when i was invisible desmond elliott 2017 Harry Potter House Eds make the most of Lovereading twitter
Search our site
Best Laid Plans by Kathy Lette Read the opening extract of the brand new Kathy Lette book before its publication on 13/07/2017

Reader Reviewed
See You in September by Charity Norman
  

See You in September

Family Drama   Books of the Month   Literary Fiction   Reading Groups   Relationship Stories   eBook Favourites   

RRP £7.99

Download an extract Discuss on Facebook Discuss this book on our Literary Contemporary Facebook group Share this book

Lovereading view...

May 2017 Book of the Month.

Gosh, what a stunning read this is, I simply couldn't put it down and devoured it in one glorious sitting! Cassy travels half way around the world to New Zealand with her boyfriend, when they separate, Cassy is left stranded, and a split second decision changes the outcome of her life. I admit to grabbing this book as soon as it arrived in the office; Charity Norman has the ability to strike a chord, to answer a feeling, yet open your eyes and mind to new thoughts, and I simply love her writing. The prologue, set in 2016, sent chills racing down my arms, I almost had to sit on my hands to prevent me from sneaking a peak at the ending. As soon as I started to read chapter one, set in 2010, I was swept away, and stayed immersed in the story as the tension escalated to almost unbearable levels. I chided, fumed, beseeched, pondered and considered. Charity Norman has once again created a searing, expressive, and absolutely cracking read, I adored and highly recommend ‘See You In September’. ~ Liz Robinson

If you like Charity Norman you might also like to read books by Jodi Picoult, Joanna Trollope and Maggie O' Farrell.

Reader Reviews

In addition to our Lovereading expert opinion some of our Reader Review Panel were also lucky enough to read and review this title. You can click here to read the full reviews.

  • Nicki Southwell - 'What a powerful and emotive storyline.  I was completely immersed in this.'
  • Annie Day - 'A gripping emotional tale of how a young female student on an overseas summer trip inadvertently falls into the clutches of a manipulative cult. Not good for a parent of a gap year student!'
  • Sarah Musk - 'A brilliant, compulsive read about a young woman who becomes involved in a religious cult in New Zealand and her family's attempts to rescue her from their clutches.'
  • Jane Pepler - 'A brilliant, gripping read full of strong characters.'
  • Rachel Aygin - 'I loved this book.  The plot is fascinating and the descriptions of the New Zealand landscape make you want to find out more about the country.'
  • Susan Andrews - 'Another great book by Charity Norman. She really picks her subjects well. Each book totally different. I've loved each one! If you've not read any of her books, start now!'
  • Krissy - 'A gripping read and thoroughly enjoyable book.'
  • Alan Brown - 'A description of a family who live with one of them taken into a cult. Brilliantly written in the round.'
  • Cheryl Kinney - 'Great read! I haven't read any of Charity Norman's books before, I will definitely be looking up her previous titles after reading See You in September.'
  • Sarah Harper - 'Unsettling, creepy and gut-wrenchingly plausible, this was completely and utterly compulsive. In a similar vein to Eleanor Wasserberg’s Foxlowe, this is equally sinister and equally stunning.'
  • Chloe Hill - 'The reason this book worked for me was because it was so incredibly convincing.'
  • Sharon McKinlay - 'A consuming read about a young girl who gets swept up by a cult and her family's struggles to try & get her back.'
  • Nicola Edwards - 'A powerful, all-encompassing book that will have you thinking about it long after you’ve read it.'
  • Caroline Harvey - 'Anything by Charity Norman is a must read.'
  • Lisa Wise - 'See You In September captivated me, I adore books which draw you in and leave you wanting more!'   

Synopsis

See You in September by Charity Norman

Cassy smiled, blew them a kiss. 'See you in September,' she said. It was a throwaway line. Just words uttered casually by a young woman in a hurry. And then she'd gone.

It was supposed to be a short trip - a break in New Zealand before her best friend's wedding. But when Cassy waved goodbye to her parents, they never dreamed that it would be years before they'd see her again. Having broken up with her boyfriend, Cassy accepts an invitation to stay in an idyllic farming collective. Overcome by the peace and beauty of the valley and swept up in the charisma of Justin, the community's leader, Cassy becomes convinced that she has to stay. As Cassy becomes more and more entrenched in the group's rituals and beliefs, her frantic parents fight to bring her home - before Justin's prophesied Last Day can come to pass. A powerful story of family, faith and finding yourself, See You in September is an unputdownable new novel from this hugely compelling author.

Reviews

Praise for Charity Norman:

'A riveting, fascinating read. I was absolutely gripped.' Julie Cohen

'See You in September is one of those novels that really gets beneath the skin... I love the way Charity Norman is able to show the greys between the obvious black and whites; how she draws such multi-layered characters; and, of course, how she describes her stunning but often sinister locations.' Tracy Buchanan

'This is the author's fourth book and although I've said it before, it's her best. I can't wait to see what subject she'll tackle next.' The Sun on THE NEW WOMAN

'Completely brilliant - you won't be able to turn the pages fast enough.' Bella on THE NEW WOMAN

'I shouted at this novel. I cast it away, abandoned, only to return to its beguiling pages.' Buzz on THE NEW WOMAN

'Engrossing' Woman and Home on THE SON-IN-LAW

'A gripping tale that would appeal to fans of Jodi Picoult and Joanna Trollope... A page turning book to while away a winter's evening.' Red Online on AFTER THE FALL

'Easy to read, hard to put down, it'll move you to tears.' Easy Living on FREEING GRACE

About the Author

Charity Norman

Charity Norman was born in Uganda and brought up in successive draughty vicarages in Yorkshire and Birmingham. After several years’ travel she became a barrister, specialising in crime and family law in the northeast of England. In 2002, realising that her three children had barely met her, she took a break from the law and moved with her family to New Zealand, where she now lives in Napier. Freeing Grace (2011) was Charity’s debut novel and After the Fall (2013) is her second.

More books by this author
Author 'Like for Like' recommendations

Loading similar books...
Loading other formats...

Book Info

Publication date

4th May 2017

Author

Charity Norman

More books by Charity Norman
Author 'Like for Like'
    recommendations

Author's Facebook Latest

Loading facebook updates...
Loading twitter updates...

Publisher

Allen & Unwin

Format

Paperback
432 pages

Categories

Family Drama
Books of the Month
Literary Fiction
Reading Groups
Relationship Stories
eBook Favourites

Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945)

ISBN

9781743318775

Lovereading does a stella job in promoting both new and established authors.

Iris Clements

It is a website dedicated to those who adore reading It really is a one stop shop for book lovers. Love it!

Edel Waugh

It's information about new books so, for a book lover like me, what's not to like!

Joan Hill

Their sending me my first book to review 18 months ago re-awakened my fondness for reading, since then I have purchased some real gems.

Barry Griffiths

Lovereading helps me decide what real people read.

Kerry Bridges

They are bright, breezy and eager to offer a great book, then genuinely listen/respect the review one writes.

Maggie Crane

You can trust Lovereading to show unbiased reviews by actual, ordinary readers that help likeminded booklovers choose their next great read.

Linda Hill

With literary excellence, humour and drama, Lovereading's got value and is a real stress-calmer!

Siobhan McDowell

Lovereading4kids

Lovereading4schools