katie fforde win prizes Maxim Jakubowskis Selection desmond elliott 2017 books of the month
Vouchers


Reader Reviewed
Block 46 by Johana Gustawsson
  

Block 46

Part of the Roy & Castells Series
Thriller / Suspense   Crime / Mystery   Debuts of the Month   Maxim Jakubowski's Selection   eBook Favourites   Scandinavian Crime   
Download an extract Discuss on Facebook Discuss this book on our Crime/Mystery/Thriller Facebook group Add to wishlist Share this book

Lovereading view...

Maxim Jakubowski's May 2017 Book of the Month.

May 2017 Debut of the Month.

A truly stunning debut both powerful and disturbing by a UK-based French author, set in London, the West Coast of Sweden and, worryingly, during WW2 in the Buchenwald concentration camp. The use of such a harrowing location and era might in other less-skillful hands smack of exploitation, but here it just anchors an already scary serial killer investigation in reality with a series of heart-jumping twists you never see coming. When similar mutilations appear in the murder of a female Swedish jewellery designer in Falkenberg and the discovery of young children's bodies on Hampstead Heath, Scotland Yard call on the services of seconded Canadian profiler Emily Roy, and true crime author Alexis Castells who knew the initial victim and feels compelled to become involved. The contrasting couple's investigation alongside both police forces slowly uncovers layers of horror and surprises. The first in a series, winner of several awards in its native France, this heralds the English language debut of a major new talent and will have people talking (DISCLAIMER: I am the translator of this book, which I was pleased to bring to the attention of its British publishers). ~ Maxim Jakubowski

The Lovereading view...

As the start to a new series, this is a truly menacing, striking and powerful read. Profiler Emily Roy, and Alexis Castells a true crime writer, join forces as mutilated bodies are discovered in Sweden and London. The tale begins in 2013, as a body is hidden and thoughts are revealed in chilling focus. Roy and Castells make a fascinating duo, each adding their own distinct style. Short chapters provoke interest, and set feelings whirling, before moving swiftly on. Buchenwald concentration camp squats with loathing intensity in 1944, breaking into the middle of the story, just how do the atrocities committed there link to the investigation? Maxim Jakobowski ensures a seamless translation as Johana Gustawsson releases evil behind a stark and deceptively simple writing style. ‘Block 46’ left me shuddering as it reached a dramatic conclusion, and yet I couldn’t turn away, oh what a clever and very shocking tale this is! ~ Liz Robinson

A 'Piece of Passion' from the Publisher...

As sometimes happens, Block 46 was recommended to me by a number of authors and reviewers, whose opinion I trust, and I was very excited to meet with Johana’s French publisher at the London Book Fair last year. My eldest son read it in the original French, as did an outside reader, and both come back with stars in their eyes, and a You MUST publish this book message! Maxim Jakubowski was already a fan, and we hired him to translate Block 46. Six months on and I still hadn’t read it. I flew through the first draft of the translation in less than a day, and knew exactly why everyone was raving – exactly why this book has won so many awards in Johana’s native France. This is a stunning piece of crime fiction, with a plot that twists and turns and leaves the reader both breathless and gasping for more. At its heart is a study of the nature of evil that is eye-opening and also terrifying, and the two main protagonists are fresh, never stereotypical, and hugely engaging. I am thrilled and honoured to be publishing such a fabulous series, with its sweeping plot and timelines. In all honesty, it is probably the best Noir to come out of France for a decade, by a young writer with a massive future ahead of her. ~ Karen Sullivan, Orenda Books

Click here to read a Q&A with the author.

Reader Reviews

In addition to our Lovereading expert opinion some of our Reader Review Panel were also lucky enough to read and review this title. You can click here to read the full reviews.

  • Catherine Jenkins - 'A jewel of a read, made all the more startling and terrifying by being set in a landscape of fact.'
  • Phylippa Smithson - 'Raw, high energy and distressing, Block 46 brings something unique to the world of crime writing – profiler and real crime writer collaborating to solve a series of murders...quite simply oozing brilliance – story, writing style and intrigue.'
  • Helen Lowry - 'Definitely a book with page turning quality, from start to finish.'
  • Andrea Rayner - 'a page-turner from the very beginning, and has a clever and involved plot which will keep you guessing right until the end. It is also extremely well written, showing the consummate skill of both the author, Johana Gustawsson and the translator, Maxim Jukubowski.'
  • Robin Little - 'A gruesome noir tale of murder and mutilation.  A fast paced thriller in which strands from contemporary London & Sweden combine with 1945 Germany.'
  • Lindsey Whittle - 'An absorbing book, a challenging read and very different from the usual murder mystery/police procedural. French ‘noir’ with a Scandi twist.'
  • Janet Gilliard - 'a stunning debut novel set in London and Sweden...This is the first in a series and I can't wait for the second.'
  • Jennifer Moville - 'Travelling between the past and the present, Sweden and London it is a great tale to read.'
  • Jillian McFrederick - 'An enjoyable and unpredictable read I would recommend to any crime reader.'
  • Debbie Patrick - 'What an excellent first book. Really enjoyed this.  I will be looking out for more books by this author. Well recommended.'
  • Jenny Shirley - 'A graphic and sometimes harrowing crime thriller with a twist I didn't see coming! A great read. I really enjoyed this book, it was fast paced and grabbed my interest.'
  • Jane Ashbrook - 'Great gripping thriller. I was hooked from the outset and the book kept up the pace. Well written and a great plot. Look forward to reading more from this author.'

Synopsis

Block 46 by Johana Gustawsson

Falkenberg, Sweden. The mutilated body of talented young jewellery designer, Linnea Blix, is found in a snow-swept marina.Hampstead Heath, London. The body of a young boy is discovered with similar wounds to Linnea's.Buchenwald Concentration Camp, 1944. In the midst of the hell of the Holocaust, Erich Ebner will do anything to see himself as a human again.Are the two murders the work of a serial killer, and how are they connected to shocking events at Buchenwald?Emily Roy, a profiler on loan to Scotland Yard from the Canadian Royal Mounted Police, joins up with Linnea's friend, French true-crime writer Alexis Castells, to investigate the puzzling case. They travel between Sweden and London, and then deep into the past, as a startling and terrifying connection comes to light.Plumbing the darkness and the horrific evidence of the nature of evil, Block 46 is a multi-layered, sweeping and evocative thriller that heralds a stunning new voice in French Noir.For fans of French Noir, Brigitte Aubert, Pierre LeMaitre

About the Author

Johana Gustawsson

Born in 1978 in Marseille and with a degree in political science, Johana Gustawsson has worked as a journalist for the French press and television. She married a Swede and now lives in London. She was the co-author of a bestseller, On se retrouvera, published by Fayard Noir in France, whose television adaptation drew over 7 million viewers in June 2015. She is working on the next book in the Roy & Castells series.

Author photo © Elsa L Blossom

More books by this author
Author 'Like for Like' recommendations

Loading similar books...
Loading other formats...

Book Info

Publication date

15th May 2017

Author

Johana Gustawsson

More books by Johana Gustawsson
Author 'Like for Like'
    recommendations

Author's Website

johanagustawsson.com/en/

Author's Facebook Latest

Loading facebook updates...
Loading twitter updates...

Publisher

Orenda Books

Format

Paperback
280 pages

Categories

Thriller / Suspense
Crime / Mystery
Debuts of the Month
Maxim Jakubowski's Selection
eBook Favourites
Scandinavian Crime

Crime & mystery
Thriller / suspense

ISBN

9781910633700

I love 'try before you buy' extracts. I love the wide range of authors & genres. I love the author info. I love books!

Judi Davies

Lovereading are lovely people who send me lovely books. What's not to love?

Gavin Dimmock

I love Lovereading for the wonderful like for like author recommendations and for highlighting new books, it's a great resource for readers!

Lindsay

Discover new authors and enjoy old favourites; oodles of literary gems to uncover at Lovereading with candid reviews from real reviewers.

Emily Wright

Love Reading - it not only does what it says on the tin, it does it with Jam on!!

Maz Tucker

Lovereading is a wonderful way to expand my literary horizons, discover inspiring authors & get the chance to read new novels first. #loveit

Zarina de Ruiter

Lovereading is not only an amazing site, but it's one of my very favourites. It's like visiting a fascinating bookstore, but better.

Rebecca Jayne Barrett

The books for review are always great reads, brilliantly written, and introduces me to a huge variety of, established and new, authors.

Lesley Hart

Lovereading4kids

Lovereading4schools