Search our site
Persons Unknown by Susie Steiner Read the opening extract of the brand new Susie Steiner book before its publication on 05/04/2018

The Bookshop on Rosemary Lane by Ellen Berry

The Bookshop on Rosemary Lane

Family Drama   Relationship Stories   eBook Favourites   
Download an extract Discuss on Facebook Discuss this book on our Relationship Tales Facebook group Share this book

Lovereading view...

An enjoyable and captivating relationship tale, where an enchanting bookshop takes centre stage, what more could you ask for! Della has a special relationship with her mother’s cookbooks, she is convinced that a specialist bookshop will work, but not everyone agrees. Ellen Berry also writes as Fiona Gibson, her novels have focused on women as they negotiate rocky relationship roads, and are always warm, amusing and full of hope. Here, we also occasionally hear from the men, their thoughts as they ponder over the hand they've been dealt by life offer a new perspective, these really are interesting snapshot additions to the storyline. This is the first in the ‘Rosemary Lane’ series, focusing on family and friends, ups and downs, life as it really is, ‘The Bookshop on Rosemary Lane’ is a feel-good and absolutely charming read. ~ Liz Robinson


The Bookshop on Rosemary Lane by Ellen Berry

In the beginning...Kitty Cartwright has always solved her problems in the kitchen. Her cookbooks are her life, and there isn't an issue that 'Cooking with Aspic' can't fix. Her only wish is that she had a book entitled 'Rustling Up Dinner When Your Husband Has Left You'. Forty years later...On Rosemary Lane, Della Cartwright plans to open a very special little bookshop. Not knowing what to do with the hundreds of cookbooks her mother left her, she now wants to share their recipes with the world - and no amount of aspic will stand in her way. But with her family convinced it's a hare-brained scheme, Della starts to wonder if she's made a terrible decision. One thing's for sure: she's about to find out...Lose yourself in Della's world of food, family and friends. The perfect read for fans of Trisha Ashley and Carole Matthews.


'Frivolous fun.'

'Warm, funny and poignant.'
The Daily Mail

'Brilliant...manages to capture family life perfectly.'
Chick Lit Reviews

About the Author

Ellen Berry

Ellen Berry is an author and magazine journalist. Originally from rural West Yorkshire, she has three teenage children and lives with her husband and their daughter in Glasgow. When she's not writing, she loves to cook and browse her vast collection of cookbooks, which is how the idea for this story came about. However, she remains the world's worst baker but tends to blame her failures on 'the oven'.

More books by this author
Author 'Like for Like' recommendations

Loading similar books...
Loading other formats...

Book Info

Publication date

14th July 2016


Ellen Berry

More books by Ellen Berry
Author 'Like for Like'


AVON, a division of HarperCollins Publishers Ltd an imprint of HarperCollins Publishers


384 pages


Family Drama
Relationship Stories
eBook Favourites

Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945)



I love reading because my cares & woes vanish for an hour or two whilst I read of the joys, adventures, lives of the characters in the book.

Jennifer Moville

If you LOVE reading then you will love LOVEREADING! It's a 'novel' idea. Seriously though I could not recommend them enough.

Rebecca Whymark

Insightful reader reviews and unbiased recommendations. I don't know how I chose books before Lovereading! An essential for all book lovers.

Sarah Harper

It has opened my eyes to different authors and genres. Just log on and try, you will be surprised and not want for reading material again.

Jocelyn Garvey

Lovereading is a wonderful way to expand my literary horizons, discover inspiring authors & get the chance to read new novels first. #loveit

Zarina de Ruiter

At Lovereading there are fabulous books available in every genre, with great reviews to help you pick the right book for you.

Teresa O'Halloran

My horizons have been broadened by some of the books I have been lucky to review and I expect it to be no different in the future.

Daran Bellingham

Love Reading - it not only does what it says on the tin, it does it with Jam on!!

Maz Tucker