Becoming a member of the LoveReading community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unadulterated book loving, with your favourite books saved to your own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop Plus lots lots more…

Find out more

Where Roses Never Die

by Gunnar Staalesen

Crime / Mystery eBooks of the Month Thriller and Suspense Translated Fiction

LoveReading View on Where Roses Never Die

A truly tenacious and back to basics Nordic crime novel featuring private investigator Varg Veum. Staalesen has been writing about Veum since 1977, however this is my first foray into the series, and found it could easily be read as a standalone. 25 years after a three year old disappears in mysterious circumstances, the mother hires Veum to take one last look at the case. As Veum begins his painstaking detective work, he begins to dig deeper and further than the police have been before, and starts to uncover some disturbing links to another crime. Staalesen writes with a clipped, matter of fact style, the sharp delivery in the first person really sets Veum centre stage. There are an awful lot of characters to get to grips with and it’s worth getting them straight in your mind, right at the beginning of the novel. With plenty of surprises in store and an intriguing case, ‘Where Roses Never Die’ sets your mind working overtime and is a gripping read.

A 'Piece of Passion from the Publisher...

'Gunnar Staalesen is one of the fathers of Nordic Noir and the creator of the unforgettable private investigator Varg Veum. Only six of the 20-odd titles in the series have been translated into English to date, and I am honoured to have the opportunity to publish the remainder, beautifully translated by Don Bartlett. Known as the ‘Norwegian Chandler’, Staalesen is a master of his craft, creating tightly plotted, page-turning and extraordinarily atmospheric thrillers that tackle social issues in the finest tradition of Nordic Noir. As Sarah Ward says in Crime Pieces,  ‘Staalesen’s greatest strength is the quality of his writing. The incidental asides and observations are wonderful, and elevate the books from a straightforward murder investigation into something more substantial.’ I could not agree more. Where Roses Never Die is Staalesen’s best book to date, and I could not put it down until I had devoured every last word, and then re-read the stunning, completely unexpected denouement, just in case my eyes had deceived me. ~ Karen Sullivan, Publisher, Orenda Books

Liz Robinson

Where Roses Never Die Synopsis

September 1977. Mette Misvaer, a three-year-old girl disappears without trace from the sandpit outside her home. Her tiny, close middle-class community in the tranquil suburb of Nordas is devastated, but their enquiries and the police produce nothing. Curtains twitch, suspicions are raised, but Mette is never found. Almost 25 years later, as the expiry date for the statute of limitations draws near, Mette's mother approaches PI Varg Veum, in a last, desperate attempt to find out what happened to her daughter. As Veum starts to dig, he uncovers an intricate web of secrets, lies and shocking events that have been methodically concealed. When another brutal incident takes place, a pattern begins to emerge ...Chilling, shocking and full of extraordinary twists and turns, Where Roses Never Die reaffirms Gunnar Staalesen as one of the world's foremost crime writers.

Where Roses Never Die Press Reviews

'Gunnar Staalesen is one of my very favourite Scandinavian authors. Operating out of Bergen in Norway, his private eye, Varg Veum, is a complex but engaging anti-hero. Varg means wolf' in Norwegian, and this is a series with very sharp teeth'
Ian Rankin

'Not many books hook you in the first chapter - this one did, and never let go!'
Mari Hannah

'One of Norway's most skilful storytellers'
Johan Theorin

'Razor-edged Scandinavian crime fiction at its finest'
Quentin Bates

If you loved this, you might like these...

Piece of My Heart
Fortune Favours the Dead
The Thief on the Winged Horse
The Coral Bride

All versions of this book

ISBN: 9781910633090
Publication date: 15/06/2016
Publisher: Orenda Books
Format: Paperback

Book Information

ISBN: 9781910633090
Publication date: 15th June 2016
Author: Gunnar Staalesen
Publisher: Orenda Books
Format: Paperback
Genres: Crime / Mystery, eBook Favourites, Thriller / Suspense, Translated Fiction,

About Gunnar Staalesen

One of the fathers of the Nordic Noir genre, Gunnar Staalesen was born in Bergen, Norway in 1947. He made his debut at the age of twenty-two with Seasons of Innocence and in 1977 he published the first book in the Varg Veum series. He is the author of over twenty-three titles, which have been published in twenty-six countries and sold over five million copies. Twelve film adaptations of his Varg Veum crime novels have appeared since 2007, starring the popular Norwegian actor Trond Epsen Seim, and a further series is currently being filmed. Staalesen, who has won three Golden Pistols (including the ...

More About Gunnar Staalesen

More Books By Gunnar Staalesen

Cover for Fallen Angels by Gunnar Staalesen
Cover for Wolves at the Door by Gunnar Staalesen
Cover for Big Sister by Gunnar Staalesen
View All Books By Gunnar Staalesen

Share this book