review one writes.

Maggie Crane

I love reading books I wouldn't normally choose before everyone else gets to read them!

Dawn Lynch

As for why I'd recommend Lovereading, it's simple - it's a great place to get information and reviews about new books!

Margaret Freeman

Lovereading4kids

Lovereading4schools