Get 2 top 10 audiobooks free with a LoveReading exclusive

LoveReading has teamed up with Audiobooks.com to give you the chance to get 2 free audiobooks when you sign up. Try it for 30 days for free with no strings attached. You can cancel anytime, although we're sure you'll love it. Click the button to find out more:

Find out more

See You in September

by Charity Norman

Books of the Month Books with reviews by our Reader Review Panel eBooks of the Month Family Drama Modern and Classic Literary Fiction Relationship Stories

LoveReading View on See You in September

May 2017 Book of the Month.

Gosh, what a stunning read this is, I simply couldn't put it down and devoured it in one glorious sitting! Cassy travels half way around the world to New Zealand with her boyfriend, when they separate, Cassy is left stranded, and a split second decision changes the outcome of her life. I admit to grabbing this book as soon as it arrived in the office; Charity Norman has the ability to strike a chord, to answer a feeling, yet open your eyes and mind to new thoughts, and I simply love her writing. The prologue, set in 2016, sent chills racing down my arms, I almost had to sit on my hands to prevent me from sneaking a peak at the ending. As soon as I started to read chapter one, set in 2010, I was swept away, and stayed immersed in the story as the tension escalated to almost unbearable levels. I chided, fumed, beseeched, pondered and considered. Charity Norman has once again created a searing, expressive, and absolutely cracking read, I adored and highly recommend ‘See You In September’. ~ Liz Robinson

Liz Robinson

See You in September Synopsis

Cassy smiled, blew them a kiss. 'See you in September,' she said. It was a throwaway line. Just words uttered casually by a young woman in a hurry. And then she'd gone.

It was supposed to be a short trip - a break in New Zealand before her best friend's wedding. But when Cassy waved goodbye to her parents, they never dreamed that it would be years before they'd see her again. Having broken up with her boyfriend, Cassy accepts an invitation to stay in an idyllic farming collective. Overcome by the peace and beauty of the valley and swept up in the charisma of Justin, the community's leader, Cassy becomes convinced that she has to stay. As Cassy becomes more and more entrenched in the group's rituals and beliefs, her frantic parents fight to bring her home - before Justin's prophesied Last Day can come to pass. A powerful story of family, faith and finding yourself, See You in September is an unputdownable new novel from this hugely compelling author.

See You in September Reader Reviews

In addition to our Lovereading expert opinion some of our Reader Review Panel were also lucky enough to read and review this title. You can click here to read the full reviews.

  • Nicki Southwell - 'What a powerful and emotive storyline.  I was completely immersed in this.'
  • Annie Day - 'A gripping emotional tale of how a young female student on an overseas summer trip inadvertently falls into the clutches of a manipulative cult. Not good for a parent of a gap year student!'
  • Sarah Musk - 'A brilliant, compulsive read about a young woman who becomes involved in a religious cult in New Zealand and her family's attempts to rescue her from their clutches.'
  • Jane Pepler - 'A brilliant, gripping read full of strong characters.'
  • Rachel Aygin - 'I loved this book.  The plot is fascinating and the descriptions of the New Zealand landscape make you want to find out more about the country.'
  • Susan Andrews - 'Another great book by Charity Norman. She really picks her subjects well. Each book totally different. I've loved each one! If you've not read any of her books, start now!'
  • Krissy - 'A gripping read and thoroughly enjoyable book.'
  • Alan Brown - 'A description of a family who live with one of them taken into a cult. Brilliantly written in the round.'
  • Cheryl Kinney - 'Great read! I haven't read any of Charity Norman's books before, I will definitely be looking up her previous titles after reading See You in September.'
  • Sarah Harper - 'Unsettling, creepy and gut-wrenchingly plausible, this was completely and utterly compulsive. In a similar vein to Eleanor Wasserberg’s Foxlowe, this is equally sinister and equally stunning.'
  • Chloe Hill - 'The reason this book worked for me was because it was so incredibly convincing.'
  • Sharon McKinlay - 'A consuming read about a young girl who gets swept up by a cult and her family's struggles to try & get her back.'
  • Nicola Edwards - 'A powerful, all-encompassing book that will have you thinking about it long after you’ve read it.'
  • Caroline Harvey - 'Anything by Charity Norman is a must read.'
  • Lisa Wise - 'See You In September captivated me, I adore books which draw you in and leave you wanting more!'   

See You in September Press Reviews

Praise for Charity Norman:

'A riveting, fascinating read. I was absolutely gripped.' Julie Cohen

'See You in September is one of those novels that really gets beneath the skin... I love the way Charity Norman is able to show the greys between the obvious black and whites; how she draws such multi-layered characters; and, of course, how she describes her stunning but often sinister locations.' Tracy Buchanan

'This is the author's fourth book and although I've said it before, it's her best. I can't wait to see what subject she'll tackle next.' The Sun on THE NEW WOMAN

'Completely brilliant - you won't be able to turn the pages fast enough.' Bella on THE NEW WOMAN

'I shouted at this novel. I cast it away, abandoned, only to return to its beguiling pages.' Buzz on THE NEW WOMAN

'Engrossing' Woman and Home on THE SON-IN-LAW

'A gripping tale that would appeal to fans of Jodi Picoult and Joanna Trollope... A page turning book to while away a winter's evening.' Red Online on AFTER THE FALL

'Easy to read, hard to put down, it'll move you to tears.' Easy Living on FREEING GRACE

If you loved this, you might like these...

A Store at War
The Very White of Love
Five Days of Fog
The Christmas Sisters

All versions of this book

ISBN: 9781743318775
Publication date: 04/05/2017
Publisher: Allen & Unwin
Format: Paperback

Book Information

ISBN: 9781743318775
Publication date: 4th May 2017
Author: Charity Norman
Publisher: Allen & Unwin
Format: Paperback
Pagination: 432 pages
Genres: Books of the Month, Reader Reviewed Books, eBook Favourites, Family Drama, Literary Fiction, Reading Groups, Relationship Stories,
Categories: Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945),

About Charity Norman

Charity Norman was born in Uganda and brought up in successive draughty vicarages in Yorkshire and Birmingham. After several years’ travel she became a barrister, specialising in crime and family law in the northeast of England. In 2002, realising that her three children had barely met her, she took a break from the law and moved with her family to New Zealand, where she now lives in Napier. Freeing Grace (2011) was Charity’s debut novel and After the Fall (2013) is her second.  

More About Charity Norman

More Books By Charity Norman

Cover for The New Woman by Charity Norman
Cover for The Son-in-Law by Charity Norman
Cover for The Son-in-Law by Charity Norman
View All Books By Charity Norman

Share this book

NEW INDIE AND SELF PUBLISHED BOOK REVIEW AND PROMOTION SERVICE LAUNCHED!    Read More
×