Win £500 in book vouchers by helping us with a 7 minute reader survey click here.

newgen books for YA readers eleanor oliphant book price comparison join us on facebook

Reader Reviewed
Block 46 by Johana Gustawsson
  

Block 46

Part of the Roy & Castells Series
Thriller / Suspense   Crime / Mystery   Debuts of the Month   Maxim Jakubowski's Selection   Scandinavian Crime   Summer Reading   eBook Favourites   eBook Favourites   
Download an extract Discuss on Facebook Discuss this book on our Crime/Mystery/Thriller Facebook group Share this book

Lovereading view...

Maxim Jakubowski's May 2017 Book of the Month.

May 2017 Debut of the Month.

A truly stunning debut both powerful and disturbing by a UK-based French author, set in London, the West Coast of Sweden and, worryingly, during WW2 in the Buchenwald concentration camp. The use of such a harrowing location and era might in other less-skillful hands smack of exploitation, but here it just anchors an already scary serial killer investigation in reality with a series of heart-jumping twists you never see coming. When similar mutilations appear in the murder of a female Swedish jewellery designer in Falkenberg and the discovery of young children's bodies on Hampstead Heath, Scotland Yard call on the services of seconded Canadian profiler Emily Roy, and true crime author Alexis Castells who knew the initial victim and feels compelled to become involved. The contrasting couple's investigation alongside both police forces slowly uncovers layers of horror and surprises. The first in a series, winner of several awards in its native France, this heralds the English language debut of a major new talent and will have people talking (DISCLAIMER: I am the translator of this book, which I was pleased to bring to the attention of its British publishers). ~ Maxim Jakubowski

The Lovereading view...

As the start to a new series, this is a truly menacing, striking and powerful read. Profiler Emily Roy, and Alexis Castells a true crime writer, join forces as mutilated bodies are discovered in Sweden and London. The tale begins in 2013, as a body is hidden and thoughts are revealed in chilling focus. Roy and Castells make a fascinating duo, each adding their own distinct style. Short chapters provoke interest, and set feelings whirling, before moving swiftly on. Buchenwald concentration camp squats with loathing intensity in 1944, breaking into the middle of the story, just how do the atrocities committed there link to the investigation? Maxim Jakobowski ensures a seamless translation as Johana Gustawsson releases evil behind a stark and deceptively simple writing style. ‘Block 46’ left me shuddering as it reached a dramatic conclusion, and yet I couldn’t turn away, oh what a clever and very shocking tale this is! ~ Liz Robinson

A 'Piece of Passion' from the Publisher...

As sometimes happens, Block 46 was recommended to me by a number of authors and reviewers, whose opinion I trust, and I was very excited to meet with Johana’s French publisher at the London Book Fair last year. My eldest son read it in the original French, as did an outside reader, and both come back with stars in their eyes, and a You MUST publish this book message! Maxim Jakubowski was already a fan, and we hired him to translate Block 46. Six months on and I still hadn’t read it. I flew through the first draft of the translation in less than a day, and knew exactly why everyone was raving – exactly why this book has won so many awards in Johana’s native France. This is a stunning piece of crime fiction, with a plot that twists and turns and leaves the reader both breathless and gasping for more. At its heart is a study of the nature of evil that is eye-opening and also terrifying, and the two main protagonists are fresh, never stereotypical, and hugely engaging. I am thrilled and honoured to be publishing such a fabulous series, with its sweeping plot and timelines. In all honesty, it is probably the best Noir to come out of France for a decade, by a young writer with a massive future ahead of her. ~ Karen Sullivan, Orenda Books

Click here to read a Q&A with the author.

Reader Reviews

In addition to our Lovereading expert opinion some of our Reader Review Panel were also lucky enough to read and review this title. You can click here to read the full reviews.

  • Catherine Jenkins - 'A jewel of a read, made all the more startling and terrifying by being set in a landscape of fact.'
  • Phylippa Smithson - 'Raw, high energy and distressing, Block 46 brings something unique to the world of crime writing – profiler and real crime writer collaborating to solve a series of murders...quite simply oozing brilliance – story, writing style and intrigue.'
  • Helen Lowry - 'Definitely a book with page turning quality, from start to finish.'
  • Andrea Rayner - 'a page-turner from the very beginning, and has a clever and involved plot which will keep you guessing right until the end. It is also extremely well written, showing the consummate skill of both the author, Johana Gustawsson and the translator, Maxim Jukubowski.'
  • Robin Little - 'A gruesome noir tale of murder and mutilation.  A fast paced thriller in which strands from contemporary London & Sweden combine with 1945 Germany.'
  • Lindsey Whittle - 'An absorbing book, a challenging read and very different from the usual murder mystery/police procedural. French ‘noir’ with a Scandi twist.'
  • Janet Gilliard - 'a stunning debut novel set in London and Sweden...This is the first in a series and I can't wait for the second.'
  • Jennifer Moville - 'Travelling between the past and the present, Sweden and London it is a great tale to read.'
  • Jillian McFrederick - 'An enjoyable and unpredictable read I would recommend to any crime reader.'
  • Debbie Patrick - 'What an excellent first book. Really enjoyed this.  I will be looking out for more books by this author. Well recommended.'
  • Jenny Shirley - 'A graphic and sometimes harrowing crime thriller with a twist I didn't see coming! A great read. I really enjoyed this book, it was fast paced and grabbed my interest.'
  • Jane Ashbrook - 'Great gripping thriller. I was hooked from the outset and the book kept up the pace. Well written and a great plot. Look forward to reading more from this author.'
  • Alison Greenacre - 'A great story encompassing Nazi Germany and modern day London and Sweden.   Slow at times but an ultimately satisfying story line.'

Win a SIGNED FIRST EDITION of Damaged.

Get into the Spirit of Christmas with our special SIGNED FIRST EDITIONS competition! We are giving away ONE first edition hardback of Martina Cole's new crime thriller, Damaged, signed by the author!

To have a chance of winning this fantastic prize, click the button below. Please note that this draw is open only for UK residents and is free to enter, multiple entries from the same email address will only be counted once.

The draw closes on 4 December 2017. The winners will be notified by 11th December 2017.

Good luck!

Enter prize draw Draw closes: 04/12/2017

Synopsis

Block 46 by Johana Gustawsson

Falkenberg, Sweden. The mutilated body of talented young jewellery designer, Linnea Blix, is found in a snow-swept marina.Hampstead Heath, London. The body of a young boy is discovered with similar wounds to Linnea's.Buchenwald Concentration Camp, 1944. In the midst of the hell of the Holocaust, Erich Ebner will do anything to see himself as a human again.Are the two murders the work of a serial killer, and how are they connected to shocking events at Buchenwald?Emily Roy, a profiler on loan to Scotland Yard from the Canadian Royal Mounted Police, joins up with Linnea's friend, French true-crime writer Alexis Castells, to investigate the puzzling case. They travel between Sweden and London, and then deep into the past, as a startling and terrifying connection comes to light.Plumbing the darkness and the horrific evidence of the nature of evil, Block 46 is a multi-layered, sweeping and evocative thriller that heralds a stunning new voice in French Noir.For fans of French Noir, Brigitte Aubert, Pierre LeMaitre

About the Author

Johana Gustawsson

Born in 1978 in Marseille and with a degree in political science, Johana Gustawsson has worked as a journalist for the French press and television. She married a Swede and now lives in London. She was the co-author of a bestseller, On se retrouvera, published by Fayard Noir in France, whose television adaptation drew over 7 million viewers in June 2015. She is working on the next book in the Roy & Castells series.

Author photo © Elsa L Blossom

More books by this author
Author 'Like for Like' recommendations

Loading similar books...
Loading other formats...

Book Info

Publication date

15th May 2017

Author

Johana Gustawsson

More books by Johana Gustawsson
Author 'Like for Like'
    recommendations

Author's Website

johanagustawsson.com/en/

Author's Facebook Latest

Loading facebook updates...
Loading twitter updates...

Publisher

Orenda Books

Format

Paperback
280 pages

Categories

Thriller / Suspense
Crime / Mystery
Debuts of the Month
Maxim Jakubowski's Selection
Scandinavian Crime
Summer Reading
eBook Favourites
eBook Favourites

Crime & mystery
Thriller / suspense

ISBN

9781910633700

It has enriched my leisure time by introducing me to a world of books which I would not have previously considered.

Val Rowe

I love Lovereading because I get to read great books and then get to tell everybody how good they are.

Sally Doel

With literary excellence, humour and drama, Lovereading's got value and is a real stress-calmer!

Siobhan McDowell

It's a lively, independent website with reviews, recommendations and more - with a huge range of books available to buy in all formats.

Alison Layland

Its jam packed with fantastic titles, informative descriptions & fantastic reviews and has a vast array of great features & competitions.

Linda Rollins

Books of the month/debuts of the month, kids/adults, fiction/non-fiction, free prize draws and free extracts, what's not to love?

Emma Smith

What can I say, the clue is in the title Lovereading - and awesome books.

Sarah Davis

It gives a chance to read about new titles, invites comments from all kinds of readers and is run by such a nice bunch of book lovers.

Joy Bosworth

Lovereading4kids

Lovereading4schools