Local Girl Missing

by Claire Douglas

Thriller and Suspense Crime and Mystery Family Drama eBooks of the Month

LoveReading Expert Review of Local Girl Missing

A twisty, multiple layered thriller where the past and present clash in a maze of suspense. Best friends Francesca and Sophie tell their tales with nearly 20 years separating them. In 1997 Sophie disappeared, she was 21 with plenty to live for, in 2016 Francesca returns to the seaside town when she learns a body has been found. Claire Douglas gives the the two women a conversational, realistic voice, and as more and more layers are revealed, my feelings and thoughts about Francesca and Sophie bounced inside my mind and altered. With corkscrews of secrets and hidden thoughts being slowly released, it made me ponder just how clean and true our memories actually are. With an ending drenched in drama, ’Local Girl Missing’ is a suspense filled read. ~ Liz Robinson

Liz Robinson

Local Girl Missing Synopsis

From the bestselling author of The Sisters comes this twisty, haunting thriller about two best friends, corrosive jealousy, and dark secretsperfect for fans of The Widow and Luckiest Girl Alive.Someone knows where she isThe old Victorian pier was a thing of beauty until it was allowed to decay. It was where the youth of Oldcliffe-on-Sea would go to hang out. Its also where twenty-one-year-old Sophie Collier disappeared eighteen years ago.Francesca Howe, known as Frankie, was Sophies best friend, and even now she is haunted by the mystery of what happened to her. When Frankie gets a call from Sophies brother, Daniel, informing her that human remains have been found washed up nearby, she immediately wonders if it could be Sophie, and returns to her old hometown to try and find closure. Now an editor at a local newspaper, Daniel believes that Sophie was terrified of someone and that her death was the result of foul play rather than death by misadventure, as the police claim.Daniel arranges a holiday rental for Frankie that overlooks the pier where Sophie disappeared. In the middle of winter and out of season, Frankie feels isolated and unnerved, especially when she is out on the pier late one night and catches a glimpse of a woman who looks like Sophie. Is the pier really haunted, as they joked all those years ago? Could she really be seeing her friends ghost? And what actually happened to her best friend all those years ago?Harrowing, electrifying, and thoroughly compelling, Local Girl Missing showcases once again bestselling author Claire Douglas extraordinary storytelling talent.

About This Edition

ISBN: 9781443453066
Publication date: 4th July 2017
Author: Claire Douglas
Publisher: HarperCollins Canada HarperCollins Publishers
Format: Ebook
Collections:
Primary Genre Thriller and Suspense
Other Genres:
Recommendations:

What To Read After Local Girl Missing

What Remains of Me
The Breakdown
The Moment She Left
Day of the Accident

Other editions of this book

ISBN: 9781443453066
Publication date: 04/07/2017
Format: Ebook

ISBN: 9781405926393
Publication date: 11/08/2016
Format: Paperback

View All Editions

About Claire Douglas

Claire Douglas has worked as a journalist for fifteen years writing features for women's magazines and national newspapers, but she's dreamed of being a novelist since the age of seven. She finally got her wish after winning the Marie Claire Debut Novel Award, with her first novel, The Sisters. She lives in Bath with her husband and two children.

More About Claire Douglas

More Books By Claire Douglas

Local Girl Missing
Local Girl Missing
Local Girl Missing
View All Books By Claire Douglas

Share this book